We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Black Horse Inn
Nearby Hotels
$59
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Allerton Court Hotel(Northallerton)
$75
$67
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Golden Lion Hotel(Northallerton)
$71
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$47
Travelodge
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Catterick Garrison Hotel(Catterick)(Great Value!)
$71
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$47
Travelodge
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
$59
$55
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$157
$147
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Solberge Hall Hotel(Newby Wiske)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (645)
Filter reviews
645 results
Traveler rating
490
102
34
11
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
490
102
34
11
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsroll top bathbreakfast hamperfresh milkthe pubblack puddingquiet villagecooked breakfastfish and chipsmini fridgelittle extrasfree standing bathbooked a tableevening mealstayed for one nightsunday nightfamily roombiscuits
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
586 - 591 of 645 reviews
Reviewed November 10, 2012

We recently stayed here for one night with some family. The rooms (one double and one interconnecting family room) were of a very high standard and very clean. all the facilities you would expect from a very high class hotel. The staff were amazing and very friendly. They went out of their way with the two young grandchildren. having checked the website we had booked a table for 1800 has it closed early on a Sunday. the food was excellent and of good portions. The pub was quite (it was a very foggy Sunday night) but still a nice atmosphere. I had booked through booking.com and assumed the price I was quoted, would be the price I paid, however they had reduced their rates and that's the price they charged, a welcome surprise. Also I understood we had booked with continental breakfasts so I 'up graded' to full English for us and the children (very very nice) and was not charged any more despite only being charged for two rooms (children free). All in all highly recommended and I will be going back.

Room Tip: Ask for the roll top bath if available.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

Recently stayed for one night in the family room, double with interconnecting twin and en suite shower room. It was beautifully decorated and spotlessly clean. We loved the hamper breakfast option. Most of it is already in the room, including chilled, fresh milk in a flask. Croissants and fruit are left outside the door last thing at night so you can have it when you want. Evening meal was excellent. Was initially concerned as the Sunday menu had nothing veggie or for kids. No problem, helpful staff immediately provided vegetarian options and children's menu. Great value for money, had special Sunday night rate of £60 for the room, meal was £40 for two adults and one child including drinks. Location is quiet and easy to find but very handy for A1 and nearby towns such as Northallerton which has a Bettys Tea Room. A very pleasing stay and would love to come again. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CrasterWombat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

We spent a Sunday night here on our way south.we had required a table for dinner at 8 via
our reservation.Unfortunately central reservation had not advised staff at the Black horse of this request .They came across it when checking the booking but were unable to contact us to tell us the restaurant closed at 7 P.M.
We arrived ,hungry,at 7.30.The staff very kindly pursuaded the kitchen to get us a delicious roast beef meal,but is was a bit disconcerting.
The room was cosy and breakfast very good .We would come here again but make sure any special requests we had were discussed directly with the Balck Horse as communication seems a bit dodgy.

Room Tip: Contact Black Horse directly with any special requests.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mc m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Have just come back from two night stay at the Black Horse Inn for a friend's wedding in Northallerton. Fairly recently renovated, the pub was a very comfortable base for our visit. As there were a group of us staying together we had dinner in the private dining area in the pub - food was excellent (highly recommend the black pudding & duck egg starter), and the service efficient but happily unfussy. Bedrooms and bathrooms very well appointed and comfy, resulting in two very good nights sleep. We had a great time at the wedding, but could almost as much have enjoyed just relaxing at the Black Horse.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chuge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

I have dined here twice now despite living in Leeds! As it is so close to the A1 it is difficult to resist when travelling north.

The food is divine and the service excellent. I remember my first impression of the pub was that it looked slightly pretentious due to the decor so I was expecting pretentious sized portions but I was very wrong. The roast beef comes with generous helpings of potatoes, tasty veg and a huge Yorkshire pudding.

If you can manage it, we would recommend trying one of their puddings such as sticky toffee pudding. Amazing food, would certainly recommend.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Hayley-wayley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews