We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great short stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Black Horse Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Black Horse Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Haverhill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“great short stay”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

This stopover was an extremely pleasant experience. The staff were extremely pleasent and helpful, the dinner was very good, as was the quiz night experience after dinner.
Next morning we chose to have the in room breakfast choice, which was made up of a pic-nic hamper, jams and marmalades, plenty of coffee and fruit juice, and french pastries left outside our bedroom door.
Overall a very nice Hotel with excellent rooms and bathroom facilities, we would definately stay here again.

Room Tip: Rear rooms have got nice views over open fields.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gobblejoint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

524 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    401
    82
    27
    11
    3
See reviews for
74
323
7
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
middlesbrough
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

Booked up as a last minute deal with the hubby, had an amazing time there. Room was lovely, lots of nice touches in there with the molton brown shower goods, homemade cookies, orange, water, coffee, tea and a picnic basket full of breakfast cereals.

The food in the restaurant was lovely, especially the lemon posset, really want another one of them! We stayed on a Tuesday which was steak and wine night. It was very busy in the pub/restaurant. Nice atmosphere. The decor was shabby chic and I totally loved it.

Staff were really nice and attentive for the duration of our stay and nothing was too much trouble for them.

Would definitely return to this hotel and have already recommended it to others! Loved it!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beckstar1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2013

We have stayed a number of times at the Black horse and never been disappointed. The rooms are spotless with a shabby chic look and well stocked with cereals, homemade biscuits, orange juice and fresh milk in a flask. There is a lovely restaurant or you can eat in the bar and the food is excellent. I had a wonderful meal of pasta and wild mushrooms and my husband had omelette with spinach and Wensleydale cheese with homemade chips. It was a steak night for two with bottle of wine for £30 the evening we stayed,but we wanted something light. Although I booked through laterooms for £119,we were only charged £80 by them,giving us a free meal! I can thoroughly recommend the Black Horse and you will not be sorry you stayed here.

Room Tip: For a large twin room with bath, go for the Shergar suite.For a family room go for the Thelwell whic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

What a Place... Tucked away in a little country village 5* food with excellent service to match

We stayed the 1 night as a nice getaway and we were very pleased from the moment we arrived to the time we left we felt at home

The room was large and very clean with fresh orange, water and milk supplied

Will stay again !

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob51559
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Great location, great food, OK rooms. Arriving late following a long day I had to wait to check in, which was a little frustrating but understandable as they were busy serving meals.
Decided to have a meal in restaurant and was served by very friendly staff, but thought the food was a little expensive for what was delivered, £17 for main course, then had to pay extra for side salad which should have been included.
Room looked great, but insufficient light in bathroom for shaving and no peg to hang toilet bag or cloths on, also shower mixer handle was loose and needs fixing. Lights in bedroom have separate switches so not easy to turn off when in bed.
Overall, service excellent, rooms very nice if shower and lights sorted, perfect for a long weekend, would recommend.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brian_c2013735
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lanark, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Seemed to have struck it lucky when we were staying in the area and the handbook in our cottage recommended the Black Horse. It happened to be 'Steak Night'. Two steak meals with a bottle of wine for £30 which was very good value.
Owner saw us settled at a table and then called over one of her waitresses to take our order. Ordered one medium rare and one medium well done. Repeated this but when they arrived both were medium. A change would have taken another 20 minutes so we decided to let it pass. Good beef but neither of us were really happy.
Finished our main course and eventually plates were cleared and asked if we would care for a sweet to which we replied yes, menus brought left for 10 minutes, order taken for Sachertorte and Cheese Board. 30 minutes later sweet and cheese arrived. Sachertorte it was not, perhaps best described as a chocolate fudge cake, cheese comprised of Brie, Cheddar and a blue cheese all of which had obviously come straight out of the fridge (had wondered if the 30 minute delay was to bring them up to room temperature).
Finally, had to go looking for waitress to obtain bill. Told to go to reception!
Paid, left and will never return. Perhaps if the 'young bloods' hadn't been in the bar the waitress might have been a bit more attentive but since mine host was mainly in the bar, where we dined, she might have taken a bit more notice of what was going on around her.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AlfieC15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We stayed at the Black Horse as part of our anniversary weekend away. We instantly loved it and felt very relaxed. The room was decorated beautifully and had everything we needed. The staff were friendly and attentive. There was a lovely feel about the place. We ate in the restaurant and were surprised by the excellent quality of the food. It was excellent value for money and thought we got a bargain. We loved our stay here and will definitely go back. I would advise anyone to try this little gem!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kirkby Fleetham
14.7 mi away
The Old Deanery
The Old Deanery
#1 of 5 in Ripon
442 reviews
10.4 mi away
The Cleveland Tontine
The Cleveland Tontine
#1 of 1 in Staddlebridge
377 reviews
5.0 mi away
Allerton Court Hotel
Allerton Court Hotel
#3 of 5 in Northallerton
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
The Frenchgate Restaurant & Hotel
5.6 mi away
Solberge Hall Hotel
Solberge Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Newby Wiske
670 reviews
6.2 mi away
The Village Inn
The Village Inn
#1 of 1 in Brompton
473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Horse Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Horse Inn

Property: Black Horse Inn
Address: 7 Lumley Lane, Kirkby Fleetham DL7 0SH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Kirkby Fleetham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Kirkby Fleetham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Black Horse Inn 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Black Horse Inn is set in the heart of the village of Kirkby Fleetham, in the North Yorkshire countryside and benefits from free parking and free Wi-Fi. It also features a Bar, a Garden and a Restaurant. Each of the seven bedrooms have been decorated in neutral colours and boast shabby-chic furniture, a HD Flat-Screen TV and a small refrigerator with fresh orange juice, milk and water. The en suite bathrooms feature either a bath and/or a shower and complimentary H2K toiletries. Some bedrooms benefit from an in-room roll-top bath. Guest can relax in the bar or in the garden and the restaurant serves traditional British pub food, all prepared using regional ingredients. Black Horse Inn is just 10 minutes' drive from Catterick Racecourse and 40 minutes' drive from Yorkshire Dales National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, LateRooms and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Black Horse Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing