We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Colhay Studio”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
6 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Otterham, Boscastle, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 6 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
gelly68
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
1 review
“Colhay Studio”
Reviewed September 29, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Wow! This place is 100% like a small piece of paradise, we definitely didn’t want to come home our two little dogs loved the place too, we all loved the garden and waterfall and ponds! Amazing place! The owners are really welcoming and friendly people just a text away if we needed anything. On arrival and on entering the studio every thought has gone into making the property a delightful place to stay with wonderful fresh cut flower, so clean. Tea,coffee and milk in the fridge on arrival and a Cornish cream tea awaiting you with homemade honey and conserves which are really very good and very tasty. Only wish I had brought some to take home. We are now going to book Colhay again we have only just left the place this morning. If you are looking for an extra special place to stay with peace and tranquility in mind and no disturbance in less you want them then we recommend Colhay Studio 100% best holiday we have ever had!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tracy1402...
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful,Peaceful & friendly place to stay. A Must”
Reviewed August 19, 2017 for a stay in August 2017
2
people found this review helpful

What a wonderful place. We fell in love with the studio as soon as we saw it. A warm welcome when we arrived. The host's were very friendly and helpful & great tips on where to visit. The garden is so relaxing,we loved sitting out watching the wildlife all around. Particularly the amazing bird feeder with so many different types from sparrows to woodpeckers (even a cheeky squirrel). The fish pond is beautiful, especially in the evening when lit up. It is so dog friendly Herbie loved it! We have been home a day and he is still sulcking!. For a relaxing holiday you couldn't wish for a better place, we had two wonderful weeks there and didn't want to come home. We couldn't recommend Colhay studio more highly and look forward to returning.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blah01
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Avoid this place”
Reviewed July 19, 2017 for a stay in June 2017
2
people found this review helpful

Think Twice before staying here


We had booked this place a very long time in advance. The photos made the place look lovely. The place looked small but compact, functional, and up to date. The garden looked tranquil and an ideal place to sit out and watch the world and the countryside go by. Significantly, it was billed as being pet friendly. We have a Cocker Spaniel who was very friendly, and we were keen to take him on holiday with us as we have done many times before. One photo made us think that there was a sea view but we found this was not the case.
We arrived on a Friday evening before it got dark. The owner showed us around and did make oblique references to having a dog that was “guardy ”. We did not pay any attention to this as it seemed out of context.
The owner then said she would go and get a book to show us from her house. The two properties have a driveway between them…it is where we had been told to park our car. Our dog followed her to her front gate, and when she opened it her dog leapt out and attacked ours. One of us saw it happen. Her dog went for our dog’s back and when ours yelped and tried to get away her dog went for our dog again. Our dog then managed to get away crying out and was shaking for the rest of the evening. We were tired, upset and shocked and decided to go to bed and think on what to do the next day.
We did not sleep so well because of the long drive, the dog incident, and the fact that most of the windows were in the roof of the property without blinds or curtains.
Somewhat groggy we decided to open the patio door to the garden and have our breakfast. About half an hour later we could hear a radio had been turned on. It was so loud we thought it must have been plugged into speakers. We could not even hear ourselves talk across the table. One of us decided to go in the direction of the noise and see if anyone was around and would oblige in turning it down somewhat. This was on the other side of the property from the owners’ house. Beyond the boundary fence one could see a very run down and dilapidated smallholding/farm. There was a man walking about and when his attention was held (difficult because the noise was now even greater) he was asked if he could turn the noise down some. His response was in the negative; it was so abusive that it would not be worthy of print here. In essence and whilst using a number of expletives he said that he would do just what he liked and we could go forth and multiply. We sent a text to the owner who replied to say she would speak to the man’s wife who was more reasonable. Some two hours later the volume of the noise had not been turned down. We decided to leave and did so forthwith.
After returning home with holiday quite ruined, we contacted the Agents, Sykes. The initial person we spoke to on the telephone was quite sympathetic and said she would take it further and asked if we could put it in writing. We did so immediately after the telephone call. Thereafter communication from the Agents has been very poor, despite our repeated attempts to contact them. In essence their position was that neither they nor the owner was prepared to do anything further, to offer no form of recompense whatsoever and that it was our fault for having left the property. The owner had told the Agents that dogs fight and ours had not needed to go to a vet for emergency treatment. This is unacceptable. The owner also said that our dog was on her property and that the boundary was across the driveway. There was nothing visible but she did have fencing and a front gate which our dog had not crossed. All of this suggests a state of mind and an attitude that is rather unpleasant and certainly not conducive to a holiday.
In short we would suggest any and all of you who may consider a ‘holiday’ at this place, Colhay Studio, to seriously think again and go elsewhere.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 17, 2017
Thank you for your comments and taking the time to write this review please find the below the owners response to your review. We are sorry as the booking agent we were unable to help more with this particular issue.

Owners Response:

We are sorry that you had a bad experience and you felt that you had to cut your holiday short. This is the last thing we would have wanted and the only time any of our customers have decided to leave early due to the service.

In response to the points you raised:

We are so sorry about the altercation between our dog and your spaniel. Having shown you the enclosed garden on the other side of the cottage and explained the precautions that we have in place to manage our territorial dog (i.e. a mobile number to text if you need anything rather than coming to the door of our house), we had hoped that this situation could have been avoided. While there is no physical marker between the Studio parking and the door to our house,at present, there is around thirty feet of distance and we had not expected your dog uncontrolled and following immediately behind when entering our house get a guide book you had requested. Since this has happened we are making even clearer to our visitors that our dog is territorial and how we manage this, and that dogs must be kept on the lead on the driveway. We will also be installing a fence and gate shortly. We love dogs and designed the Studio specifically to cater for them. We hope that the measures outlined here ensure that mistakes like this one cannot happen again.

You also mentioned that some of the windows of the Studio have no blinds. The Studio is open plan and has a very high ceiling with skylights, where blinds would have been unsuitable. These windows do not comprise most of the windows in the property as you have said. Specifically, the bedroom area does have blinds and has been made as dark as possible. The bedroom is on the east of the property where the sun rises and as such, the blinds provided block out the morning sun. What light that infiltrates the bedroom area from the windows without blinds is ambient and indirect. Nevertheless we understand that some guests prefer total darkness and have provided eye masks in the bedside tables, which we explain during the initial tour.

With regards to your difficulty with our neighbour, we are sorry that you were spoken to in this way. Our understanding of the situation was that the radio was switched on at around noon and that you approached our neighbour directly, only asking us to intervene afterwards. Despite the area being very peaceful normally, the hamlet does contain a working dairy farm and small riding school/horse rescue. Guests have not previously complained about noise and so we were somewhat taken aback by these events. When you contacted us we tried to manage the situation, although this was made difficult by the retrospective nature of the request. We maintain relationships with all residents of the hamlet so that we can share communal property and rights fairly (i.e. use and maintenance of the common area) and so that in the rare event that any disputes should occur, they can be managed in a calm and sensible manner. While we are unable to account for the actions of our neighbours, we are very happy to use our existing relationships on behalf of our guests to make their stay as comfortable as possible. In the light of this incident, we will be making sure that guests are aware that should they have any complaints about residents of the hamlet, that they take them to us in the first case so that we can mediate. We are confident that this measure will ensure that any disputes like this one can be quickly and calmly resolved.

We hope that this covers the points that you have raised. We renovated the Studio to be a calm, peaceful, dog-friendly place and try our utmost to ensure that all our guests feel well catered for and have a relaxed time. We have been running the Studio for around two years now with only very positive feedback, so are disappointed that you had the experience that you did. We hope that the measures outlined above will ensure that this does not happen again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P5380RWma...
PENZANCE
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A wonderful corner of Cornwall”
Reviewed December 11, 2016 for a stay in December 2016
5
people found this review helpful

After visiting and finally living the dream of living and working here in Cornwall ,we found that special place they call paradise here at Colhay Studio, Beautiful surroundings,and peace,and quiet in abundance,What more do you need,would recommend it to anyone who seeks a restful,relaxing,stress free break of a few days,or even longer.Time just drifts by,without a care in the world,plenty of wildlife,Try it yourself you would not be dissappointed

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peace and quiet
Liked least: Not stopping longer
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
su b
Boston, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful, relaxing, welcoming”
Reviewed February 25, 2016 for a stay in February 2016
4
people found this review helpful

A beautiful well equipped studio, very comfortable with a lovely upstairs balcony - great views and wild life to watch. The garden is secure for dogs and also relaxing with a waterfall and those lovely views. The dogs were made very welcome and were well catered for with a super luxury bed. The area is very rural so the peace and quiet are great.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The balcony and rural location
Liked least: Having to go home
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 26, 2016
Thank you for taking the time to share your holiday experience with us all, we are delighted that you enjoyed your time at Colhay Studio. It sounds like both people and dogs had a fabulous holiday here, how lovely for the owners to have provided for dogs too, it is their holiday too after all! Having your very own waterfall in the garden sounds like bliss, how relaxing. We certainly hope you make a return visit very soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing