We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second lovely stay”
Review of St Benet's Abbey

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
St Benet's Abbey
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lanivet
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 21, 2012

Had a second stay at St Benet's Abbey in June, in room 8 this year which was fabulous.
The breakfast room is lovely and breakfast itself very good. I didn't go for the full works but was kindly provided with a sausage sandwich made possibly the best sausages in Cornwall.
Carol and family are very welcoming and we felt at home from the moment we arrived.
This time we appreciated being allowed to have a look around the ruin of the old tower in the private garden which was really interesting. Will definately be returning next time we are in the area.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (318)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

266 - 272 of 318 reviews

Reviewed July 19, 2012

We stayed here in June for a long weekend. As well as the location being ideal to explore Cornwall, the guesthouse was apckied with character! We arrived on the Friday evening and were made to feel most welcome by the owners. We were given a comfortable room with great facilities. The owners were on hand to give us advice on where to go and where to have dinner. Breakfast was fantastic, using locally sourced produce. I would definately stay here again and would without doubt recommend this to anyone looking for a stay in South West England.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hayzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2012 via mobile

St Benets Abbey is oozing character & history, it's a little gem hidden away from the 'hustle & bustle' (if there is such a thing) in Cornwall.

It's a family run business, husband, wife Carol & extended family. Carol particularly goes out of her way to welcome you & tell you what's to see & do in the local area and was very hospitable throughout our stay.

Wifi was intermittent for my husband & did not work for me, never mind; nice to get away from technology!

A good selection at breakfast to accommodate most preferences.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dooie111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2012

Comfy four poster bed, good shower and plenty of space (had superior room 1, was fab) and very helpful hosts. Wi Fi worked fine for us - not at fibre optic speed but then you are in Cornwall! Plentiful breakfast - there is no restaurant for evening meals but their are loads of options within a short drive, and two places in walking distance. Ideal location for Eden, Heligan, etc.

Quiet, scenic, good value - Would definitely return.

Room Tip: Go superior - it's only a few pounds extra a night and it's worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travellingactress03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2012

PROS: Warm welcome and very good service. Lovely building and grounds. Very good breakfast. Clean. Warm and comfortable. Good location and easy to find.

CONS: Free Wi-Fi didn't work in the bedroom (room 4) unless stood next to the door, and then only intermittently (and slowly). Small room and bathroom, and tiny bath with fixed shower overhead (with plenty of hot water once you've let it run for a couple of minutes or so). Bedroom and bathroom would benefit from redecorating as they are looking a bit tired, especially the bathroom. Slightly overpriced.

I stayed here for one night and would happily stay again if in the area. The room was generally pleasant - sitting in the window overlooking the garden and tower ruin was a treat - though smaller than the photos on the website make it appear. In fact, the website does make it look more luxurious than it actually is. Carole (the owner) was very pleasant and helpful, and the pot of tea she made on arrival was very welcome.

I was concerned about security. They are quite insistent that you leave your room key hanging up on the wall when you go out, and the keys are hung up on full display in the hall close to the front door. As this area appears usually unmanned, it would be very easy for somebody to walk in from the road, pick up a room key, and steal from the room. I left my laptop in the car when I was not in the room as I wasn't confident about leaving anything valuable in the bedroom.

Although dinner isn't served here, there's a reasonably pleasant pub in the village centre (a few minutes' walk) which does food to an acceptable standard. Just make sure you have a torch if walking back after dark, as the area is unlit. There's a Spar shop in the village which sells most things you might need (such as sandwiches, drinks etc) - apart from torches!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2012

Very friendly team, great breakfasts, nothing was too much trouble. Would definitely recommend this guest house to anyone wishing to stay in Bodmin.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jellibabi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2012

I have stayed at this former Abbey twice now, both in Room 8. Highly recommended. The location is ideal as it is central and you can use the Abbey as a base. The owners were so helpful. Each morning they asked us what we had planned for the day and then offered maps and guides to help get us there! How good is that! I would suggest a visit to Lanhydrock which is a National Trust Property about 10 minutes drive away - just beautiful.

The breakfast was a full English with cereals and fruit etc as well as a cooked veggie option which is great. Carole also offers a packed lunch so we had sandwiches made up which were very filling and yummy. The cream tea is a must as is a drink in the bar after a hard day's sightseeing.

Room Tip: Room 8 is very quiet but with a seperate entrance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jules0131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lanivet
5.3 mi away
Tredethy House
Tredethy House
#1 of 1 in Tredethy
205 reviews
3.8 mi away
Trehellas House
Trehellas House
#1 of 1 in Washaway
352 reviews
17.2 mi away
The Alverton
The Alverton
#1 of 4 in Truro
926 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
2.3 mi away
Lanhydrock Hotel and Golf Club
15.8 mi away
Camelot Castle Hotel
Camelot Castle Hotel
#3 of 6 in Tintagel
1,334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Benet's Abbey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Benet's Abbey

Address: St. Benets Abbey Truro Road, Lanivet, Bodmin PL30 5HF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Bodmin > Lanivet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lanivet
Price Range: $88 - $128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — St Benet's Abbey 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your St Benet's Abbey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Benet`s Abbey Hotel Lanivet
St Benets Abbey Cornwall
St Benet's Abbey Lanivet, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing