We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tremerth Cottage - a haven for peace”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Castallack Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lamorna
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Castallack Farm
Ranked #1 of 2 Lamorna B&B and Inns
Weedon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Tremerth Cottage - a haven for peace”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

We had a lovely time staying here again (10th visit!). Rachel and Nick were very hospitable (as always) and the welcoming flowers, local chocolate and lemon drizzle cake were much appreciated!
We stayed in March 2013, and the cottage was warm, dry and clean (as always). This is our favourite holiday cottage.
The cottages are always relaxing, and very peaceful - you can hear the quiet!
There is a great deal of wildlife in the area, and despite the time of year, we saw a bank vole, a common lizard (on the Roundago wall) and an adder (on the moorland 400m+ behind the cottage). There were also many flowers already out in the fields and hedgerows.
This is a lovely base to explore the area from. The cottage has excellent facilities if you want to stay in and relax or you can visit some of the many pubs and restaurants in the area. There are lots of lovely walks from the door, try walking down to Mousehole or to Lamorna Cove.
We highly recommend staying at Castallack!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belerion, Owner at Castallack Farm, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Thank you for a lovely review.
Tremerth Cottage is the smaller of our two cottages, sleeps two and is perfect for a relaxing, lazy romantic holiday should you wish. With full central heating and a woodburner in the lounge you are likely to be warm as toast and that's without turning on the electric blanket.
The cottage is situated just off the Mousehole to Lamorna road which takes very little traffic so unless you have the windows open you will never hear a car. Peaceful it certainly is.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    3
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
12
42
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Launceston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

Our 3rd visit and we have now 'sampled' all of the available accommodation.... Both cottages and the B&B. As always, an extremely warm welcome from Rachel - the offer of tea and cake was very much appreciated after arriving cold and wet. Tremerth cottage was as all previously tried and tested accommodation, clean and well equipped. The furnishings are of a high standard in all of the accommodation at Castallack. Thank you Rachel and Nick again, and also for assisting with our late change of plan for who was going to occupy the accomodation that we had booked. Due to the wet weather for our Daughter's wedding, your willingness to help us out at short notice - including extra people for breakfast helped greatly.

Room Tip: We cannot say......they are all quiet and comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michael-patricia01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belerion, Owner at Castallack Farm, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Thank you for your review.
Having tried all of our accommodation you are well placed to publish your views on Castallack Farm & we are obviously delighted that you rate us as excellent over three visits.
Look forward to seeing you again soon.
Nick & Rachel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

On arrival was offered tea/coffee and cake which was much appreciated. Rooms are clean and well furnished. Had a lovely 2 night stay and the bed a dream to sleep in. Breakfast excellent. Went to the Minack theatre one evening which was also excellent. Well located for the South West Coast path. We also appreciated the lovely toiletries used in the bathroom. Will definitely return at the earliest opportunity.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sopjon8891
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belerion, Owner at Castallack Farm, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us.
Glad you liked the toiletries, we only use 'eco friendly' toiletries from a leading maker & have many good comments in our guest book about them.
The bed is critical & so glad you thought it 'a dream' to sleep in.
We are very convenient for The Minack Theatre & lots of people stay so that they can take in a show.
Best wishes
Nick & Rachel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

We arrived in the afternoon and were offered a cup of coffee/tea and lemon drizzle cake - wonderful welcome and delicious cake.
The owners were very friendly and most helpful. Our dog was welcomed as well which was such a bonus as we had difficulty finding many places that are dog friendly in the area.
We stayed 2 nights as we went to the the Minack theatre the first night and then walked some of the SW coastal path around Sennen Cove the second day.
A perfect place to stay for both activities. Very comfortable en suite room.
The farm had sheep, a llama and adorable little cooney cooney pigs!
Highly recommend this accommodation.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jillym007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belerion, Owner at Castallack Farm, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Hello jillym007,

Thank you very much for your review.

So glad you enjoyed your stay & your dog enjoyed it too. We are really well situated for the Minack & may of our customers go to The Minack & then spend a few more days in the area exploring.

Thanks for your reccommendation.

Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Northants
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

This B & B is very clean and nicely furnished with a lovely location. However we stayed as a stopover before travelling to the Isles of Scilly and because of the ferry times we couldn't have a cooked breakfast before going out and felt bad for getting in late on the way back! This place is more geared for staying in the local area and i'm sure would make a lovely place for a longer stay. I wouldn't book again as a stopover for I.O.S as i felt we were an inconvenience because of not coming in & out at "normal" times.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liza E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belerion, Owner at Castallack Farm, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Hello Liza E,

Thank you for your review.

I am glad that you think it would make a good base for a stay for a few nights but disappointed that you felt you were an 'inconvenience'.

Over the past twelve years we must have had hundreds of people stay who were going to The Scillies as it is a favoured destination.When customers have booked in & have a room key we have no 'normal' times for opening. So it really is no inconvenience to us, but we do have a job to do & look to do it to the best of our ability.

People are free to come in & out as they wish & we offer a continental breakfast for those who have to leave early to catch The Scillonian. Most I think are grateful not to have a cooked breakfast when travelling on the sea.

Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2012

We stayed at one of the two self catering cottages for 5 nights recently. Very quiet and peaceful location with beautiful scenery, but still very close to all the West Cornwall attractions and Penzance. The cottage was very clean and the kitchen well stocked with everything you would need. The complementary lemon cake on arrival was lovely. Travel cot and high chair was provided, which was really helpful.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fishboy25uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belerion, Owner at Castallack Farm, responded to this review, April 21, 2015
Thanks 'fishboy' for your review sorry to be responding so late but glad you liked the cottage. We've upgraded both in the interim so why not come again. Best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Totnes, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2012

We had the most perfect and special stay for a weekend in the Bowgy Suite. Really magical place, with every possible attention to detail made by the lovely and professional hosts. Excellent nights sleep, facilities and local towns. Absolutely loved all the animals espcecially the 2 sweetest possible pigs and lollipop the lamb. I travel a lot for work and simply have never had such a good breafast! Will definately be returning soon and would recommend to everyone.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EddMitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lamorna
0.8 mi away
The Lamorna Cove Hotel
The Lamorna Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lamorna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
6.2 mi away
Old Success Inn
Old Success Inn
#1 of 1 in Sennen Cove
4.0 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
6.8 mi away
The Land's End Hotel
The Land's End Hotel
#1 of 1 in Land's End
4.0 of 5 bubbles 445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Ship Inn
The Ship Inn
#2 of 6 in Mousehole
4.0 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
2.6 mi away
Trereife House
Trereife House
#4 of 82 in Penzance
4.5 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
1.7 mi away
Higher Faugan Parc
Higher Faugan Parc
#18 of 82 in Penzance
4.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castallack Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castallack Farm

Property: Castallack Farm
Address: Castallack Farm Castallack | Lamorna, Lamorna, Penzance TR19 6NL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Penzance > Lamorna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Lamorna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Castallack Farm Cornwall/Lamorna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing