We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm Welcome and Peaceful Location”
Review of St Benet's Abbey

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
St Benet's Abbey
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lanivet
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 29, 2014

We stayed here for one night on our way down to Falmouth and arrived late in the evening. The owner was welcoming and sensitive to the fact we might be tired and want to go straight to our room. We were on the ground floor with a view of the tower and were keen to ask JJ about the history of this beautiful place. It was obvious he has great pride in the Abbey and they have some exciting plans for its future. The room was spotlessly clean and the beds were very comfortable. Breakfast in the morning was excellent and we were lucky to have the star of the show make a brief appearance - their gorgeous one year old! If you want a good nights sleep in a peaceful location you would struggle to find a better choice. We can thoroughly recommend and hope to return one day soon.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebeccalina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (319)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

221 - 227 of 319 reviews

Reviewed June 20, 2014

Well what can I say?
From the outset, JJ & Lynn were more than helpful. We had a dilemma with transport at all ends for our one way (Cycle, Foot & Kayak) trip. JJ offered to drop us at both ends, making sure our vehicle and kit were where we wanted & when.
Accommodation perfectly adequate, they joined two rooms together for us.
Breakfast lovely, such choice.
Our bikes were all locked up in their outbuilding, safely overnight.
Our wet gear was all dried overnight for us.
Very reasonable charges too.
Spot on really.
Thank you Lynn & JJ
:-)

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gingerfencer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2014

This is an amazing place to stay...... Loads of history, quaint, very clean, beautifully furnished, fab food and to add to that wonderful people who own and run this family B&B. We loved the company of JJ who made our evening with great stories of the Abbey as well as being able to enjoy a little time with their lovely little one too. Thank you all so very much - see you again.

Sue & Lee

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SueH7823
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2014

We decided to stay at St Benet's Abbey at short notice, having previously stayed there 10 years ago. The booking was handled very efficiently over the phone and we were warmly welcomed on our arrival by owners Lynn & JJ. In the light of another review, we were offered the chatty version or the quiet version of JJ - we chose chatty!!
The Abbey is set back from the road (watch out for the turning - it comes up on you quickly) in quiet grounds with a tidy garden and ample parking.
The room was clean and comfortable - one of the most comfortable hotel beds we've slept on - and the breakfast was excellent.
All in all, St Benet's Abbey is a great base for exploring Cornwall and well worth searching out. Good luck to Lynn & JJ for the future - we look forward to coming back.

Room Tip: Room 1 has the best view over the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MisterDoctor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2014

A charming century stone Abbey. Lynn and JJ and their baby "Faith", they are very amiable, it is a tranquil, warm welcoming atmosphere. The room was comfortable, the breakfast was excellent!. we was only one night and for us was perfect, It is close to a quiet villa call Lanivet, was ideal and we walked to the pub for a drink.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laly-Torquay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

We have travelled in Southwest England many times and St. Benet's Abbey is our most memorable and favorite B&B. Lynn and JJ provide a tranquil, welcoming atmosphere at their lovely old abbey. It is set off the road in quiet Lanivet and is the perfect central hub for day trips in any direction in Cornwall. Lands End, Dartmoor Forest, Tintagel, even Clovelly are within easy striking distance. The rooms are spacious and clean, beds are large and comfortable, the bathroom boasted a five foot long tub, breakfasts are fresh, ample and well cooked, and the lounge makes one feel like a resident of a grand manor house with its huge windows, plush couches and chairs and JJ as a most congenial bar man. A short walk takes you to the friendly local pub. Lynn and JJ make you feel genuinely welcome and pay close attention to what makes a tasteful, attractive and comfortable experience for their guests.

Room Tip: Just ask Lynn when you book.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Stayed at St Benet's Abbey at the end of April whilst taking part in a nearby cycling event. The building has a rich history dating back to the 15th century but has been sympathetically restored by the relatively recent owners JJ & Lynn Jones.

Rooms are all individual, well appointed and furnished assuring a good night's sleep plus there's a very comfortable bar & lounge area to relax in where JJ will almost certainly recount many of his stories from his Naval years but don't worry, he's not like Uncle Albert from Only Fools & Horses - au contraire, very engaging and amusing!

Breakfasts are sound and would be even better if there was a good local Hog's Pudding included.

An excellent place to stay and whilst I more often visit the far west of God's Own County, if I have cause to stay east of Truro, I won't look further than St Benet's

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peekay44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lanivet
5.3 mi away
Tredethy House
Tredethy House
#1 of 1 in Tredethy
206 reviews
3.8 mi away
Trehellas House
Trehellas House
#1 of 1 in Washaway
355 reviews
17.2 mi away
The Alverton
The Alverton
#1 of 4 in Truro
941 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
4.7 mi away
Best Western Fowey Valley
Best Western Fowey Valley
#1 of 3 in Lostwithiel
553 reviews
2.3 mi away
Lanhydrock Hotel and Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Benet's Abbey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Benet's Abbey

Address: St. Benets Abbey Truro Road, Lanivet, Bodmin PL30 5HF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Bodmin > Lanivet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lanivet
Price Range: $89 - $114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — St Benet's Abbey 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Book Direct Rooms, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your St Benet's Abbey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Benet`s Abbey Hotel Lanivet
St Benets Abbey Cornwall
St Benet's Abbey Lanivet, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing