We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Perfect”
Review of Black Horse Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Black Horse Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 3, 2014

Stayed for 2 nights, we stayed in the Desert Orchid room and it was amazing. Bed was so comfy i didn't want to get up in a morning but i glad i did because the breakfast was first class.
We had a lovely evening meal on the wednesday and again enjoyed breakfast on the thursday morning.
The staff couldn't do enough for you and made you feel very welcome. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tonyhkr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (584)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

423 - 429 of 584 reviews

Reviewed June 26, 2014

Stayed for one night and we all had a brilliant time. The rooms were very nice and beds were really comfy. Evening meal in the restaurant was delicious, as was the breakfast. Staff were really friendly and nothing was too much trouble. Only fault we had was that we only stayed for one night. Will definitely be back

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susie W, Guest Relations Manager at Black Horse Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave such positive feedback.
We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay with us!

We look forward to welcoming you when you return...Remember, we do offer a discount to our REPEAT guests, when booking accommodation with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2014

We stayed for dinner, bed& breakfast. It is a lovely place with nice restaurant, busy bar and massive outdoor sitting area. The room was small but very nice and comfortable. Little fridge with milk and orange juice was a nice touch. Dinner at the restaurant was fantastic. The portions were good, food very tasty and the service was very friendly. Selection of wine was also very good and overall we had a great night.
We came back after few weeks just for evening meal and again it was lovely. The service was friendly and efficient, food fantastic and we had a great time. For sure will be back soon again!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nunka83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susie W, Guest Relations Manager at Black Horse Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us such positive feedback. It always puts a smile on our faces.
We are thrilled to hear you have enjoyed both your visits.

We look forward to welcoming you when you return....Do remember that we offer a Discount to our REPEAT guests when booking accommodation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2014 via mobile

Stayed overnight & had meal in restaurant. Room nice enough although towel had black finger prints on it & could see daylight through rotting window frame. Bathroom smelled drainy. There were rusty tables lined up at back of car park & a discarded chair outside near the bedrooms - all a bit sloppy when it seemed like trouble had been taken in other areas - e.g. fridge in room with fresh milk, juice & water. Food was all pleasant enough but not quite the wow factor we had expected from previous reviews. Breakfast menu looked like it had several days of breakfasts splashed over it - again a bit sloppy & it was these sort of issues that I guess gave it away as a small chain owned site. I wouldn't 't want to discourage people from staying & it is clear from reviews that they have plenty of happy customers but it wasn 't quite there for us !

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank XS-Baggage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2014

We stayed here two nights and everything was fantastic! The staff were friendly and were very welcoming, nothing was too much trouble. The room we stayed in was beautiful and very luxurious with a large bathroom and private patio area. We had our evening meal which was delicious, the food was to a very high standard with local produce and the chef used quality ingredients. Breakfast again was to a high quality and the staff tailor made our breakfast . Service was excellent and we would definitely return here for all aspects. Location, comfort, quality, food, service and atmosphere!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WeLoveRoma11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susie W, Guest Relations Manager at Black Horse Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2014

Many thanks for taking the time to leave us such a positive review.
We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you when you do return. Remember, we currently offer a discount to our REPEAT guests when booking accommodation.

See you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2014

We stayed here recently for our wedding anniversay in the Red Rum suite which was tastefully decorated and had a lovely free standing bath in the - great to lay back, relax and watch the TV with a nice glass of champagne in!
We had booked a table in the restuarant and enjoyed a lovely, and not overly expensive, meal chosen from a very good menu.
Lots of nice touches, very homely but with a touch of class that makes it feel a little special for that special occasion - well done to all the staff !

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DonMacka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susie W, Guest Relations Manager at Black Horse Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2014

Thank you for your kind words & valued feedback.
We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you when you return....Remember, we currently offer a discount to our REPEAT guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2014 via mobile

Lovely place very Cousy feels like home... had a very nice time with my friends even I was there last year.
Lovely food, loved the Prawns as a starter. We had a really nice time.
Staff were very nice and helpful.
We will be defiantly back
thank you

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Liga A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kirkby Fleetham
5.6 mi away
Solberge Hall Hotel
Solberge Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Newby Wiske
734 reviews
5.0 mi away
Allerton Court Hotel
Allerton Court Hotel
#3 of 5 in Northallerton
310 reviews
7.9 mi away
The Frenchgate Restaurant & Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Golden Lion Hotel
Golden Lion Hotel
#4 of 5 in Northallerton
306 reviews
24.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
#6 of 30 in Harrogate
219 reviews
21.5 mi away
The Black Swan Hotel
The Black Swan Hotel
#2 of 4 in Helmsley
1,646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Horse Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Horse Inn

Address: 7 Lumley Lane, Kirkby Fleetham DL7 0SH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Kirkby Fleetham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Kirkby Fleetham
Price Range: $89 - $181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Black Horse Inn 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Black Horse Inn is set in the heart of the village of Kirkby Fleetham, in the North Yorkshire countryside and benefits from free parking and free Wi-Fi. It also features a Bar, a Garden and a Restaurant. Each of the seven bedrooms have been decorated in neutral colours and boast shabby-chic furniture, a HD Flat-Screen TV and a small refrigerator with fresh orange juice, milk and water. The en suite bathrooms feature either a bath and/or a shower and complimentary H2K toiletries. Some bedrooms benefit from an in-room roll-top bath. Guest can relax in the bar or in the garden and the restaurant serves traditional British pub food, all prepared using regional ingredients. Black Horse Inn is just 10 minutes' drive from Catterick Racecourse and 40 minutes' drive from Yorkshire Dales National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Black Horse Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing