We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Country Inn”
Review of Black Horse Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Black Horse Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Selby, North Yorkshire
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Excellent Country Inn”
Reviewed June 24, 2012

We stayed here for the night of Saturday 23rd. June. Excellent & comfortable accomodation, good food, pleasant and attentive staff. A nice relaxing atmosphere where real ales were available in the public bar, something which is not always available these days. Lives up to its Tripadvisor rating.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NorthYorkshireBill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

553 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    421
    88
    28
    11
    5
See reviews for
84
338
8
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
England
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2012

We recently spent a night at The Black Horse Inn which was fantastic. We were en route to Banburgh and after a day at Forbidden Corner, this place was a luxurious stay. The family room had a separate adjoining twin room which we weren't expecting. Breakfast hampers in the room, a very large and comfy bed, excellent shower - the only downside being slight noise from the bar below, but this was to be expected. We ate in the restaurant and the chef was able to provide meals from the bar menu after hours so this was much appreciated. The village green down the road was great for football with our son, and all in all a very comfy and luxurious stay at a decent price.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rallen1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, NC
Level 6 Contributor
572 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 238 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2012

We stayed here on our last night in England after two weeks of other hotels and B & B's. We definitely saved one of the best for last. The room was beutifully decorated and a nice size. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom and shower were huge. We ate dinner in the dining room and it was very good. Good wine list and good variety of food. we also had the breakfast the next morning, and it was probably the best we have had in England. The staff were extremely friendly and the location in the middle of the Yorkshire countryside was beautiful. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iamstoked22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrow
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2012

We found The Black Horse a excellent place to stay to visit to visit both the North York Moors and the Yorkshire Dales. It was a quiet location but well worth visiting. The staff are very welcoming and friendly. The food was excellent. The breakfasts, especially the bacon was wonderful. We loved the homely bar which had a very nice atmosphere. We attended the weekly quiz night which cost £1 and had a fun evening while we ate the steak and chips supper which was delicious. The room was very comfortable. Nice comfy bed with a bath tub at one end of the room.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NeilGill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2012

If you are in this area - do not pay £130 for bed and breakfast when you can stay at this charming, beautifully decorated Inn.
We are 5 star luxury hotel users and this place charmed us so much that we are realising gems are out there at a much more reasonable price.
The welcome and friendliness was perfect - the room luxurious and beautifully equipped and THE FOOD WAS "TO DIE FOR" Breakfast was not in the slightest greasy - all tasty high quality food!
My husband will now regularly use this place on his business trips and I will be so jealous!

Room Tip: they are all good - some have king beds rather than double!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nadhak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2012

We recently stayed here while visiting family in the area. I had a difficult time finding a suitable room that would accommodate 2 adults with 2 children in the same room, until I came across the Black Horse. We stayed in the Thelwell room. It had a comfortable double bed in the main bedroom, off to the side was another room with two twin beds. Each bedroom had a picnic hamper with cookies and a selection of teas a coffee. Each evening there was a flask of milk left for our room. There was also a lovely ensuite bathroom that was nicely decorated. Breakfast was delicious. Our favorite was the smoked salmon and scrambled eggs. Dinner was just as tasty. There was a wide selection of main courses and dessert was delicious as well. There was something for each of us. The staff were very helpful and friendly. We would recommend this establishment to families with 4 members who wish to stay in the same room.

Room Tip: Ask for the Thelwell room if you want to have a double bed and two twin beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JerseyMomOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirby Misperton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2012

Lovely hotel, perfect room, friendly and attentive staff, food worth every penny, breakfast hamper a very good idea allowing a lie in! Would definitely return.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aimee1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kirkby Fleetham
14.7 mi away
The Old Deanery
The Old Deanery
#2 of 5 in Ripon
460 reviews
9.2 mi away
Rockliffe Hall
Rockliffe Hall
#1 of 1 in Hurworth-on-Tees
2,484 reviews
10.4 mi away
The Cleveland Tontine
The Cleveland Tontine
#1 of 1 in Staddlebridge
391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Solberge Hall Hotel
Solberge Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Newby Wiske
709 reviews
13.3 mi away
Crathorne Hall Hotel
Crathorne Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crathorne
868 reviews
16.4 mi away
Headlam Hall Hotel Spa & Golf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Horse Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Horse Inn

Property: Black Horse Inn
Address: 7 Lumley Lane, Kirkby Fleetham DL7 0SH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Kirkby Fleetham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Kirkby Fleetham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Black Horse Inn 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Black Horse Inn is set in the heart of the village of Kirkby Fleetham, in the North Yorkshire countryside and benefits from free parking and free Wi-Fi. It also features a Bar, a Garden and a Restaurant. Each of the seven bedrooms have been decorated in neutral colours and boast shabby-chic furniture, a HD Flat-Screen TV and a small refrigerator with fresh orange juice, milk and water. The en suite bathrooms feature either a bath and/or a shower and complimentary H2K toiletries. Some bedrooms benefit from an in-room roll-top bath. Guest can relax in the bar or in the garden and the restaurant serves traditional British pub food, all prepared using regional ingredients. Black Horse Inn is just 10 minutes' drive from Catterick Racecourse and 40 minutes' drive from Yorkshire Dales National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, LateRooms, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Black Horse Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing