We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“High standard of accommodation, a warm welcome, an idyllic setting and a great touring location.”
Review of Castallack Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lamorna
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Castallack Farm
Ranked #1 of 2 Lamorna B&B and Inns
Manchester
2 reviews
“High standard of accommodation, a warm welcome, an idyllic setting and a great touring location.”
Reviewed April 6, 2010

We stayed at Castallack Farm for a wonderful sunny week this spring. Lambs leaping in the fields, friendly horses and dogs, newly laid eggs for breakfast! The accommodation could not be faulted and the proprietors made us most welcome. They were exceedingly informative regarding local amenities, walks and restaurants. We will definitely return in the near future and would not hesitate to recommend Castallack Farm to our friends.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mirabel43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    3
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
12
42
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
York
1 review
Reviewed April 6, 2010

I have stayed in all of the accommodation at Castallack Farm every year for the past 15 years! The B&B and both cottages are spotlessly maintained to the very highest possible standard. My family and I would not consider staying in Cornwall other than at Castallack Farm. The visitors books year on year rave about the quality of the accommodation, the food and the huge welcome received from the proprietors Rae and Nick. When you stay at the farm you are staying in their 'home' , both have impeccable designer taste so decor and furnishings are of the highest standard, additionally they ran a very successful restaurant in Penzance for many years so the quality of B&B food and the whole H&S angles are all covered. Go and stay there and avoid a hit 'n' miss B&B experience.

(Duncan Brooks, York)

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YORVIKYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LANCASHIRE
1 review
Reviewed April 1, 2010

We have been visiting West Cornwall for over 15 years and we find Castallack's cottages to be excellent value with welcoming hosts and convenient for all local amenities, including restaurants, pubs, the theatre (both Minack & in Penzance) and also good beaches abound further west.
In Trevean we had a log burning stove, cooker, microwave, dishwasher, washing machine; Digital TV and radio.
Plenty of walks around and about from your doorstep.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GRAMIT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belerion, Owner at Castallack Farm, responded to this review, April 4, 2010
We are delighted that you enjoy visiting Castallack Farm & that our endeavours to provide a happy holiday environment are ticking all the boxes. We look forward to seeing you again this year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2010

The first reviews for Castallack are taken from their own brochure, so are to anyone else totally irrelevant.

Inside the farmhouse is ok, rather dark and lights are on permanently.

Cottages are a different matter, after stating 'a well behaved dog welcome' these cottages absolutely smell worse than our local dog kennels, and as for 1 well behaved dog welcome, well that is a joke - guest book signed by previous guests and their numerous dogs, show that at least two dogs and a couple of entries show FOUR DOGS. No wonder we could not get rid of the smell. Being April it was not warm enough to leave the door and windows open all day, consequently the smell hung around for the whole holiday.

Good job there was a dishwasher, had to wash everything that we knew we would have to use for cooking.

Being of Cornish granite there is always a dampish chill in the air in these places, but here the walls were more than just damp they were moist, and chairs and sofa positively wet.

Most of the places we visit place a lovely vase of seasonal flowers in the property, not here just a milk jug of dead field flowers and grasses.

Top price rent Property, in brochure sounds wonderful, reality - overpriced Gorbals like
dump. Yuck

  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sjc70hill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
37 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2009

My husband and I stayed at Castallack Farm for 2 nights christmas eve and christmas day as our relatives were staying in nearby mousehole. The B & B is an ideal place to stay to be close to mousehole (aprox 1.5 miles). We stayed in the double room which had an amazing comfortable bed, flat screen tv and a great double power shower in the ensuite (no bath). The one thing I would say is that the mirror in the room is too low down if you want to straighten your hair (I had to kneel on the floor to be able to plug my straighteners in and see in the mirror), having said that it is a minute detail. Rachel who owns the B & B is a lovely lady and nothing was too much trouble for her, on xmas morning we had the most amazing cooked breakfast i've had in a long time.
The whole B & B has a "home from home" feel, in a peaceful area which is just what you want particularly when staying away from home over xmas.
I thoroughly recommend this B & B.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tuscan159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portishead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2007

Our second visit to this delightful farmhouse B & B was just as we remembered, it is a delight.
We booked the "Bowji" a one bedroom "Four Poster" barn conversion with a separate entrance and kitchen area with a sink, microwave and fridge, we arranged for a bed in this area for our Grandson, he loved it !!
Everything about Castallack Farm is set up for a very comfortable stay, breakfasts are a feast, you may like to try the scrambled egg with smoked fish on a muffin.
Walking distance to Mousehole, about 1.5 miles, and to Lamorna Cove and the Lamorna Wink Pub, they do great lunches but no evening meals.
Castallack Farm ticks every box for us
Jeffandi

  • Liked — The ambience and the location
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jeffandi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lamorna
0.8 mi away
The Lamorna Cove Hotel
The Lamorna Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lamorna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
6.2 mi away
Old Success Inn
Old Success Inn
#1 of 1 in Sennen Cove
4.0 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
6.8 mi away
The Land's End Hotel
The Land's End Hotel
#1 of 1 in Land's End
4.0 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Ship Inn
The Ship Inn
#2 of 6 in Mousehole
4.0 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
2.6 mi away
Trereife House
Trereife House
#5 of 81 in Penzance
4.5 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
1.7 mi away
Higher Faugan Parc
Higher Faugan Parc
#20 of 81 in Penzance
4.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castallack Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castallack Farm

Property: Castallack Farm
Address: Castallack Farm Castallack | Lamorna, Lamorna, Penzance TR19 6NL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Penzance > Lamorna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Lamorna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Castallack Farm Cornwall/Lamorna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing