We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“we wil be back”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Black Horse Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Black Horse Inn
Certificate of Excellence
York, United Kingdom
1 review
“we wil be back”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2014

It was 1st time when i staid in The Black Horse.I had a very nice stay and evening meal with my bf. Our room was beautiful, very clean and meal was very delicious.
it was very special stay and we enjoyed it a lot

We will be back,
thank you

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susie W, Guest Relations Manager at Black Horse Inn, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Thank you for your lovely comments, we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and evening meal with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

525 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    402
    82
    27
    11
    3
See reviews for
75
323
7
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire, UK
Level Contributor
139 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2014 via mobile

We had a one night stay here plus a dinner with family and we certainly weren't disappointed. We had the Red Rum suite which is really lovely. I was impressed with the comfort and decor of the room and the free standing bath looked very inviting. Unfortunately, I didn't get chance to use it. The picnic basket breakfast was a really novel idea. There was a good choice of cereals plus croissants, fruit and yoghurts and it couldn't be faulted.
The dinner menu was a bit limited on the night we were there as it was a Sunday but the staff were very accommodating and produced a delicious burger for the 12 year old in our group and a vegetarian meal for my son's partner. The Sunday roasts were excellent a were the puddings. My only small gripe was that the staff started to move tables and chairs to set up for breakfast whilst we were still in the restaurant. It made us feel rather uncomfortable and we took this as a signal that they wanted us out of there. This would have been better handled by asking us if we would have liked to move into the bar for coffee. Whatever, it didn't spoil our evening overall.
We often come up to this are a to visit family and have stayed in other pubs and hotels in the area. The Black Horse is the best we have stayed at yet by a long way and we will certainly be back.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank feelymerl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susie W, Guest Relations Manager at Black Horse Inn, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time and trouble to give us your valued feedback.
I am sorry that you found the menu a bit limited on Sunday, however as you experienced we will always do our best to ensure that all of our guests are catered for.
Please feel free to take a look at our website as we have just updated all of the menus available at the Black Horse including a special Vegetarian and Gluten Free Menu.
I have passed your comments on to the staff with regards to them starting to set up for Breakfast and for this we sincerely apologise, I agree that this should have been handled a little bit more delicately by the staff concerned.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkby in Furness, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2014

My wife and I have just spent two days at the Black Horse and thoroughly enjoyed every aspect of this small country pub. Set near the village green it is close enough to the popular towns of Harrogate and Northallerton and yet far enough away to be quiet, restful and 'proper Yorkshire'.
Our room was immaculate and stylish with fresh milk in the fridge and home-baked cookies to go with the coffee.
Every member of staff we encountered was efficient and friendly and obviously enjoyed their work particularly the cleaning lady who was proud to give us a quick look in a larger vacant room with doors to a private garden which we have earmarked for our next stay.
And the food - the unbelievable food. A varied and interesting menu belies the beautifully presented and absolutely delicious fare we enjoyed both nights - there really is no need to travel elsewhere because you will not find better. And if you like black pudding you are in for treat - the best I have ever tasted.
Having eaten at the best (and worst) hotels in the Lake District, the Black Horse more than holds its own. The food is neither easy pub grub or pretentious tiny portions - just pure culinary quality at a reasonable price.
And finally to the manager Jackie who was on reception duty when we arrived and at night serving drinks, taking orders and waiting table - she somehow managed time to find out who her guests were, why they were staying and making suggestions on places to visit. Truly professional and genuine, HRH Group should be proud to have her.
Thanks to all for making my wife's birthday so special.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thunder247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susie W, Guest Relations Manager at Black Horse Inn, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
I am so please to see that you and your wife had an enjoyable stay with us.
I have also passed on all of your kind comments to the staff that were working that weekend including Jacque.
Chef is also pleased you enjoyed his home made Black Pudding I agree with you it is the best that I have tasted too.
Please keep an eye on our website and facebook page as we often advertise special offers for nights away and even events that are taking place at The Black Horse.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2014

We booked 2 hours before arriving on an last minute trip, we arrived the staff informed us that the restaurant was just closing but they would cook for us should we want anything. The accommodation was lovely warm and comfortable and the bedroom (Arkle) was nicely decorated. I was very impressed. The staff were very pleasant and helpful. In all a fabulous place and I will be returning.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susie W, Guest Relations Manager at Black Horse Inn, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely comments.
We have another 6 Rooms at the Black Horse that are all individually decorated, so don't forget to ask next time you book for an alternative room to Arkle. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2014

My husband and I stayed for one night at the weekend and we were so impressed !
Beautiful bedroom with extra special little touches like homemade cookies and fresh milk for your coffee in the morning ! The food is fantastic would highly recommend the bits and bobs starter, and breakfast was also fantastic ! The staff were lovely all in all the black horse inn is fabulous and we shall be going back very soon !!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susie W, Guest Relations Manager at Black Horse Inn, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely comments.
The bits and bobs starter board is one of my favourites too.
We do hope to be welcoming you back to The Black Horse soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2014

Very impressed. This place manages to combine the relaxing atmosphere of a village local with first class accommodation. Our bedroom (Shergar) had french doors leading out to a small private garden. Delightful, even in February. The bathroom was one of the nicest we've had, large walk in shower and a good bathtub. All the right little touches too, fresh milk and coffee.
Dinner was excellent, as was breakfast and the staff were lovely.

Room Tip: Can certainly recommend 'Shergar'
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lynne j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susie W, Guest Relations Manager at Black Horse Inn, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
We do like to ensure that our guests have an enjoyable stay at The Black Horse and I am glad that you like the little touches in the rooms.
All of your lovely comments have been passed on to the staff.
Please keep an eye on our facebook page for future special offers and deals.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morpeth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2014

Very recent Sunday lunch trip following a weekend in York, concluded this place to be a fantastic find and more than deserving of its two AA rosettes. Both the food and service were excellent and the pub is comfortable, quirky and very welcoming. As a self confessed foodie and having worked in the trade, I can say hand on heart this was one of the best meals I have eaten in a very long time and the service was faultless to boot. Subsequently (as we speak) a further visit is being planned (this time taking the husbands and kids along - mummy's only yesterday) to experience this wonderful place. The chef and his team and front of house made this a truly memorable visit and could not be recommended enough.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnneMarie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kirkby Fleetham
14.7 mi away
The Old Deanery
The Old Deanery
#1 of 5 in Ripon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
5.0 mi away
Allerton Court Hotel
Allerton Court Hotel
#3 of 5 in Northallerton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
10.4 mi away
The Cleveland Tontine
The Cleveland Tontine
#1 of 1 in Staddlebridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Solberge Hall Hotel
Solberge Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Newby Wiske
4.5 of 5 bubbles 671 reviews
21.5 mi away
The Feathers Hotel
The Feathers Hotel
#3 of 4 in Helmsley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 647 reviews
6.2 mi away
The Village Inn
The Village Inn
#1 of 1 in Brompton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Horse Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Horse Inn

Property: Black Horse Inn
Address: 7 Lumley Lane, Kirkby Fleetham DL7 0SH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Kirkby Fleetham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Kirkby Fleetham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Black Horse Inn 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Black Horse Inn is set in the heart of the village of Kirkby Fleetham, in the North Yorkshire countryside and benefits from free parking and free Wi-Fi. It also features a Bar, a Garden and a Restaurant. Each of the seven bedrooms have been decorated in neutral colours and boast shabby-chic furniture, a HD Flat-Screen TV and a small refrigerator with fresh orange juice, milk and water. The en suite bathrooms feature either a bath and/or a shower and complimentary H2K toiletries. Some bedrooms benefit from an in-room roll-top bath. Guest can relax in the bar or in the garden and the restaurant serves traditional British pub food, all prepared using regional ingredients. Black Horse Inn is just 10 minutes' drive from Catterick Racecourse and 40 minutes' drive from Yorkshire Dales National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Black Horse Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing