We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Top quality but with frustrations”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Retallack Resort and Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Caerphilly, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Top quality but with frustrations”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

Second visit, so we knew what to expect from the quality of accommodation, which is really good. Also lots of facilities on site, even though we didn't take advantage (we spent most of our time enjoying Padstow and the beautiful estuary walks. Staff are also very good. So here were our frustrations...

Firstly they don't actually have the right accommodation for us. We are a group of 4 couples so we wanted 4 double bedrooms with en suite for all. Our only option is the Polzeath, the downside being that it was semi detached and has a closed kitchen, whereas we wanted a nice open plan area, as the other designs do.

We arrived in the dark and was amazed by the huge potholes which isn't good enough really. Then it was too dark to see the house number and I had to turn on the torch on my phone to find the keyhole in the door. During which time my shoes were soaked from splashing through dirty puddles. Again this shouldn't happen, it wouldn't take much to sort this out.

We paid extra to have twin beds converted to doubles, but one room wasn't done. There were no instructions to operate anything. This was a real problem because we couldn't get the heating working during the day, so it was really cold. At night it was so cold that my wife had to sleep in a hoody. We also couldn't master the tumble dryer and as a result we had wet towels for the whole 3 days.

We tried to phone reception but the phones do not work, not from 206 anyway. Also there were bath robes in only 1 bedroom - should be all or none you would think. And we ran out of toilet roll, which I think is totally unacceptable for a 5 star.

Sorry I've focused on the negatives but there are several good reviews on here about the quality of resort and the good staff, which I agree with. But these niggles do deserve a mention. By the way I am still waiting for my £20 refund for the beds!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Sw240169
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmyJason2010, Guest Relations Manager at Retallack Resort and Spa, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear Guest. Thankyou for your review from your second visit to us at retallack resort. I am pleased that our on site Guest Relations Manager has been able to discuss your review with you personally and we do thankyou for your comments. Due to the busy summer we felt it necessary to leave the tarmac of the road to The Glades until the winter and this should be complete by christmas. I have sent a report to advise that lights must be left on for any guests arriving late especially in these winter months. We will also be looking into our lighting and numbering of our lodges in The Glades to give guests an easier first arrival to their property. I am sorry you were unable to contact us and only wish you had dropped in at reception so that we could turn your heating on and show you how to work your tumble dryer for you immediately. Your guide to the property was missing and we have now replaced this, so thankyou for these points and we are pleased we were able to discuss them with you and delighted that you will be returning again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

868 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    368
    302
    119
    43
    36
See reviews for
488
201
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
devon, uk
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in an immaculate very modern 6 bed lodge for my sisters hen weekend. We booked the hen package which included a BBQ pack, breakfast pack and spa treatments for £20 each. Lodge was fantastic could not fault this at all there were however a few things that ruined it a little...after paying £1000 for the lodge for three nights they tried to charge us £2.50 for a spare towel that we never had! Crazy considering the amount we paid, we were also handed a card each at the start to get into the spa but were not warned that if they went missing we would be charged £5 each, probably would have been more cautious if we new! The BBQ and breakfast packs consisted of cheap brands such as birds eye burgers etc not really what was expected from an almost Eco resort. Lastly the spa treatments we paid £20 each for 25 minutes were rushed as they were busy, my friend and I were in for 10 minutes! Then out! Disappointing really as I was just getting relaxed! Lodge was amazing, clean and beautiful service unfortunately needs improving.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MoopyMooMoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmyJason2010, Guest Relations Manager at Retallack Resort and Spa, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear guest. Thankyou very much for your review of retallack resort. We are delighted you enjoyed your weekend away in one of our 6 bedroom all ensuite 5* luxury lodges. I have made a report to reception to advise guests with regard the members cards but It is neccessary to do this as we are a members and guest resort only. Thankyou also for your feedback on the bbq and breakfast packs. We had tried to keep the cost of these as low as possible but will now offer differing levels of packs to suit all budgets so thankyou for this. Our treatments should be for the full time that guests have paid and booked for and for this we are sorry but please be assured we have made internal enquiries with regard this and would not expect this to be repeated. Thankyou again and we hope we can welcome back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherington
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

We booked a early half term week, in a 4 bed Polzeath lodge 202.
We absolutely loved this place. There are hundreds of local places, and we used it as a base to explore. We used the Flo rider on the Saturday and it was the highlight of the trip, although with 5 a little expensive. But we came away refreshed, and buzzing about next year. It was lovely to have ducks and geese beside the lake every morning. The secluded Polzeath lodges away by the lake suited our group, which included noisy teenagers. All the staff we met were really polite and helpful. They even showed us around a Polzeath 6 bed property, which looks like the one to save up for....Fabulous place, hard to find a fault, but I did rush to Tesco in Wadebridge for a really big pasta pan, eight people eat a lot of pasta, and the pans provided were all in use! Mind you we were playing Come dine with me, and showing off with complex cooking.... For most people there would be plenty of pots and pans! The beds were to die for, miss them now. The hot tub was serviced early every morning and was great.
Faultless experience, we are talking about not bothering to go abroad next year, just stay here!!

Room Tip: Polzeath lodges by lake are the really remote ones, if you want to be closer to the main reception...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynda E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmyJason2010, Guest Relations Manager at Retallack Resort and Spa, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear Guest. Thankyou so much for taking the time to write a review of retallack resort and we are delighted to read that you had such a great holiday, enjoyed the exhileration of the flow rider and the secluson of your Polzeath house in The Glades area over looking the lake and ducks. We do hope we can welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hingham
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

My mum lives in Cornwall England so we planned the trip to go visit her. We needed somewhere where she could come stay with us, entertainment for my two teenagers and for my 6 year old and toddler safe for my two year old. We also wanted it to be fully equipped and something to do if it rained. The Retallack Resort fit the bill! The accommodations were spotless, the beds very comfortable, we cooked every night and lacked for nothing in the kitchen, it rained a lot but we stayed entertained in the lodge in the most amazing heated pool we have ever been in,there was a spa, a sauna, pool table and video game area and simulated surfing for my teenagers. You have to rent towels for the pool, we thought that was a little different.

My mum fell In the night and the ambulance came to take her to the hospital (she was alright), the rettalack called us in the night to check on everything. We were very impressed with the staff. Honestly I can't rave about the place enough. The only thing that you might want to think about it is its off the beaten path a bit. We wished it had been walking distance to shops and especially the beach. You have to have a car to drive anywhere. The beach is about 20 minutes away. That is why I gave it 4 stars instead of 5. Gorgeous place.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Livingitdoingit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmyJason2010, Guest Relations Manager at Retallack Resort and Spa, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear Guest. Thankyou very much for taking the time to write a review of Retallack resort and we are delighted it suited your families requirements from Granny , teenagers, children and toddlers! We were of course concered about your Mother as our guest welfare is very important to us and very pleased she is fine now. You obviously had a wonderful family holiday and I hope we can welcome you all back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

Came with my friends that have been before and it beat the high expectations they had already given me for it. The wakeboarding park and flo rider were absolutely amazing and loved doing them both! The bar, resteraunt and pool are all lovely and clean and the staff are helpful! Hopefully back next year.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlotte S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmyJason2010, Guest Relations Manager at Retallack Resort and Spa, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear Guest. Many thanks for your review of Retallack Resort and we are so pleased to have beaten your expectations for your holiday and that you obviously had a wonderful time on The Flowrider and The Wake Board too. Thankyou and we hope to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

Just come back for the 2nd year and loved it. This year they added the wake board park which the family enjoyed a lot. Great location for getting to newquay for surfing
The pool area was clean and friendly staff in the bar. Will hopefully be going back next year.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hubz12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmyJason2010, Guest Relations Manager at Retallack Resort and Spa, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear Guest. Thankyou so much for your review and we are delighted that you had another great holiday at Retallack Resort and enjoyed our new facility ... The Wake Board! We hope we can welcome you back again soon and that we have new and exciting facilities for you then too.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

We are on only our second day of a week long stay at this resort and I felt compelled to write NOW about how fab it is. After we had booked, but before we arrived, we read a couple of negative reviews re this place and became nervous about our booking - THERE WAS NO NEED! Our accommodation is spotless - the housekeeping staff are meticulous, the Reception staff are faultlessly helpful, the food in the restaurant is delicious ( the Head Chef is a previous Masterchef winner), the Leisure Club facilities are excellent but the 'piece de resistance' is the 'Flowrider' - a surf simulator - and the wonderful staff who run it. For £25 per hour ( special offers often available) you have a professional instructor, a top quality wetsuit and board and the time of your life! Soooo exhilarating - our 7 1/2 year old said he had 'the best time of his life'. Harry and Sam are brilliant tutors - gentle, encouraging and very cool indeed - great role models too!

Don't listen to the naysayers! This place is great.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisikie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmyJason2010, Guest Relations Manager at Retallack Resort and Spa, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear Guest. Thankyou so much for taking the time during your holiday to make this wonderful review and we are so pleased that we beat your expectations and we will pass on your comments to all our housekeeping staff, reception staff, Harry and Sam at The Flowrider and to our new (masterchef winner) chef in our new look restaurant . We do hope to welcome you back very soon. Many thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Columb Major
5.2 mi away
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Mawgan Porth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,119 reviews
8.5 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
9.1 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa
7.6 mi away
St. Moritz Hotel
St. Moritz Hotel
#1 of 4 in Wadebridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 907 reviews
10.3 mi away
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Retallack Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Retallack Resort and Spa

Property: Retallack Resort and Spa
Address: Winnards Perch, St Columb Major TR9 6DE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Columb Major
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in St Columb Major
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Retallack Resort and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled between the picturesque fishing village of Padstow, the idyllic shopping town of Wadebridge, and the British Surfing capital of Newquay, we provide the ideal location for any holiday agenda. Offering both Short Breaks and Weekly stays in our luxury 1, 2, 3, 4 and 6 bedroom Self-catering Lodges both family holidays and romantic getaways are just a click away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, LateRooms and HotelQuickly so you can book your Retallack Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Retallack Hotel St Columb Major
Retallack Hotel Cornwall
Retallack Resort And Spa St Columb Major, Cornwall, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing