We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Comfortable,spacious cottage with lovely views, a...”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Mortreth

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
76 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Porthtowan, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 76 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Sue A
Kingsbridge, United Kingdom
1 review
“Comfortable,spacious cottage with lovely views, a few minutes from beach”
Reviewed July 31, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We were 6 adults from a family visiting for a long weekend and the cottage was comfortable and spacious and very well equipped for all our needs. There was plenty of entertainment available with books and dvd's for guests staying longer than we were.
The 2 larger bedrooms are good sized and it was helpful to have 2 bathrooms. We enjoyed being able to sit out on the balcony and to be just a short distance from the beach and the cafes.
Mark was very helpful and prompt in responding to queries. My husband is disabled and wheelchair-bound and he was particularly helpful in planning our visit and determining whether a hoist would fit into a bedroom. I was very impressed with the personal service he offered. Directions were clear and helpful.

Date of stay: July 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Spacious open plan living area.
Liked least: Small number of steps down to the property
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed July 19, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Date of stay: July 2015
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Cluckycur...
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
“Great place in the perfect location”
Reviewed July 18, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Just returned from a fab week at Mortreth Cottage!
We are a group of 5 adults and the cottage was spacious enough that we didn't feel like we were on top of each other all the time. Plenty of seating space everywhere with a lovely Sea-view decking area, this was the first place we all headed to when we woke up! Gorgeous view of the bay and great sunset view too.
The cottage is so well equipped with everything you need - books to read, games, dvds, kitchen appliances, body boards, kids beach bits (as a group of adults we obviously didn't borrow these and go crab catching in the rock pools .......honest ;) ) and a great touch, beach towels for every person! What a great idea to provide beach towels , very useful to not be taking home damp towels.

Mark (the owner) always answers emails quickly and is super friendly, very informative and so helpful. I couldn't fault his communications at all , always quick to reply.
We wanted to change our dates around after we had booked, he was very accommodating and nothing seemed like too much trouble.
The whole booking process was very easy

This was our second visit to Porthtowan and we would thoroughly recommend this lovely bay.
If you are going for the first time and staying at Mortreth definitely recommend reading the lever arch folder of info that Mark has put together (on the bookshelf in the dining area), has everything you need in it.

There is a local shop , handy for arrival day! A chip shop and 2 bars! We spent some time in the blue bar which we love, the ambience and food is great here but getting an outside table can be hard as the views of the bay are ace!
We didn't try the other pub but heard the food is good there too.
Amazing Coastal walks are on your door step which can be nice and short as there are some lovely villages along the route to stop off at or if you keep going you can spend all day walking with breathtaking views (keep your eyes open for seals, we have seen one in the bay and a few along the coast, sadly no dolphin sightings for us yet but apparently they are seen around the area)

All in all i couldn't recommend a better place to visit, we all loved Porthtowan and had a fantastic week in Mortreth cottage.
Highly recommended

Date of stay: July 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Reviewed April 23, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Date of stay: April 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed January 7, 2015 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Date of stay: December 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Reviewed July 11, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Date of stay: July 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Back garden area and general tidyness of the accomadation
Liked least: The front balcony
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Mary S
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Perfect centre for teenage grandchildren and 90 year old father.”
Reviewed July 2, 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed a week with our two teenaged grandchildren (a boy and girl) and a further week with my father who is 90. The owner was most thoughtful in providing information about the house and its location in advance, and Porthtowan is a great place from which to explore Cornwall by bus or car or on foot across the cliffs.

The property is fantastically well equipped with plenty of crockery and cutlery and the table expands to seat 10 comfortably. More books and DVDs than you could ever want if the weather is bad and toys for younger children. So nice too to have a full freezer and some bottles of wine on arrival - you replace what you have used during the stay.

The garden is perfect for breakfasting outside and the balcony wonderful fora glass of wine in the evening sun with a view of the sea.

Level access from the road for my father via a very narrow gate was ideal.

Date of stay: May 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.