We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Step Back in Time!”
Review of Olive's Garden - CLOSED

Olive's Garden
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $9
Cuisines: British, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Cash Only, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A Step Back in Time!”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

The owners of this tea garden are incredibly friendly and show such care in the welcome of their guests it is like stepping back into a gentler and kinder time - the garden is beautiful, peaceful and on a sunny day the perfect place to eat the most delicious cream tea or home made cakes. It's possible to eat inside if the weather isn't so good and there is also a menu of hot food if preferred. It's easy to drive past if you don't know the tea garden exists so look out for the sign on the roadside and definitely drive in for a warm welcome and a taste of real home cooked food served with a smile by Penny & Johnny.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jhy3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    2
    2
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Folkestone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Little Piece of Heaven”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Having been to Cornwall for the last three years and not had a cream tea I was determined to have one this year. My friend Jayne took myself and my friend Maria to Olives Garden where I sampled a real Cornish Cream Tea. Well it was well worth the 3 year wait. It was absolutely delicious, the owners Penny and Johnny were fabulous hosts and the restaurant is in a wonderful setting. I can't wait to get back there next year. If you are in the are I would highly recommend that you visit and if you're not then go out of your way to visit.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Pagey1909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folkestone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Cornwall at its Best”
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Myself and friends recently visited Olive's Garden. A lovely homely environment. The service from the owners was excellent. The Cornish Cream Tea the best we had seen anywhere in Cornwall and the sandwiches to die for. The welcome was as if we were all family friends just pooping in for tea.... I would recommend a visit to anyone...

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Grumps2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Austell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Cream Teas and Homemade cakes to die for!”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

I have just discovered this traditional Cornish tea garden serving homemade scones and cakes fit for The Ritz! Run by a very enthusiastic and creative couple, they serve light lunches and afternoon teas with style and panache in the pretty, secluded garden or in their cottage dining room when the weather is inclement. They also serve breakfast and hold themed evenings in the holiday season. I had Johnny's twice baked cheesecake - truly mouthwatering!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank almwing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Olive's Garden also viewed

 
St Agnes, Truro District
 
Porthtowan, Cornwall
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing