We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pretty room and fab food”
Review of The Tinners Arms

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Zennor
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Tinners Arms
Ranked #2 of 6 Zennor B&B and Inns
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Pretty room and fab food”
Reviewed March 21, 2014

We stayed here for a night in March. We were given a warm welcome and shown to a pretty room where the bed was comfortable and facilities fine. In the unpretentious, characterful bar we both enjoyed our duck meal which was expertly cooked. A log fire and good beer plus board games available made it a pleasant evening. Breakfast (we both chose smoked haddock and poached egg) was excellent in the relaxed atmosphere of the farmhouse kitchen. Good bread, plain yoghurt and jams in jam pots. Great.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    60
    21
    10
    6
See reviews for
40
102
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Torpoint, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
265 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2014

Five of us - including our well behaved Airedale - enjoyed a wonderful lunch in front of a roaring fire here on a dark and wet January day! My curry was superb - and the silence from my friends suggested they were happy with their food too!! The welcome was warm and genuine and we were sorry to leave - I even left my walking pole behind, a sure sign we will be back!!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2014 via mobile

The pub is a wonderful, old and well preserved building with all the modern amenities. Located on the popular coastal footpath, great for a walk from St. Ives finished with local ale and a lovely meal. Comfortable, clean rooms, very cosy. Food served in the pub is first class, although I can only assess vegetarian dishes. Having said all that, there is room for improvement: very thin curtains make it difficult to continue sleeping after sunrise, and the bathroom is very cold! Also, the timing of serving breakfast could be improved; we waited 30 minutes, having been asked to order it for a specific time the night before. Vegetarian breakfast is ok but less spectacular than the non veg, and while the regular menu has quite a few veg options, the New Year's Eve menu offers non meat eaters only one choice (which, I have to admit, was an excellent one). All in all - a beautiful place, fully recommended, with a few details to work on.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Happyandtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penzance, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

Continuously excellent food and great service . Menu changes
With the seasons and is always
Varied. Have eaten here many times and it has always been excellent .we
Loved the prawn and crab cocktail .
Followed by smoked haddock, spinach and mashed potato. Truly scrumptious :)

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Patricia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exmoor National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed October 28, 2013

We stayed for a weekend with our dog and couldn't fault a thing. Staff were friendly and welcoming and our room was comfy and spotless (a rarity in dog friendly accom). Food was excellent, with a good variety for breakfast and the evening meals in the Tinners has to be the best i've had in years. With so many good walks from here a return visit won't be far away.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Smoogylady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keene, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013

We hiked from St Ives to Zennor to stay at the Tinners Arms. This public house inspires a charmed sense that you have gone back 100 years. However, the rooms have been updated and while smaller, they are well appointed and quite comfortable. We ate dinner in the pub which was not superb, but satisfying nonetheless. The real ale was great and the atmosphere in the pub was warm and inviting. Would recommend that you stay here if you travel to Zennor.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Candace603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Had dinner and a pint here, superb food and really good value.
Really nice and friendly staff, despite being very busy. Food didn't take long either.
The pub is in a really nice location, has a very relaxed and cosy atmosphere and really nice beer garden, so will have to come back daytime at some point.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marenle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Zennor
3.6 mi away
The Garrack Hotel
The Garrack Hotel
#4 of 21 in St Ives
4.5 of 5 bubbles 601 reviews
4.1 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
4.5 mi away
The Gannet Inn
The Gannet Inn
#2 of 4 in Carbis Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Cape Cornwall Golf & Leisure
4.1 mi away
Chy-An-Albany
Chy-An-Albany
#8 of 21 in St Ives
4.0 of 5 bubbles 914 reviews
8.9 mi away
The Lamorna Cove Hotel
The Lamorna Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lamorna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tinners Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tinners Arms

Property: The Tinners Arms
Address: Zennor TR26 3BY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Zennor
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Zennor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
The Tinners Arms Hotel Zennor
The Tinners Arms Zennor, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing