We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely amazing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Retallack Resort and Spa
Reviewed June 25, 2013

We had a beautiful one bedroom apartment overlooking the lake. We didn't use the facilities on site that much (like the pool or Florider) but my wife did have some a treatments and found them to be great. We also had a meal in the restaurant and that was lovely as well (if not a very limited menu). My only issues with the site are little things...for instance......it's not a cheap place to stay and that I've got no problem with. But having to pay for Internet use after paying so much for the site?

Also make sure that you check your check in and out times with whoever you book with and with the hotel. Our times apparently "weren't correct" when we arrived. All over our paperwork 2pm was mentioned as our check in time. When we got there we were told 4pm...and the staff made no real effort to try and fix this. The same happened on exit. I checked with reception and was told 10am when our paperwork said 12pm. It's just a lack of communication somewhere but we clearly weren't the only ones having that problem. The staff again didn't really seem concerned about this.

Still. Everything aside this place is close to being fantastic...and I would happily return.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Andi F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmyJason2010, Guest Relations Manager at Retallack Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

Dear Guest. Thankyou very much for your review and we are delighted that you enjoyed your suite overlooking the lake and that your wife had great spa treatments too. We have taken on board the comments with regard check in/out times and have made sure our communication will run smoothly throughout the resort and apologise for the misunderstandings we had with this. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,060)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

836 - 842 of 1,060 reviews

Reviewed June 24, 2013

The accommodation was great as always, however the fantastic bar and food of last year has gone, replaced with an al a carte dining experience with rude staff and no children's menu available, my daughter went on the flow-rider on our second day, went to watch her from the bar in the restaurant, despite having purchased drinks we were informed that unless we booked a table we could not watch from there and would have to go outside, we will not be returning!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank kerry f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmyJason2010, Guest Relations Manager at Retallack Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

Dear Guest. Thankyou for your review from your stay at Retallack Resort and of course we are delighted you were pleased with your lodge but sorry you didn't feel the restaurant was an improvement. The restaurant has been re designed and now called The Green Room and has head chef James Nathan (winner of Masterchef 2008) and offers special menus for children ( apart from the Thursday night Tasting Menu evening ) when we offer an early dinner menu and movie night for children so that adults/teens can enjoy time together.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Stayed in a 1 bed Fistral suite apartment overlooking the lake.

Checking in was easy but slight information overload - maybe a welcome leaflet explaining where things are would be best?

The apartment was lovely and clean with essentials provided. As we had read the apartment doesn't get serviced we knew to restock with loo rolls and to make our own bed etc. No problem for us at all. We headed into St Austell one of the days and bought dishwasher tabs from Poundland!

The apartment was very warm at times and difficult to cool down unless we opened the balcony door to let all the midges in and the front door to let the air through so maybe air con would be an improvement for the future. Again, not something that really bothered us. It's all part of being on holiday to us! Just like the morning chorus of smoke alarms as we contributed a couple of times with burnt bacon etc! Again just open all the doors and waft the towels by the alarms and they soon shut up :-)

Found the facilities on suite okay - used the swimming pool and gym a few times. Swimming pool was lovely and warm. Steam room was great.

My only moan - pushy housekeeping on the day of leaving. Came round just after ten (the one beds can check out at midday) and knocked on our window insisting they need to come in and clean. I sent them packing saying we weren't leaving till 12!

Will return here as we enjoyed our stay - the apartment was great inside and location was great for travelling all over Cornwall.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ClairolBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmyJason2010, Guest Relations Manager at Retallack Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

Dear Guest. Thankyou so much for your review after your stay in one of our suites overlooking the lake. We are delighted you found it to be very clean and well equipped and that you also enjoyed time to use the gym and swimming pool too. We have made sure that housekeeping are aware of check out times so that late check outs are left in peace. Apologies for this error on your departure morning. We hope to welcome you back very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Stayed for a week with family in an Eden lodge with hot tub.
The lodge was fantastic, spotlessly clean and very spacious with a lovely view over the ponds.
The outside deck was large and the tub was great .
The barbecue had seen better days and was dirty, I would not fancy anything cooked on it.
To be fair Retallack does ask people to use disposable barbecue trays on it, which I presume people just ignore. That said it should have been cleaned pre arrival.
The free broadband was very very slow, not what I would expect of a 5* establishment
As stated before there is no shop, this needs removing from web site
The pool and lounge area were lovely and the green room was fantastic and not overpriced for such quality food.
The children's play facilities were in general good, although the children's club was closed whilst we were there.
Another issue is where they are situated, up stairs and across lounge and down stairs again to soft play area....not ideal with pushchairs etc.
however despite the niggles we had a lovely week, retallack is ideally situated for exploring this part of Cornwall

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank suziebabe19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmyJason2010, Guest Relations Manager at Retallack Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

Dear Guest . Thankyou for your review and we are delighted you had such a wonderful week staying in your Eden lodge and that you found it to be spotlessly clean and enjoyed the views. We have increased cleaning checks pre arrival to make sure the bbqs are of good quality and clean for your arrival. Thankyou again and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

Just back from two weeks at Retallack.

Lodge - we stayed in an Eden lodge, with hot tub. On the whole, the lodge was well-equipped with most things that are needed for a self-catering stay. Some improvements would be welcome though - e.g one dishwasher tablet supplied, however no "rinse aid" or dishwasher salt, rendering the tablet pretty useless. We have no experience of "hard water" and it wasn't till later in the stay that we discovered we needed these additional cleaning agents. Beds, bedding etc were all of good quality.

Televisions - the TV setup is overly complicated and the instructions in the Guest Folder bear no resemblance to the TVs in the lodge. We had to call Reception twice to seek assistance - which came very quickly it should be said.

Cleanliness - internally the lodge was reasonably clean. Disappointingly however, the decking to the rear of the lodge was extremely dirty, as was the external furniture - some of which was damaged and in need of replacement. In addition, the external woodwork of the lodge was clearly in need of some freshening up - given the large number of lodges, this is probably like painting the Forth Rail Bridge, however for a 5* resort, I would expect the external areas to be clean at the start of our stay.

BBQ - in common with many other reviews, the BBQ at the lodge was extremely dirty, to the extent that we didn't use it. Again, for a 5* resort, I would expect more attention to be given to this.

Broadband - again, in common with some other reviews, free broadband was extremely slow and required a re-connection every 12 hours or so. We didn't pay for the faster service so can't comment on it. Mobile phone signals were patchy at best.

Hot tub - was well maintained and checked by resort staff every morning. There is a long list of "house rules" for the usage of the tub, which we had to sign off on when booking and again on checking in - appreciate that some parties may not use the tubs sensibly however the rather "heavy handed" approach is surprising for a 5* resort.

Reception / Pool / Spa / Flowrider etc - we found the Reception staff to be efficient but aloof - not at all welcoming or friendly. We used the pool - good changing facilities and a good pool. Didn't use the spa or flowrider. One thing to be aware of - they seem to charge extra for Leisure Passes and for Lodge keys, which charges should be refunded on return of these items on checkout.

Children's Activities - these were disappointing. No real details provided on what the resort provides for children, we were aware that there is a children's club in one of the lodges, however it appeared to be closed most of the time. There is an outdoor play area for older children - again with the mandatory long list of rules - we found this to be strewn with litter and generally in need of some TLC.

Dining / The Green Room / Bar etc - we ate twice in The Green Room, with the menu being the same both times. Standard of food and service was good, though the restaurant - which seems to double as a less formal café - lacks atmosphere. It would have been nice to have a new menu for our second visit, however there was enough to choose from - though I wouldn't choose the rib-eye steak again, it wasn't that great. There is a lounge area which seems a wasted space and broadly unused. The only bar seems to be in The Green Room.

On-site shop - contrary to the Retallack website, there is NO on-site shop - it was closed some time ago. This means that running out of anything will necessitate a trip to Wadebridge (6 miles) or Padstow (6 miles) - not ideal if you're out of loo paper!

Summary - we enjoyed our stay at Retallack and will probably seek to return again in the future. That said, we do feel that they need to give more attention to providing a "true" 5* service - such as ensuring the outdoor areas, BBQs, outdoor furniture are clean at the start of someone's stay. Childrens' activities need to be revamped and perhaps Retallack management would be better to focus on ensuring the resort meets needs of families rather than try to be "all things to all men" and cater for hen parties and the like.

Summary Scores (out of 10)

Lodge facilities - 8
Lodge Cleanliness - 4
Reception - 3
Pool - 8
The Green Room - 6
Childrens Activities - 3
Shop - 0

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank larryj2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmyJason2010, Guest Relations Manager at Retallack Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

Dear Guest . Thankyou for your review and comments. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and will return to visit us again. We have increased our external cleaning of deckings and furniture and hope you will notice the difference on your next visit. Our kids activities run to a full timetable during school holidays but we do offer certain activities for children out of these peak times too. we look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

We checked in for the weekend but would have checked out after 1 night if we could have. On arrival the room was average, the floor was filthy, the balcony covered in bird poop and our oven was broken and failed to heat up. They eventually swapped the oven out for a gas one, but the over sensitive smoke alarms made it impossible to even contemplate cooking anything at all. So instead we looked forward to a cooked breakfast in the morning...........but no, we found that the hob was broken too. We gave them 8 hours to fix it whilst we went out for my birthday lunch, but returned to it still broken. Along with the broken music system and the shower that seeped water all over the kitchen floor it was beyond disappointing !!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Emma D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmyJason2010, Guest Relations Manager at Retallack Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

Dear Guest. We are extremely sorry that you encountered faults within your suite at Retallack Resort and we have put in place far better procedures to make sure that we do not allow this to happen again. Our guest relations manager has contacted you since your trip and we do hope to welcome you again and show you that we are better than your experience this time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2013

We stayed as a group of 7 girls in June 2013. The staff were very friendly and happy to help with any request. The fistral lakeside house was perfect, well equipped, clean and the beds were really comfortable :-). We had champagne and canapés as part of our package and they were promptly delivered when arranged and tasted delicious. The only criticism with the house facilities was the BBQ had seen better days and needed a good clean :-(.

During our visit we did a private group session on the flow rider and it was fantastic!!! Dan the instructor was very patient and considerate to the more nervous members of our group which meant it was the highlight of our weekend. Well worth giving it a go

The Beauty treatments we had were great, very professional and relaxing ;-)

We enjoyed a visit to the Green room restaurant on our last evening, the food was very tasty although seemed a little expensive (1 course £17.50 or 2 courses £23) and not much menu flexibility for people with a smaller appetite.

Overall a great resort and VERY pleased I chose to have a relaxing fun hen weekend here they helped make it unforgettable. Thanks retallack!! We will defiantly find a reason to return!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmyJason2010, Guest Relations Manager at Retallack Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

Dear Guest
Thankyou very much for your review and we are so pleased you had such an enjoyable girls weekend away enjoying the flowrider and being pampered with spa treatments. I will pass on your kind comments of our team and we are delighted they made your stay so perfect. Retallack Resort is a perfect choice for girls weekends away when the group is looking for good fun activity sessions on the flow rider , pampering in the spa, delicious food in the restaurant and relaxing moments in the lodge. Many thanks for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Columb Major
9.1 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
8.5 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
6.4 mi away
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8 mi away
White House Newquay
White House Newquay
#4 of 37 in Newquay
129 reviews
6.6 mi away
Porth Lodge Hotel
Porth Lodge Hotel
#26 of 37 in Newquay
143 reviews
5.2 mi away
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Mawgan Porth
1,267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Retallack Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Retallack Resort and Spa

Address: Winnards Perch, St Columb Major TR9 6DE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Columb Major
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in St Columb Major
Price Range: $130 - $134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Retallack Resort and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled between the picturesque fishing village of Padstow, the idyllic shopping town of Wadebridge, and the British Surfing capital of Newquay, we provide the ideal location for any holiday agenda. Offering both Short Breaks and Weekly stays in our luxury 1, 2, 3, 4 and 6 bedroom Self-catering Lodges both family holidays and romantic getaways are just a click away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Retallack Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Retallack Hotel St Columb Major
Retallack Hotel Cornwall
Retallack Resort And Spa St Columb Major, Cornwall, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing