We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”

Blue Beach Bar & Brasserie
Ranked #2 of 5 Restaurants in Porthtowan
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Large groups, Scenic view, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
St Austell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

We've been to the Blue Bar before and of course it's in a fantastic location. We've both very much enjoyed the experience - food, drink and ambiance - before. However, we were both left disappointed on this occasion.

It was relatively busy for January and so we were in the lower seating area. We found a table easy enough and opened a tab at the bar - a great feature. However, my husband was left very shocked when he was told the bar would hold on to his card until the tab was paid. No other bar I've been to has insisted on this and my understanding is that a card holder should never leave their card out of sight. It could simply have been scanned. This was poor practice and customer service in our opinion.

The drinks were fine and we sat down at the table. We had our 9 month old daughter with us and therefore found a high chair for her. However, it was dirty with food from its last use. My husband went to the bar to let them know and asked for some antibacterial wipes. He was expecting the notification to the staff to prompt someone to clean it but instead was given a wet Guinness bar towel and a squirty bottle to clean it himself. Again, this left a poor impression.

The food came within the time frame and the nachos we ordered were really good as was the Blue burger, but the "rustic chips" advertised on the menu were greasy, re-fried frozen chips with skins on. They were particularly poor and so disappointing, especially for the price.

When the waitress arrived to deliver our food I asked for another drink but was told I had to go to the bar to order.

The toilets in the downstairs area were clean but there was no soap in the washing area. The upstairs toilet were very poor though and the smell was equivalent to a nightclub toilet.

Overall, we received little to no service. When my husband went to pay he wasn't asked if everything was ok (nor did anyone ask us after the food had been delivered to the table or when it was cleared) and so it seemed like there was no interest in our feedback.

I'm not sure we'll return in any great hurry.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenny T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

448 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    196
    160
    64
    19
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Blue burger”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

I'm a local and you just can't beat the Blue Burger xXx I keep coming back because it's affordable and delicious. I boycotted it a few years ago because it seemed they'd put the prices up in the summer but in the winter this is the place locals hang out :-)

Helpful?
1 Thank Nicolebillinge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
420 reviews
206 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“Fantastic location and coffee”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2013 via mobile

Decided to pop in for a decent coffee before driving back to Yorkshire.
Sitting in window seat with sea view (watching two dozen surfers) enjoying lovely coffee
Good staff and service

Helpful?
Thank Yorkshire1245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Level Contributor
234 reviews
155 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 240 helpful votes
“Fantastic view, friendly staff and good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2013

We had a window seat which can't be beaten for the view that it gives over the beach and crashing sea.. On a cold November day we were a bit huddled up and if I had to make a suggestion I would say that it might be a good idea to upgrade to good double glazed windows in the future. It is a funky place with a good slouch feel to it, quite quiet when we arrived early in the morning. If you know Gylly cafe in Falmouth, it has something of the same vibe though the Gylly is a bit more upmarket. There is a bar which does lots of cocktails which we did not partake of being civilized people who do not drink at 10 in the morning. However we did have scrambled egg with chorizo on toast which was a generous portion and good quality and tasty. Yes we liked the place and will return for cocktails another time! We found the staff friendly and helpful.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank annemarie10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matlock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Mixed Opinions”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

Interesting reading the reviews of the Blue Bar. There is no place better after a 300 mile drive down to Cornwall to unwind and get you in the chilled routine. With a proviso or two. Firstly: if the sun is shining and you can get a window seat (booth) it doesn't get much better. Autumn is pleasant last thing as the sun sets. Great to relax with a good pint of Lushies and watch the world drift by. In the summer it's a bit chaotic but what do you expect.....it's a bar on the beach, with a view - its gonna be busy!

The food: The Blue Burger is bloody lovely BUT massively let down by the cheap burger bap. Come on guys......you've got a winner that you massively devalue by serving it with a 5p bap. Use a quality ciabatta roll. The veggie halloumi fajita is superb, as is the veggie option of the Nachos.

Service has been fine on every visit, the atmosphere is variable depending on what type of people are around. It's not really helped by the cheap aluminium tables and chairs but you can look past all of that.

Cannot wait for the next trip down!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nige_G4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Beach Bar & Brasserie also viewed

Porthtowan, Cornwall
 
St Agnes, Cornwall
 

Been to Blue Beach Bar & Brasserie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing