We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Older hotel crying for some attention from its owners” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Sands

Hotel Sands
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Barra de Navidad
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Sands
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Barra de Navidad
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Older hotel crying for some attention from its owners”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2012

I found this hotel looking around for a better place than where I was. I was on the ocean side but when all the construction started at 7am til 7pm. everywhere to fix the hurrican damage I had to find a quieter (and cheaper) spot. I loved the lobby and gardens here! The pool was the best I had seen this whole trip. There is a great little bar with awesome drinks and very friendly people to chat to.The restaurant was the best breakfast and best hamburgers in Mexico! So, I got a room. The rooms are very run down. Holes in the drapes that are barely hung. Shower curtains with mold. Stained towels. The beds where covered with sawdust from the termites eating away the wood. The beds are hard and covered with a plastic. Too bad. This is a really funky hotel. If they spent a few dollars and found a good manager they really could fix it up again to its old glory. Cost 35$ a night.

Room Tip: You need to get them to show you the rooms before you move your luggage. Some should be closed down...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank abfab40plus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    7
    7
    2
    4
See reviews for
4
3
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kitchener
Level Contributor
99 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2012

This hotel gives great value for money, even if it has really seen better days. The pool got progressively nastier in terms of hygiene the longer we stayed and the more visitors who arrived (we got there before Christmas, and as more guests arrived just after Boxing Day, it got to be pretty opaque looking--probably no chlorine, or at least not anywhere near enough), but the laid back atmosphere and reasonably priced rooms more than compensated. Poolside bar and quite a decent restaurant, breakfast was included, rooms are clean. Our bedding and towels were fine. Showers had pretty low water pressure, and tended not to be too warm by day's end. The early bird gets the warmest shower...Sometimes a little noisy in the late evening, particularly as more families populated the rooms, but was always quiet at night. A few sort of sketchy "regulars" populate the pool deck (seems a number of people who have boats moored in the lagoon are spending their days there), but were all very friendly. The thrice weekly drop in yoga classes were great!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kimberly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Bend, Indiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2011

We checked in, nice enough staff. Rooms were old but ok. Pool was old and the surface very slick. Our kids still enjoyed their time at the pool. My wife went to the bar to order drinks and was was back after 15mins without drinks. Simply could not get the bartender to serve her. I watched and realized he was busy with the "regulars". That night the party started and sounded like it was right outside our room. We have no problems with people enjoying themselves but by 2am we knew this was not our place. Staff wanted to help but their money is made with the gringos who party late and sleep in late. We checked out the next day.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kinger4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Barra de Navidad hotels

Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
90 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2010

We love Barra and one of the reasons is how lovely and inexpensive it is. We have stayed at the Bungalows Marvida before and I would say they were a little bit nicer. We had a 2 bedroom, 2 bath "suite". The rooms were very clean and tidy with kitchenette, dishes, etc. Towels were very old as were the mattresses, sheets, pillows, etc. The price was soooo good (approx. $75 US/night) that it was worth it. The location is awesome....right in town and close to the panga dock. They have a great bar and for the single rooms apparently, the room fee includes breakfast. Pool is old but apparently super fun.
If you stay here (or anywhere in Barra for that matter), bring your own pillow and if you can afford the suitcase space, a thermarest or similiar mattress. These beds are HARD, the pillows are OLD and the sheets are THIN. If you are picky, stay at the Grand Bay. If you are comfortable with shabby chic and have a high tolerance for noise, the price is right at the Hotel Sands.
The staff was friendly, trustworthy and accommodating...warning that the rooms here are not secure at all so don't bring expensive equipment that you can't carry on you. They do have free wifi for guests.

Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank joycegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queretaro, Mexico
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2010

the made took our toiletries the rooms were in ruins nobody help you there at least the shoud give you some nails and a hammer to repair your room, the photos in their page are 50 years old .

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank erirubbermex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle, wa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2009

The Hotel Sands is the oldest hotel in Barra and it shows. The rooms were very bare bones and hadnt been remodeled in years. Ours didnt have air conditioning but in March it didnt matter. There was a ceiling fan and that was adequate. The bathroom was in poor condition but at least you could use it.

The pool is old and a little off color but served its purpose. The bar next to the pool served a pretty mean pina colada and I hate fruity drinks. At two for one, I forgot about my woes as I watched pelicans and boats go by in the lagoon. Breakfast is included in the $55 a night rate and the breakfasts were very nice overlooking the lagoon.

Everything is within walking distance and is extremely reasonable. We ate street side tacos up the street almost every night. They had tables set up and we got our beer from a local store. Tacos were about 60 cents apiece and I could only eat for or five. The total bill every night including beer was under $20 for 4 people and we walked away happy.

There was a week long fair going on while we were there which was a blast. The gringos had one fair going on in front of the Rey Momo bar and watching the contest to see who was crowned Rey Momo was hilarious.

The better fair, I thought, was the Mexican fair down the street. They had rides and the absolute BEST tamales I had every had. EVER. The best part was they were only about 25 cents. The whole time we were in Barra, I dont think we ate in a restaurant once. The street food is amazing.

The last 2 nights we stayed in Melaque which was whole different feel. The streets are bigger but there are not as many street restaurants. It didnt matter though because the restaurants there were incredibly cheap as well. We ate at Sr Froys and I had fresh chicken mole for about $3 and the wife had a sandwich for lunch that was about the same.

I liked the beaches better at Melaque because you could look out into the water. We stayed at Villa Hermosa and it was $50 a night. It was a little nicer than the Hotel Sands but not by much. The view was way better though than the lagoon.

I liked both places for different reasons and would return to either but I would spend a little more for a different hotel.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank brody400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
austin tx
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2009

Me and my now fiance went in december 27th 2008 and stay 2 nights
the whole town was packed after walking 30 minutes and checked 3 hotels we decide to stay at the sand's really nice people & clean rooms no ac but wasn't hot.
little bit pricey $85 us. but we will go back this year for honey moon. this time we will make reservations lots cheaper.
you really need to see this town and the moon over the lagoon.

  • Liked — old time looks no tv,no phone,no clocks,no internet just us nice place nice clean room
  • Disliked — they should invest in at least ac window units even offer it as un up grade.
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank JoeyAustinTx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barra de Navidad
0.0 mi away
Hotel Delfin
Hotel Delfin
#3 of 13 in Barra de Navidad
4.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Barra de Navidad
Hotel Barra de Navidad
#2 of 13 in Barra de Navidad
4.5 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sarabi
Hotel Sarabi
#4 of 13 in Barra de Navidad
5.0 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Alondra
Hotel La Alondra
#8 of 13 in Barra de Navidad
3.5 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
0.2 mi away
Posada Pacifico
Posada Pacifico
#5 of 13 in Barra de Navidad
4.0 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
2.3 mi away
Las Arenas
Las Arenas
#1 of 4 in Melaque
4.5 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sands

Property: Hotel Sands
Address: Morelos 24, Barra de Navidad 48987, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Costalegre > Barra de Navidad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Barra de Navidad
Number of rooms: 43
Also Known As:
Sands Hotel Barra De Navidad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing