We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“You get what you pay for and you get your moneys worth here” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bungalows Marvida

Bungalows Marvida
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Barra de Navidad
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bungalows Marvida
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Barra de Navidad
Vancouver
Level Contributor
52 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“You get what you pay for and you get your moneys worth here”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2011

We stayed at the Bungalows Marvida in Janruary 2011 and thought that we got reasonable value for our vacation dollar.

What we got for $50 a night was a nice CLEAN,safe poolside bungalow complete with a queen bed and a double. The bungalow had a fridge,stove,TV, cofee maker and a microwave oven. Although we primarily ate out, it was nice to have some juice and snacks in the fridge.We also bought some fresh ground cofee beans and woke up every morning to a fresh cup of cofee.

The bungalow itself wasn't super fancy, but the decor was OK and at $50 a night, you felt that you definitly got what you paid for.The location was 5 minutes from the beach, down a quiet peaceful street and we never felt unsafe, even after dark.The pool was small, however,it did offer a refreshing swim in the heat of the day and you primarily have the pool all to yourself.

The lady owner(an American) was super friendly and helpful. My wife got to use the computer everytime she was in her office.Her husband(a Mexican man) was a little shyer, however, that's understandable since he only speaks Mexican and has apparent physical ailments. Not sure how he could be labeled as unfriendly because a smile and a ""buenos dios" uttered to him, brought a smile and a buenos dios back everytime.C'mon people....give the old guy some grace....LOL!

We weren't super crazy about Barra de Navidad, although it was OK, but this review is primarily about rating the Bunglows Marivida . With that in mind,I agree with all the ratings here for the most part ,except the two star, which is really unfairly low,as you get great value for your $50.

In closing:

If you are a budget traveler who wants a good clean,safe,friendly place to stay, then you won't be dissapointed in staying here.

Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank KevandJho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    4
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
1
3
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ashland, Oregon
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2010

One of those places where same people go back year after year. Nice, friendly US lady owner. Free use of computer with hi spd.Two cheerful young women keep the place clean and tidy; very deserving of gratuity at end of stay. We were there for a week and enjoyed the large room with its two sleeping areas, kitchen, dining area, b.r. and quiet, efficient A.C. Much more space than regular hotel room. Don't expect The Ritz, but at $55 a night, very satisfactory and an excellent value.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tallyh0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
Level Contributor
69 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2009

We stayed in Barra de Navidad for three nights in February 2009 using it as a base for sightseeing in the area. We were surprised at how over-run the little town is with sunseekers and winter escapees from North America. As we were not there for the sun and sea, it was hard to understand why this town in so popular as it was not particularly charming. Some of the shopowners were also quite unfriendly (which is quite unusual from our experience elsewhere in Mexico). We stayed at Bungalows Marvida and can recommend this place -- good location in the town (no ocean views however, if that's something you want) and very clean (just ignore the unfriendly owner who seems only interested in money). We can highly recommend the restaurant, Mexico Lindo, which serves very good fish tacos and other dishes.

Helpful?
3 Thank JJ503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2007

These bungalows are a cheap options and they are great for anyone who isn't looking for luxury frills. The rooms were cleaned comprehensively every day and had good storage. The hot water was a bit unpredictable though and the shower wasn't great. Thewas a full kitchenette in the room but we didn't use it so can't vouch for it's effectiveness other than the fridge! There is also a reasonable sized pool, but we didn't use this.

The owner is friendly and accommodating, and there is internet access in her office, although she was unavailable alot of the time and the office locked.

  • Stayed November 2007
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank sarahBLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
90 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2007

Just got back from Barra and had a fantastic time! I can't say enough wonderful things about the place, people, food, etc. Stayed at Bungalows Mar Vida at the the North end of Av. Mazatlan. The rooms were cheap ($55 US/night) and we took 3 out of the 5. There was one other lovely couple there from BC and everyone had a great time. The pool was very nice and clean as were the rooms. The beds were typically very hard and uncomfortable as are most beds that I have slept on in Mexico so I would recommend bringing your own pillow. Kitchens were great but it was much cheaper to eat out than to buy and prepare food. We all agree that we would stay at Mar Vida again.

  • Liked — clean and cheap
  • Disliked — hard beds
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank joycegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2005

I stayed at Bungalows Mar Vida for 8 days and found it to be the best of all the hotels I stayed at during my 4 week tour of Mexico. The place is charming, well kept and maintained, is located in a quiet area about 3 to 4 blocks from the beach. The rates are very reasonable, ideal for a family or people on a budget. The best part I liked was the 100 or so satellite TV channels which included numerous radio stations. Will definately stay there again if and when I travel that way.

  • Stayed November 2005
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
13 Thank ahaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2005

My family loved the place, excellent service by the management. Close to the ocean, overall clean service and not expensive. Will definitely will return this year.

  • Stayed July 2004
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barra de Navidad
0.2 mi away
Hotel La Alondra
Hotel La Alondra
#8 of 13 in Barra de Navidad
3.5 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sarabi
Hotel Sarabi
#4 of 13 in Barra de Navidad
5.0 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Delfin
Hotel Delfin
#3 of 13 in Barra de Navidad
4.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Barra de Navidad
Hotel Barra de Navidad
#2 of 13 in Barra de Navidad
4.5 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
0.1 mi away
Posada Pacifico
Posada Pacifico
#5 of 13 in Barra de Navidad
4.0 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel & Temazcal Hacienda de Melaque
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bungalows Marvida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bungalows Marvida

Property: Bungalows Marvida
Address: Av. Mazatlan 168, Barra de Navidad 48987, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Costalegre > Barra de Navidad
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Barra de Navidad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Bungalows Marvida Hotel Barra De Navidad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing