We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Restaurant with rooms and good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Black Horse Inn

Black Horse Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $29 - $49
Cuisines: British, Bar, Pub, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Home Style
Description: The Black Horse Inn is a Beautiful, Charming Village Inn with Five Star Bedrooms and a Two AA Rosette Restaurant in Kirkby Fleetham in the Hambleton District of North Yorkshire, which resides between the North York Moors & Yorkshire Dales National Parks. Offering Seven En-Suite Rooms with Flat-Screen TV's, Regional Real Ales and Modern British Food.
Northallerton
Level Contributor
49 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Restaurant with rooms and good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2014

We have been going to this place for years, last time was Sunday 13th July 2014 for lunch and we are going again on Saturday 19th with friends for dinner.
The food has always been good and the service attentive. There is a nice bar area where you can eat, a private dining room as well as the restaurant.
I have seen the bedrooms although never stayed there ( we only live a short drive away), all individually decorated and en suite.
The evening menu is extensive, the food is well presented and beautifully cooked.
Must be good because we go back time and time again.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Smartgolfers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    60
    17
    14
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Northallerton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Birthday meal with my wife”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2014

We were pounced on by the staff as we entered the pub, i feel the staff are to busy telling you something rather than listening to what we said.
i ordered a medium steak it came well done (because it was thin) it was expensive,
the flies in the restraunt were a pain in the bum and got worse when the door outside was proped open.
the starters were good.
the staff were dressed in scottish tartan ??, i little hot for summer i suspect.
It was suggested the pub is owned by a chap who does quite a bit of game shooting, this may be reflected in the Scottish Tartan.
For some reason there is a stuffed america whitetailed deer above the fire. I found it a "plastic" country pub and will not be returning, a shame because previously and Pre the American Deer, it was a favourite of mine

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank trufflehunting2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northallerton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“A wonderful evening had by all!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2014

We dined as part of a group on a busy Saturday Night.
The menu is mouth-wateringly creative, so much so, we had a difficult time making our choices. Finally, we did & were not disappointed! A slight wait for our food, but nothing longer than we would expect from a busy Restaurant, where fine food is served fresh. We were in good company, so didn't want to have our evening rushed!
With a comprehensive wine menu, there must be a wine to compliment each dish.
The staff were efficient, polite & friendly! The ladies looked smart in their tweed (a quirky but fitting uniform for the venue) The men looked equally smart & suitably attired in their black & whites. Note the ties.
All in all, we had a great time & could not find fault.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank flyh1gh821
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northallerton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
236 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Won't be back for a while”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2014

We have been here a couple of times for lunch as it is fairly local to us and is well recommended by people we know. The food is quite nice and there is a wide selection to choose from. However, as has been alluded to in other recent reviews, the service can be a bit icey, especially from one member of staff. Some might call it professional detachment, others might call it supercillious. Whichever, it does detract from the experience. On our last visit whilst paying the bill I made a comment about one aspect of the meal we had had and was essentially ignored.

There are lots of decent pubs in this part of North Yorkshire so I don't think we'll be back here for a while.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hepatacyte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susie W, Director of Sales at Black Horse Inn, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to leave us feedback regarding your recent visit.
Firstly, it is great to hear you like our food & menu options. However, we apologise for not quite hitting the mark & meeting your expectations, when it came to listening to your comment, as you were paying your bill.
Please be rest assured we care about our customer satisfaction, therefore take all comments, preferences & suggestions on board. Be they, an informal comment at the Bar / Till, a formal complaint to your server or Manager or a review on Trip Advisor.
Your review does suggest that you were not 'totally; ignored....Could it have been the case that our Staff member was focusing on your bill payment.? Upon completion of which your comment was acknowledged and addressed?
We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again soon, Should you give us another chance please make yourself known to us & we will do our very best to make amends.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
136 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2014

Went for a Saturday evening meal here. My husband and I both ordered the cheese souffle to start and steak and ale pie for mains. The starter was beautifully cooked with a lovely pomegranate and walnut salad. A warning before you order the Steak pie, It is massive full of tender steak and not for the small appetite. It was beautiful.
I would thoroughly recommend a visit to this restaurant. A mention should also go to the staff who were attentive, smartly dressed and generally just good at their job, which is certainly not true at all eateries.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susie W, Guest Relations Manager at Black Horse Inn, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely comments. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your Dining Experience.
I have passed on your comments to the rest of the team. Positive feedback always provides a boost!

We look forward to welcoming you again, in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black Horse Inn also viewed

Northallerton, North Yorkshire
Bedale, North Yorkshire
 
Richmond, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Black Horse Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing