We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An isolated gem!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Gurnard's Head

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Zennor
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Gurnard's Head
Ranked #1 of 6 Zennor B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Market Bosworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“An isolated gem!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

After a 5 hour walk from St Ives I couldn't think of anywhere better to stay. Cosy fires in a relaxed bar, individual guest rooms with fresh coffee! and a most delicious supper with superb wine. Well worth the trip!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JennieAyres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

454 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    259
    119
    35
    27
    14
See reviews for
76
286
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bath
Level Contributor
264 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Went to the Gurnard's Head for my birthday weekend (Saturday and Sunday night). The hotel is close to St Ives and Penzance but is in a remote location with only a few farms and cows to keep you company. The rooms are very comfortable and have no TV which is ideal if you want to completely get away from the stresses of life. The hotel caters for dogs and provides home comforts including towels, dog biscuits, bowls etc. The only place dogs aren't allowed is the restaurant. We had dinner bed and breakfast package and thoroughly enjoyed the food and service was typically cornish (laid back). The choice of beer and wine is very good and the bar has a log fire and provides a very homely focal point. Thoroughly recommend the Gurnards Head.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BathGarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgwater, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
201 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

This was booked for me as a present as Cornwall is my favourite destination. No TV or mobile signal - you can use the phone in the bar if you need to. We did a lot of walking, the food is delicious, however I would say that we were there for 3 evenings and the menu didn't change, so more specials would be a good idea, also my companion is a non meat eater and although he loves fish the vegetarian option was very basic for anyone who doesn't eat fish either. Having said that, on the day he fancied a cooked breakfast and said he didn't want bacon, a generous vegetarian breakfast of eggs, mushrooms, tomatoes, potatoes and beans was produced without effort. The room (no 6) was a little small but the bed was very large and comfortable and the electric shower was one of the best hotel ones I have had recently. The walks around the area are excellent, and being this far down nowhere is far away - Penzance 4 miles, Lands End about 10. We found an excellent tea shop just down the road towards St Just with the freshest, warmest, lightest scones! All in all an excellent weekend.

Room Tip: Any of the rooms will be quiet, those facing the back are towards the sea, those facing front over t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SallyB69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

Fabulous 2 nighter, good welcome, nice coffee and homemade biscuits in bedroom, spotlessly clean, amazingly comfy, quiet (even over the bar). Loved the books everywhere and no TV and mobile helped relaxation too. Arrived in the dark so waking to cows shuffling by for milking and sea and moorland views was lovely. Loved the old furniture and laying blouses and dresses in huge drawers brought back memories of staying at my grandmas. Lovely meals, local produce used. If you want a hotel don't go but if you want atmosphere, quality local food and good customer service with total chilling out this is for you. We will be back next year.

Room Tip: we had a room at the front over the bar with lovely views and no sounds from any other residents or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank INJA23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

We booked this as we knew of it through eating at their sister property the Griffin, Felinfach. Initial impressions are this is far from luxurious and very end of the line. However, whilst the room was relatively small (we stayed in room 6) and basic it had a warm homely feel. The bed proved to be very comfortable. The bathroom was very cramped, though everything worked fine and it was kept clean. The ceiling in the bedroom had some plaster peeling off, Breakfasts were really excellent. Freshly cooked and very tasty breads and muesli/yoghurt. Coffee was also good. Our only complaints were that there was a variation in who cooked breakfast ranging from absolutely excellent to only good and a pity there was no skimmed milk available for tea. Also, sometimes the fire was going well and other times it was being cleaned which looked a bit of a mess. Attention to detail before due time for breakfasts would be good. The other issue was lack of light to sit and read in the bar. Lights were removed. I'm not sure if that was to save electricity, give it atmosphere or short of bulbs, but the end result was poor light to read.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GBZASING
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

We have stayed here many times. Comfy bed, open fires, friendly staff and excellent menu - especially the fish and white rabbit. There is always something I haven't tried anywhere else. This time it was Lemon verbena panna cotta. Simple but delicious.A wide selection of good wines not too highly priced.

No tv in the bedrooms and mostly showers as the rooms are quite small but very comfortable.

Excellent for coast path walks and ancient sites. Zennor is a twenty minute walk across the fields. Thoroughly recommended for a two or three day stay.

The owners have the Felin Fach in Wales (near the Brecon Beacons) which we also rate highly and a new Venture in Mousehole which we haven't stayed at yet!

Room Tip: The cows come past the window under room one morning and evening. We like them but avoid that room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan186364
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

After a week in a farm cottage we had our final night on the dinner, bed and breakfast deal at the Gurnard's Head. Checked in mid afternoon, hit the coastal path for a couple of hours before heading back for a well earned beer (or two). Pre dinner drinks were followed by a lovely meal in the restaurant. Good service and unpretentious food, not a particularly busy night so the atmosphere died off a bit towards the end of the meal, but we headed into the bar for coffee and a chat with the staff who are all young, local and friendly. Took ourselves off to upstairs to our mid-sized room and a night in the most deliciously soft, fluffy bed with crisp linen sheets and a fabulous view over the moors. Woke in the morning to see the cows being walked past the pub. We were late down for breakfast so they had run out of kippers but the full english was good and plenty of extras such as fresh yogurt, toast and cereals. It was the perfect end to a lovely week in Cornwall - totally chilled and with no TV or WiFi we switched off a bit too easily! Loved it!

Room Tip: Rooms at the front look over the moors and at the back look out to sea so it's hard to go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Zennor
8.6 mi away
Old Success Inn
Old Success Inn
#1 of 1 in Sennen Cove
4.0 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
5.3 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
5.6 mi away
The Gannet Inn
The Gannet Inn
#2 of 4 in Carbis Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Hotel Penzance
Hotel Penzance
#1 of 4 in Penzance
4.5 of 5 bubbles 774 reviews
9.7 mi away
The Land's End Hotel
The Land's End Hotel
#1 of 1 in Land's End
4.0 of 5 bubbles 445 reviews
8.3 mi away
The Lamorna Cove Hotel
The Lamorna Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lamorna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gurnard's Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gurnard's Head

Property: The Gurnard's Head
Address: Treen, Zennor TR26 3DE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Zennor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Zennor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A famous old coaching inn on West Cornwall's beautiful Atlantic coast. Under new ownership since April 2006 and now restored to former glories. Simply decorated rooms, lunch and supper from the freshest of Cornish ingredients, outstanding views to the Atlantic and the neghbouring moorland. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Gurnard`s Head Hotel Zennor
The Gurnard's Head Zennor, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing