We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wildlife at its best.”

Screech Owl Sanctuary
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: One of the largest collection of owls in the South west of England. We are a rescue and rehabilitation sanctuary with over 120 owls of some 40 different species.
Reviewed July 8, 2017

The Screech Owl Sanctuary has been part of the local landscape for a long time. Although tucked away it is situated close to the main A30 road. The sanctuary is a beacon for the conservation and rescue of birds of prey. The displays are both entertaining and informative and staff helpful and knowledgeable.

Thank guyantodd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolyn S, Manager at Screech Owl Sanctuary, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2017

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review for us. We are in our 27th year and delighted our visitors understand our ongoing conservation work that we do here at the sanctuary. Our owl hospital is vital for us to continue our work with the wild injured owls that are brought in to us and many releases can be seen on our website or face book pages. We are delighted you enjoyed our flying displays and found our staff helpful and looked after you during your visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,095)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"flying display"
in 185 reviews
"pygmy goats"
in 37 reviews
"close encounter"
in 27 reviews
"play area"
in 60 reviews
"animal encounters"
in 23 reviews
"beautiful birds"
in 28 reviews
"tea room"
in 49 reviews
"different species"
in 23 reviews
"the barn"
in 27 reviews
"few hours"
in 49 reviews
"animal lovers"
in 11 reviews
"informative staff"
in 13 reviews
"cafe on site"
in 12 reviews
"great place to visit"
in 27 reviews
"great afternoon"
in 16 reviews
"birds of prey"
in 24 reviews
"cream tea"
in 25 reviews
Filter

253 - 257 of 1,095 reviews

Reviewed July 4, 2017

We won some tickets in a local tombola. Im so glad we did as we were very impressed. Slightly off the beaten track but worth it. The lady on the front desk was very helpful and friendly. I am a great believer in first impressions. We went on in and were very impressed at the cleanliness of the park. No litter, grass areas very well kept. The grand-children loved the animals, owls, meerkats, raccons etc. The staff are so knowledgeable and friendly, which is always nice to see We had lunch in the cafe, which was very reasonably priced and good portions. The kids loved the play park (specially the trampolines). We watched the owl flying display, the second owl (the older one) was very temperamental and would fly to children when they had the glove but chose to ignore the handler some of the time which the children found highly amusing! All in all, a great day out.

Thank simoncole1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolyn S, Manager at Screech Owl Sanctuary, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2017

Thanks Simon for taking the time to write a review, we are thrilled you enjoyed your tombola win and had such a great time with us. We cater for all ages and abilities here and it is so nice to get feedback like this as it makes all our hard work worth it. Please like our Face Book page to get all the latest updates and special days we have here at the sanctuary.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2017

Took two of our granddaughters here for the afternoon. Never been before even though I've lived in the County for years. Could not believe how many different types of owls there were and found the staff very knowledgeable about the animals. Not just about owls, my granddaughters were highly entertained by the Emus, Goats and Meerkats and my wife wanted to take one of the Alpacas home.

Facilities to eat and drink as well as a children's play area. It is exciting and unusual but not risky. A well worth day out.

Thank TimaruTim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolyn S, Manager at Screech Owl Sanctuary, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2017

Thank you very much for writing a review for us and we are so pleased you came along for a visit. Your granddaughters were fascinated by the animals and got up close during one of our animal encounters. Please do not leave it so long to come and visit again as I am sure you will enjoy it just as much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2017

Has a lovely day here with the family, 4th visit down to Cornwall and never got round to going before.

I asked at reception if my daughter (6) could do the Raccoon experience with me. The Gentleman spoke to the manager who said although she was a little young they were happy to accommodate us as she seemed (and is!) sensible. We had an amazing time with the Raccoons, which we are now huge fans of!

Nice little park and cafe, friendly staff and great variety of birds, even if Owls aren't "your thing" you will have a blast here. Worth noting you will get to touch and be hands on with Birds within your ticket price, something that usually costs extra.

Well done Screech and Thank you for a lovely day.

P.S there is a very friendly Chaffinch by the Cafe who will gladly take any crumbs you may have so if you visit save the little fella a crust!

Thank Steve G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolyn S, Manager at Screech Owl Sanctuary, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2017

Thank you Steve for coming along and seeing what we are about and that we lived up to your expectations. Your daughter was very sensible when taking part in a Raccoon experience and was enjoying every minute she was with them. We hope you will return and see us again now you know where we are.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed July 3, 2017 via mobile

We visited on a typical dreary British day in June. But the beautiful birds lifted our spirits!
We took our 20 month old son who was in ore of the owls. The friendly white snowy owl was his favourite, he chats away and we got very close to him!
There is a little outdoor play area which was good fun and we partially enjoyed feeding the friendly goats. They were jumping around and followed us around the edge of the field.
I thought it was good value for money and the fact you can return anytime within a week is really great.

Thank abzee269
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolyn S, Manager at Screech Owl Sanctuary, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2017

Thank you for your visit and for taking the time to write us a review. We hope your son loved all the variety of owls we have here and our 2 pygmy goats are always a favourite with visitors. We call them our naughty goats as they are always up to no good when people are around and you also have the chance to use the return pass within the 7 days of purchase. We look forward to seeing you all in the near future so you can check up on our naughty goats again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Screech Owl Sanctuary also viewed

 

Been to Screech Owl Sanctuary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing