We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Retallack Resort and Spa
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Family getaway”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Have just returned from a family break at Retallack. Having stayed here before we knew what to expect and although the drive up to the entrance needs improving the actual facilities and lodges are great. The staff that greet you when you arrive are very friendly although if you have any problems they will direct you to guest services which is actually one of the lodges. We used the restaurant once and there was a good selection on the specials board, the main menu was also good with burgers, pasta etc.. There is a very small play area in the restaurant to keep young children entertained and they were also given crayons and paper when we arrived. Overall this is a good place to stay when visiting Cornwall we have also booked again for next year. The only advice I would give is when booking online do phone and check that the lodge you book does have all the facilities that it shows on the floor plan. We were travelling with both sets of parents and booked the four bed Eden Style which on the plan had two en suites on the first floor. When we arrived it only had one bathroom upstairs which they all had to share. When I went to guest services they said that some of the properties didn't have all the facilities it showed online. (It may have been my fault that I overlooked this so just don't want anyone else making the same mistake).

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HailBop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmyJason2010, Guest Relations Manager at Retallack Resort and Spa, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Dear Guest. many thanks for your great review of our resort and it obviously was a wonderful family holiday for you all. We are so pleased that you had such a lovely time in February that you came again for a return holiday. We are sorry that The Eden you booked didnt have the ensuite downstairs and we will use your comment and put floor plans of each type on our new website ( due soon!) so not to have the problem again in the future as we want to make sure our guests are delighted with the lodge that they book. We doo hope we will be able to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

938 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    396
    325
    132
    47
    38
See reviews for
534
218
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
wolverhampton
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in the 6 bed Polzeath lodge and part of a large family short break. We were extremely impressed with our lodge however we found the resort lacking any 5* facilities. The changing rooms at the pool were very small, and quite dirty. My partner felt the mens changing room was the worst he had ever used. The steam room was not working correctly and just smelt of damp and the sauna is very small. We didnt use the pool as it was too cold. The on-site resturant is more of a fast food type cafe and the bar was also very small. Some members of our party cut short the trip by a couple of days as they were fed up, and the reception staff didn't even ask why they were checking out 2 days early, they were only concerned with charging our party £15 for a couple of our gym passes which had been left in the lodge. We found this quite petty when you're spending over a thousand pounds, and we wouldnt call it 5* service. Overall, couldn't fault the lodge but would not return due to the lack lustre resort.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissa1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmyJason2010, Guest Relations Manager at Retallack Resort and Spa, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Dear Guest. We thankyou for your review and very pleased you enjoyed all that your 5* 6 bedroom lodge offered. I have looked into the steam room issue and it must have failed that day(??) as is working perfectly now and is a Strong peppermint aroma steam room. The pool is kept at 29 degrees as we run classes , and lane swimming but this is also deemed a warm enough temperature for small chldren too, however I am sorry if you found it a little too cold. We are pleased to say that we have a new chef ( Master chef winner) in our restaurant from next week and we will be giving the restaurant a new look too! We thank you again and pleased you enjoyed your stay in your lodge .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012

We stayed in a 2 bedroom lodge in the first week of the school holidays. The lodge was nice and clean and the beds were very nice.
The pool and changing rooms were very nice and also clean. A shame you cannot access outside space from the pool. Sun loungers indoors aren't much fun and pretty pointless and you have to get dressed, go up through reception and through the bar to access outside space. If you want to swim again you have to go through the whole rigmarol again with the added bonus of a soggy swimming costume.
When my husband took our daughter swimming, because she was not issued with a leisure card by reception (apparently children do not get one) he was asked to leave his watch as a deposit for a locker key! Despite having left a £250.00 security deposit at reception on arrival.

The potholes were shocking and I hope being addressed.

By far the most disappointing thing though was the lack of care from the management. My daughter who is 8 cut her foot quite badly on a carpet tack on the stairs which was sticking out through the carpet. Although the maintenance came and dealt with it, there was no follow up from the management despite this being an injured child. Even more infuriating was on reading the visitors book for our lodge a couple of days later, this had happened to another guest but had not been rectified.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mollysmummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmyJason2010, Guest Relations Manager at Retallack Resort and Spa, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Dear Guest. We thank you for your review and so pleased you had a very enjoyable holiday at Retallack Resort and your lodge. We are so sorry to hear your daughter had cut her foot and we just wish the guest before had told us personnally rather than writting it in the book as it was obviously missed by housekeeping. Our apologies again and we will make sure that we do all we can to make sure this doesnt happen again. I do hope we can welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012

We have just got back from this resort a day earlier than planned. When we arrived we thought the location was nice, lots of pleasant views.
Our accommodation was very shabby, holes in walls, marks to the paintwork, the floor in the kitchen creaked incredibly loudly, cobwebs everywhere, there was also a lot of severe damp, the shower was really ineffective, hardly any pressure. And to top things of the baby changing mat that was supplied had feces on it. Not really very child friendly, our little boy slipped flat on his face on the slippery decking outside our lodge.
The second day we went to the resort bar, the bar staff were very friendly as were all the staff on the resort. We happened to start talking to the resort director, a guy called Jason???? We explained our issues, he told us the lodge we were in was due to be refurbished after we had left, well thats good isn't it!! He also said he would get the shower sorted out. He didn't. When we realised he wasn't going to do anything we complained to reception. They sent an engineer around the following morning. He turned up just as I was getting out of the bathroom, my wife asked him to wait for literally 2 minutes, he wouldn't wait, he went saying he would be back. Well no surprises that he didn't come back. Eventually we had a couple of guys come around and they couldn't fix the problem.
The reception staff were very friendly and smiley and seemed to say sorry a lot.
We also noticed that the previous occupants completed customer satisfaction survey was still in our room. That in it's self says an awful lot.

We feel that to advertise this resort as 5 star is incredibly inaccurate and misleading, if you are saying you are 5 star you are saying you are the best and have massive attention to detail. Because of the shabbiness, lack of attention to detail I would say at a push probably a big push. this resort is at most 4 star. Had we known this, we certainly would not have come here. Hence us leaving a day earlier.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PTB5710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zwijndrecht
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

We spent two weeks here in July. Family of 5 (children aged 7, 7 & 10) plus grandparents. Accommodation (house 16) was spacious and comfortable - problems with the washer/dryer (i hope it has since been replaced) and a non-stick frying pan which wasn't non-stick. Weather was not too great in the first week, so made use of the swimming pool, which kids enjoyed; 2nd week was glorious so spent most of the time at Fistral Beach.
Main attraction was of course the Flowrider - kids loved it - and the European qualifying championships was also fun to watch. Flowrider staff excellent; though a significant multibuy, family discount would help the bank account.
Only used the restaurant once; food was fine in a relaxed atmosphere.
Tesco's 15 minute drive away.
Evenings/nights very quiet and peaceful.

The tennis courts are a bit open to the elements so can be a bit too windy. The pitch and putt is not for people expecting Augusta.

We would definitely go again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PeterButler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmyJason2010, Guest Relations Manager at Retallack Resort and Spa, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Dear Guest. Thankyou very much for taking the time to write a review of Retallack Resort and we are delighted that you had what sounds like a wonderful family holiday and enjoyed all of the fantastic facilities including the flowrider and even managed to see the European Championships Qualifer whilst you were staying. We have introduced flow riding kids sessions within the kids club timetable which are less expensive and great fun for the kids to meet new friends whilst on holiday too.
Many thanks and we very much look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012

We made a last minute booking for 3 nights last week and we weren't disappointed for the price we paid. The apartment was like a home from home but so much better as it overlooked the lake.
The kitchen was well equipped (although could do with Salt & Pepper) and the bed was extremely comfy. Gorgeous bathroom too.

Overall the leisure facilities were good.
We booked wake boarding which was a short walk from the apartment and was loads of fun.
We also used the tennis courts which were fine. Perhaps £2.50 for equipment hire was a little too much.
Loved the pool and sauna. The gym was fine although a tad small.
We tried the Pitch & Putt but it wasn't in good condition and there were no signs so gave up after 5 mins.
Joined in an exercise class which was good but a little cramped with 10 people in a small studio.

Our main problems were with the lack of free wifi and there being no easy way to walk from the apartment to the reception and health club as there are no paths. Also our apartment was North facing so we hardly saw the sun. Plus we can also agree with other reviewers about lack of tissues, a few cobwebs and spiders and the uninterested staff at checkout.

Saying all that we would recommend Retallack to other people and we would come back again. It's in a great location, so easy to get to Padstow, and is in a peaceful location. There were just a few little things that need improving to truly make it a 5* resort.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maggiefloater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmyJason2010, Guest Relations Manager at Retallack Resort and Spa, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Dear Guest. Thankyou so much for your review and taking the time to make it. You obviously had a wonderful break and enjoyed your luxurious Surf Suite and all the facilities Retallack has to offer. We thankyou for your feedback with regard wifi and we are very aware that we need to offer a better package for our guests on this and are working on it but the tariff is very expensive and it has to be covered . Some establishments add it to the cost of a holiday but we think a choice of whether to have it or not is beneficial to those not requiring it but we hope that we can resolve this in the interests of all our guests asap.
Thankyou again for all your feedback and recommending us and we hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Just got back from a week here - bit hacked off with paying £10 for the internet (standard internet ie not highspeed) and then when I checked in I called them for the passcode to connect to the internet thinking both my partner and I would be able to connect and then to our horror I found only I could use the code.

When I called reception I was told the £10 only covered 1 device and we would have to pay for another device to be connected I was then charged another £5 - bit strange since I was charged £10 when I made the booking prior to travelling there?!

Being a regular visitor to Cornwall and staying in self catering homes I think £15 additional charge for bog standard surfing the internet is a rather extortionate charge - particularly when paying £600 to stay there - this should absolutely be thrown in...faced with this and no phone receptions isn't what I'd call all mod cons.

We also had a television set which was on it's last legs - it had stickers on it telling customers to push the on button in gently, the guide wasn't working either...these are small things that can really impact your stay and these should be easily remedied.

I would also add a further note on cleanliness there were alot of spiders webs all around our lodge that looked as if they hadn't been touched in a fair few months. Given the busy-ness of the resort I can't understand why.

The spa facilities were great but a few notes about the gym; I think charging £5 for classes on top of what we had already paid to stay at the resort was a bit steep - these should be thrown in if customers are staying more than perhaps a couple of nights.

Furthermore, I do think the gym could be improved upon as the machines are great but customers should have easier access to the weights; which doesn't involve trekking to reception and asking if weights can be borrowed and then dragging these back to the gym (these also have to be returned by customers and cannot be left in the gym) - bearing in mind weights can only be accessed if there are no classes running in the room where this equipment is kept.

These are all things which I found to be extra hassle and unnecessary - I didn't want to spend my precious week off complaining and I think these issues could be easily remedied.

We were also faced with a power cut which affected all the lodges and when I asked one of the managers (I believe Jason) I was simply faced with a shrug of the shoulders and told the generator wasn't working! After a cold shower and realising we weren't going to be cooking breakfast anytime soon we left the resort for a breakfast and lunch out!

All in all some positives and a few negatives - please do check your feedback!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank sparklehorsse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmyJason2010, Guest Relations Manager at Retallack Resort and Spa, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Dear Guest. Thankyou very much for taking the time to make a review and we are sorry you experienced a power cut which was for around 3 hours during your stay but unfortunately it was out of our control and though we tried to back our supply up with the use of a generator it didnt supply the whole resort and this is something we will be looking at and we do apologise. As you say the wifi charge is a lot but the reason you paid more when you booked online before your holiday is because the first device is £10 and then it is a reduced amount of £5 per device required after this. We have taken on board our guest feedback and working on reducing this price for our guests and should have this cheaper option available very soon. I am sorry you experienced a substandard TV and only wish you had let us know at the time of your stay so that we could replace it for you but we thank you for this information and are having all TV's checked and replaced if necessary. Our gym , for health and safety purposes , cannot have the weights within it due to the clearance distance required and we therefore keep the space for machines. However we do take on board this feedback and will look into perhaps a different layout and perhaps adding a cable machine instead of the fixed resistance. Our studio is well equipped with the weights and have found that on the whole our guests are happy with the split areas for cardio vascular excercise and resistance training but we will look into improving on this. We do hope we can welcome you back again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Columb Major
5.2 mi away
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Mawgan Porth
1,188 reviews
6.4 mi away
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa
9.1 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
10.3 mi away
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
14.8 mi away
The Fowey Hotel
The Fowey Hotel
#3 of 3 in Fowey
1,363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Retallack Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Retallack Resort and Spa

Property: Retallack Resort and Spa
Address: Winnards Perch, St Columb Major TR9 6DE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Columb Major
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in St Columb Major
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Retallack Resort and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled between the picturesque fishing village of Padstow, the idyllic shopping town of Wadebridge, and the British Surfing capital of Newquay, we provide the ideal location for any holiday agenda. Offering both Short Breaks and Weekly stays in our luxury 1, 2, 3, 4 and 6 bedroom Self-catering Lodges both family holidays and romantic getaways are just a click away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Retallack Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Retallack Hotel St Columb Major
Retallack Hotel Cornwall
Retallack Resort And Spa St Columb Major, Cornwall, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing