We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic place to stay”

Review of 'Sea Echoes'

Garden with views of sea and sand dunes
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Garden with views of sea and sand dunes
Conservatory Open plan lounge & kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
30 reviews
Garden with views of sea and sand dunes
Conservatory
Open plan lounge & kitchen
Double bedroom
Bunk-bedded box-room
Kitchen
Lounge
Bathroom
Conservatory
Porthtowan village (taken from coastal road)
Porthtowan's award winning beach
Porthtowan's award winning beach
Porthtowan's award winning beach
Porthtowan's award winning beach
View from bottom of garden out to sea
View from garden to coastal path
View from garden down to Playpark
View from kitchen window out to sea - not bad when doing the washing up! ;)
Garden to conservatory
Blue Bar & Boardroom Restaurant
Blue Bar
At the right time of year you may be lucky enough to see a sunset like this :)
Another beautiful sunset at Porthtowan :)
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Porthtowan, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 30 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
mozzalici...
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“great location, clean, accomodation a little tired though”
Reviewed June 27, 2013 for a stay in June 2013

great location, clean, accommodation a little tired though. kitchen fully equipped. clean bathroom facilities. decent sized bedrooms. bunk beds a good idea for a family. parking was good. lovely owner who we spoke to.

god views of the beach from the garden. god views of the beach from the garden. god views of the beach from the garden. god views of the beach from the garden. god views of the beach from the garden. v

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: decor
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 15, 2015
Thank you for your nice review! We are glad you were so pleased with the location. We have since revamped "Sea Echoes", replacing the folding doors with normal ones, redecorating, improving the conservatory and giving the garden a makeover too. If you would like to visit us again in the future, don't forget you will be able to have a Repeat Guest Discount :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sarah n
Ely, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic place to stay”
Reviewed June 14, 2013 for a stay in August 2012

This is a great place to stay, comfortable and in good condition. The Cornish tea welcome when we arrived was wonderful. The accommodation is well placed with views over the sea and also allowed the children to have more independence by going to the beach on their own, but we could still see them from the garden. If you want to visit places a car is recommended, but for the avid surfers Porthtowan has all you will need with well appointed local amenities. We return to this property year on year and will be back for our 5th time this year! Any problems we have had during our stay - big or small - Katrina has dealt with them swiftly and professionally.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: If there was a problem, it was dealt with in a timely and efficient manner
Traveling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 15, 2015
Thank you for your lovely review. As some of our most regular guests, we are delighted that you choose to revisit us year upon year. It is indeed a perfect base for anyone wanting to surf/bodyboard nearby, with the beach being such a short stroll from the garden. We look forward to welcoming you back again this year!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LondonVib...
London
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
“Neither good, nor bad - but convenient”
Reviewed February 17, 2013 for a stay in April 2012
1
person found this review helpful

In a nutshell, we have a mixed impression: it is neither bad nor good, but a convenient place.
On the plus side: it is indeed very well located for surfers, coastal walkers and beach-goers. It is a correctly equipped self-catering accommodation. There is a nice little garden if the weather allows using it. There is a parking lot next to the house which is useful. Overall a convenient accommodation.
On the minus side: the website says “Smokers Welcome”; it is really smokers only welcome, as the very first thing we noticed when we entered this place was the smell of cigarette, and all our clothes smelled cigarette when we unpacked back home. As we are non-smokers, we did not like it. The conservatory is actually the dining room, there are no other place with chairs and table, but it is just way too cold to have diner or even breakfast there when it is cold outside (we went in spring time) as there is no heating. Rooms: we did not find the mattresses very comfortable and we did not sleep well; the 2 rooms are not equipped with real doors, so there is limited intimacy and noise reduction. Cleanliness: as every tenant is responsible to clean when they leave, it depends who used the flat before you. If they are Swiss, you are lucky; the guys before us where certainly not, and we found the place far from being clean. Price: although we went at low season, we did not find it very good value for money.
Porthtowan itself is not a very inspiring place, not a cute little seaside resort. The beach at high tide is small and not too nice, but at low tide is becomes a really gorgeous long stretch of sand which we enjoyed a lot.

This holiday rental can certainly suit beach bums, surfers, young families who want to be close to the beach, but not too demanding in terms of comfort. It is certainly better in summertime when it’s hot and sunny than in spring or autumn.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Close to the beach
Liked least: Cigarette smell
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Sorry you had a few negative points, which I would like to comment on as follows as some changes have since been made. Re smoking: we decided at the end of last season to change our properties to ‘non-smoking’ so the smell of smoke will no longer apply. Re the conservatory: we appreciate the conservatory could get rather cool in cold weather so we have now put in an electric radiator. Re the mattresses: the two single mattresses in the bunk-bedded room were only two weeks old when you holidayed at “Sea Echoes” and were good quality ones so we are assuming you mean the double mattress, which has now been replaced also, together with a new double bed. Re the bedroom doors: we are contemplating replacing the double bedroom door with a normal door (both rooms have a wooden bi-fold door to maximise space, but we appreciate a normal door would provide more privacy and thank you for your comments). Re cleaning: we are not at all sure where you got the impression that every tenant is solely responsible to do the main clean when they leave – this is absolutely not the case and a cleaner comes in to do a thorough changeover before each new guest arrives; we ask that guests leave the property clean and tidy as on changeover days there is only time for the expected general clean, but the expected general clean is a standard changeover clean taking 3 hours so by that we just mean that we expect guests not to leave the property full of washing up or covered in sand or dog hair, for example – it is a shame you did not contact us to alert us of your concerns as we would have been more than happy to come in and clean the property again for you. Re the price: you holidayed with us right through Easter week, covering Good Friday, Easter Sunday and Easter Monday, so at £65 per night for the entire apartment over Easter we do not feel at all that that is poor value for money, in fact quite the opposite and we are among the cheapest of holiday lets compared to other similar properties in the village. Porthtowan is indeed a small village, not by any means a big touristy resort such as, for example, St Ives or Newquay, so it does indeed suit those looking for a more quiet and chilled out holiday. We are pleased you enjoyed the large beach at low tide and hope you discovered the lovely walk along the sand down to Chapel Porth.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacqKelly
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wonderful Stay”
Reviewed November 2, 2012 for a stay in May 2012

Thankyou for a wonderfully relaxing stay. The apartment was very well equipped and a fantastic location close to the beach and just a short walk to the end of the coastal path.

We were very warmly welcomed as was our young cockapoo dog who absolutely loved running around in the safety of garden. We were already aware that during the summer he wasn't allowed on the beach, but Katrina gave us good advice before our stay about other dog friendly beaches and there are lots of good websites with this information.

It was also a great base for easily exploring other areas of Cornwall. We particularly loved parking up at St. Erth station and catching the short, but beautiful train journey to St. Ives.

If you're looking for a relaxing stay, with good coastal paths and a nightcap at the Blue Bar by the sea to complete the perfect day, then this is your place.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Warm Welcome, Homely Apartment, Great Location
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 15, 2015
Thank you for your kind review. We are so pleased your lovely doggy (and yourselves!) had such a good holiday :) We still very much welcome dogs and, like you say, although from Easter to October they are not allowed on the beach (sadly like most beaches in Cornwall now) we are right next to the coastal path and there is an exercise green right opposite the property too. We would love to welcome you back one day!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby
Reviewed September 12, 2012 for a stay in September 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The sea view - but it was all good
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Apr 15, 2015
What a fantastic review! Thank you so much for your kind comments. We would love to welcome you back to "Sea Echoes" one day and still offer a Repeat Guest Discount :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
l1ndylou
somerset
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“What a lovely place to stay”
Reviewed May 31, 2012 for a stay in May 2012

We stayed at Sea Echoes last weekend when attending our daughters wedding. Our stay at sea Echoes was most enjoyable, it was very clean, bright and well equipped and the cream tea was a lovely touch. We would have no hesitation in recommending it to our friends and family.
If you are lucky enough to stay here pop in to the Blue Bar its great fun!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole feel of the place.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 15, 2015
Thanks for submitting such a lovely review. We accommodate many guests who are attending weddings at the Boardroom/Blue Bar as we are so close, and it is great to hear you were so happy with "Sea Echoes" :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
daisy_day...
London, England
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing Views, Perfect Location!”
Reviewed September 7, 2011 for a stay in September 2011

We stayed at Sea Echoes as a birthday treat with friends, and were bowled over from the moment we arrived!
The sun was there to greet us, along with fresh scones, jam and clotted cream - the sweetest touch that impressed us all!

The accommodation was perfect for the four of us, and we could have even squeezed two more in, as the lounge offers sofa bed, complete with all the extra bedding you require.

Immaculately clean and comfortable, we had full use of Sky TV, CD Player, a Pay Phone and full wifi service (which was definitely useful as there is no mobile reception.

The apartment is also fully equipped with all the extras you may need - glasses, crockery, hair dryer, iron etc and these things also come in handy, and of course mean you don't have to bring your own.

With onsite parking and the beach within throwing distance, Sea Echoes is definitely THE perfect place to stay, chill out and take in the beautiful Cornish scenery!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The amazing views
Liked least: Having to come home!
Traveling group: With Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 15, 2015
Wow what a fabulous review :) We really appreciate you taking the time to write such lovely comments and look forward to welcoming you back to "Sea Echoes" one day!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
$101
/
Night
Week
Make Inquiry
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing