We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't miss Villa Santa Barbara, Gibsons, British Columbia, Canada!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Villa Santa Barbara
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
“Don't miss Villa Santa Barbara, Gibsons, British Columbia, Canada!”
Reviewed June 23, 2012

http://www.villasantabarbaragibsons.ca/

Date of stay - June 20/21, 2012.
Review submitted - June 22nd.

Just returned from two great nights at Santa Barbara (Gibsons).
A hidden paradise only 50 minutes from downtown Vancouver.
What an amazing place/experience, the setting could not be more perfect!
From watching the distant ferry lights go in/out at night as you soak in the private hot tub, to watching the sunrise over the beautiful mountain backdrop from the plush king size bed in the morning. The siesta home by the water a most unexpected surprise!

Villa Santa Barbara (Gibsons) has amazing hosts/owners, such warm/wonderful hospitality. They provided us the lay of the land and many suggestions on things to see and do.
We stayed in the beach bungalow suite and only saw them on arrival and departure-total privacy!

We have travelled to many parts of the world - from Columbia to Langkawi, Malaysia, Bora Bora to Cape Town, South Africa, Villa Santa Barbara (Gibsons) is an undiscovered gem of British Columbia/Sunshine Coast. Words and pictures cannot do it justice, you have to see first hand to truly understand how amazing it is.
We look forward to returning and also experiencing Villa Santa Barbara Barra de Navidad!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank B H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
31
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
2 reviews
Reviewed May 4, 2012

This is the third time in 5 years we've stayed at Villa Santa Barbara (Premier Suite). It's the perfect place to get away and relax in the sun. We can't say enough about the hosts, Barb and Barry. They go above and beyond to make sure you have a wonderful stay.

The Villa is clean, quiet, and peaceful. It's about an 8-10 minute leisurely walk from the centre of town. It's on the canal so there's always a nice breeze blowing. The suite amenities have already been covered by the other posters and we agree with all of them - very clean and comfortable, inside and out, pretty much sums it up.

The kitchen is well-stocked with everything you'll need. The nearest grocery store is a 5-minute walk away, but in a pinch your best bet is to call and have beer and a roast chicken meal delivered directly to the Villa! :) And when you're not into cooking, Barra has plenty of great places to eat.

Barra itself is a quaint, safe, clean little town with everything from restaurants to grocery stores to beaches within comfortable walking distance. We have never felt we needed a car to get around, but there are lots of taxis available if you want to explore the area.

All in all, we'd have no reservations about recommending Villa Santa Barbara to our family and friends. We know we'll be back soon!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KJ_and_E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island, Canada
1 review
Reviewed March 20, 2012

We have stayed in many places all through Mexico but none as good as this.They thought of everything,comfortable beds,great bedding,views,pool,dock,you name it they had it. The owners made us feel welcome,so welcome we already reserved for next year. We has a tour in their ponga,we swam,had bbqs,played games,sat around the pool and visited the other guests,it was so much fun.My husband enjoyed the sattle light tv, hammock and we all enjoyed watching the fisherman each morning,had fresh baking delivered to the dock,it was a real treat.
Thank you Barry and Barb,this place is heaven!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Penthouse this time,it was excellent but we have also stayed in the Primere when we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bill s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barra de Navidad, Mexico
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed March 6, 2012

We stayed in the Premier suite. It was perfect for my wife & me. The location is within easy walking distance to most everything in Barra and Barbara & Barry were the best.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlaskaDave1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 25, 2012

My wife and I vacation every winter in Barra. We have previously stayed at Cabo Blanco Hotel and Casa de Marco apartments.

This year we stayed at Villa Santa Barbara, in the "Penthouse Suite". It was perfect! The spacious, comfortable and private suite made our trip. Barb and Barry are super hosts......friendly and helpful but not too hovering or intrusive.

Rick (and Lisa)

Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ricardo1603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
1 review
Reviewed February 5, 2012

We spent two weeks in January 2012 in the two-bedroom penthouse at Villa Santa Barbara. Was our first trip to Barra and the Melaque area. When we arrived late in the evening, Barb had stocked our unit with lasagna, salad, beers, wine, tequilla, milk, eggs, fruit and more. It was a very nice surprise! The unit was very roomy, very comfortable, beds were great, flat screen tvs in both bedrooms, even had a dish washer, was definately one of the nicest villas we've rented in Mexico. Barb and Barry went out of their way to ensure we had a good time, which even included a boat tour of the area. We enjoyed the morning delivery, by boat, from the local baker, we had a Mexican fiesta with the other guest that was beyond our expectations, the food was absolutely fabulous, thank you Dora! All in all, we would highly recommend staying at Villa Santa Barbara and with Barb and Berry. It was a very very nice holiday!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2012

My partner and I stayed in the Primere suite at Villa Santa Barbara and loved it,Everything was clean,comfortable beds,and well equipt. We cooked,swim,enjoyed happy hours with the other guests and our hosts went above and beyond to make us feel welcome and at home.We spent alot of time reseaching but this place is number one,we have already made plans to return next year.Thank you so much Barry and Barb for the vacation of a life time,see you in 2012!

Room Tip: Ask if the beds are comfortable and ask where the bedding was purchased
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alle_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barra de Navidad
0.0 mi away
Hotel Barra de Navidad
Hotel Barra de Navidad
#2 of 13 in Barra de Navidad
4.5 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Delfin
Hotel Delfin
#3 of 13 in Barra de Navidad
4.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel La Alondra
Hotel La Alondra
#8 of 13 in Barra de Navidad
3.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Las Arenas
Las Arenas
#1 of 4 in Melaque
4.5 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel & Temazcal Hacienda de Melaque
0.0 mi away
Hotel Sarabi
Hotel Sarabi
#4 of 13 in Barra de Navidad
4.5 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Santa Barbara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Santa Barbara

Property: Villa Santa Barbara
Address: Avenida Asterillos No.162, Barra de Navidad, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Costalegre > Barra de Navidad
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Barra de Navidad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Villa Santa Barbara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing