We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Pizza”
Review of Loco Loco

Loco Loco
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Located just a few steps from the main square and ATM, in a comfortable and charming place. Original italian food, cooking in traditional way by italian owners. Wood oven to cook our famous pizzas!!
Penticton, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great Pizza”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

This is one place we frequent while in Barra, they only open at 6PM. Their Pizza is fabulous and the ceasar salad dressing is outstanding. If you go when it is very busy you may have to wait a while for your food as they have a small kitchen, but we always found the wait worthwhile.
Food flavor is so awesome.
Great view over the bay from here.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Roddinbc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    25
    7
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Elk Grove, California
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very good pizza”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

This is a place you need to visit if you want some good Italian food. The food is fresh and very tasty. There is a bit of a wait for your food so I would recommend you go early as the later you go, the more people there are and the longer the wait. However, if you do have to wait for the food longer than you think you should wait, you will not be disappointed by the flavors and tastes you get with their food.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kibblesbaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Altos, California
Level 6 Contributor
219 reviews
156 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Charming, romantic and delicious Italian in Mexico”
Reviewed December 21, 2012

A beautiful rustic setting 2 stories high, overlooking the Barra de Navidad/Melaque Bay. We waited patiently for the restaurant to open at 6 (we're early diners) as the owner was displaying their placard on the street. Enjoyed a Delicious caesar salad which we split, thin crust pepperoni pizzas (Rome-style), and a penne pasta with sausage, peas and cream sauce. The Caesar salad was delicious, cold, and the croutons were especially yummy. Husband enjoyed the pizza, as well as bites of my pasta. Very generous portions. I took home (or as they say here, "take-away") leftover pizza and pasta. Their wine list included by the glass and the bottle with a corkage fee option. We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves and will return this week with our guest from the US. Total cost was less than $50 USD for a wonderful meal, and 4 glasses of wine.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank nnovak_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Miguel de Allende, Guanajuato, Mexico
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best REAL pizza in Mexico”
Reviewed November 17, 2012

We received a recommendation to eat here by the hotel owners. If they had not described the small doorway we would probably not have noticed it. It is an upstairs restaurant with only a small door on the street. Easy to find once you know it is there. It is almost the very last place before the Arch that heads out to the beach. Next to popeyes.There is a sign on the street. Opens at 5. The owners are from Rome and really know what they are doing. The pizza is thin crust and cooked over a wood fire. The salad we ordered was enough for two and the most interesting ingredients. Pinapple, Tomato, green pepper, lettuce, and shrimp. Magnificent presentation. We will be returning for the pasta, which we hear is also worth every calorie.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mari O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamraj, Direttore at Loco Loco, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thank you so much for your opinion Mari, we are happy to had offer you nice moment and good service. You are welcome.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guadalajara, Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“superb pizza and pasta in hippy beach town”
Reviewed July 14, 2012

Simple food expertly done. Very good pasta. We had aglio olio, and penne carbonara. Very authentic, and a beautiful view of the sunset. The owners are italian, and the make their own liquors, the limoncello is excellent, and we also has a taste of a cholocate and chili liqueur. Very good, relaxing experience in this funky beach town. The do not have desserts, so go and buy a slice of cake with the lady that has a little cart outside, by the arch. Cornbread, and chocolate cake are both very good.

Helpful?
Thank Enrique C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamraj, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Loco Loco, responded to this review, August 4, 2012
Thank you for your opinion. We are happy to offer you a good service :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Loco Loco also viewed

Barra de Navidad, Costalegre
Barra de Navidad, Costalegre
 
Barra de Navidad, Costalegre
 

Been to Loco Loco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing