We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in East Lulworth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Durdle Door Holiday Park
Hebden Bridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Expensive”
Reviewed October 14, 2012 via mobile

We pitched our tourer on the fantastic sea view part of the site having arrived during the office lunch closure. We saw a very friendly member of staff who suggested we go and set up and return at 2 to pay. On returning we were told that there is a two dog limit on the site. We have three well behaved border collies but they made an exception and let us stay. Each dog was charged £3 per night. This added a whopping £18 per night to the bill meaning that two nights camping cost £50. I have no idea why places charge for dogs or impose an arbitrary limit on the number of dogs especially when they go onto charge £3 per dog!!?? We will not be back unless we loose a dog. Lots of noise from the statics too.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BZC1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    115
    51
    31
    25
See reviews for
140
125
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2012

I arranged a suprise trip for my husband to Lulworth, I had arranged to leave early morning, travelling from Hyde in Cheshire I estimated with stops a 6.5-7 hr journey hoping to arrive no later than 15:30hrs but due to car problems we did not arrive at the site until 23:45. I contacted reception to advise of our late arrival to be told, no worries we will wait for you. When we eventually arrived we were greeted by two really friendly gentlemen one of whom escorted us to our pitch - amazing. We spent 10 days at the site arriving 26.Sept 2012. It is a very well maintained site, very clean, shower block cleaned twice daily, as was the dish washing room and also the elson point. We stayed on the Abbeyfield touring pitch and yes, there is a slight slope but nothing that a couple of blocks couldn't sort. The staff all round are so friendly, nothing was too much trouble. We/I only had a couple of niggles but nothing that would warrent a low score as the staff would not have been able to do anything about them. The amount of rooks/crows talk about noisy :) which had a bit of an effect on our sleep, also the car and caravan got covered in pine needles so try to avoid this time of year :) :) visitors going to the beach cut through the field but we were advised due to safety on the road it was the best option, but still, it was a bit intrusive but hey, safety comes first. Great value excellent location, awesome views and walks we will, without a shadow of doubt be going back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LadyManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Level Contributor
316 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

We took our touring caravan to this beautiful spot, and were very impressed. Everything spotlessly clean, and excellent value all round. Harry's Bar does lovely, unpretentious food at exellent prices - we had take away fish and chips which were delicious, and only £5 each. The restaurant meals are only a bit more. Staff are friendly, and the scenery - between Durdle Door and Lulworth Cove is amazing. However - choose your pitch carefully, we thought it was lovely having a sea view on the top of the cliff(it was great to wake up and look out to sea), but the weather was very wild, and it blew our awning in, bending the poles. These pitches are also very sloping, and our poor caravan was right up on her haunches at the front, and her bottom resting on the ground at the back! We had a couple of very rocky nights - the staff were helpful and moved us down into the more sheltered premium pitches at no extra cost. We are looking forward to visiting again in hopefully calmer weather

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank trescomania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Just returned from a week on a touring pitch. The pitch was extremely sloping, so much so we could not put our awning up. No way would we have been able to move our caravan away from pitch without the caravan mover!

Location was excellent as we wanted to be between Bournemoutn and Weymouth.

I felt sorry for the people with tents as camping was amongst the dense trees and they never saw the sunshine. The toilet block was good but a long walk from most pitches.

The dirty water drain was block all week and was next to the drinking water tap - not ideal.

We thought it was expensive at £22 per night for a caravan and hook up in September. The facilities and pitch should have been much better for this price at this time of year. We will not be returning.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TouringLass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hook, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012 via mobile

We stayed on a serviced pitch for the weekend from fri sep 14th.

This holiday park is not commercialised, friendly, clean and has good facilities. Welcome in reception was good and staff are very friendly, knowledgable and helpful.

The food in Harry's is lovely with a varied menu and it's reasonably priced. We also used the takeaway - yummy pizzas!! Harry's diner is dog friendly (as is the whole park!) and dogs are welcome in the bar before six. We didn't join in the entertainment but family quizzes and discos ran at the weekend.

There is shop on site which sells all you might need at reasonable prices.

We loved it here and stayed with three kids and a puppy. Plenty of open space, clean showers / loos. We didn't have to queue to use the shower block at all and they are within easy reach of all pitches.

The best thing about this campsite is its stunning surroundings. We were two minute walk from beatiful sea views and the coastal path to durdle door beach is almost direct from the campsite. If I had to find anything negative to say, it would be that you have to keep your hand on the shower button whilst showering as it shuts off every five seconds!! Pretty perfect here and we will be going back.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank lcejeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2012

For exploring Lulworth Cove, Durdle Door and the surounding Dorset area you can't go wrong staying at this place, great beaches for swimming. Took a tent for the week with two boys aged 14 and 12 we decided to camp under the trees which has good access to the beach. What impressed us most was the clean shower block that never seem to be to busy and was cleaned twice a day, Plenty of hot water and lots of showers, i do wonder what some pleople who have left reviews want, this is a camp site if you want luxury get a hotel! The shop was well equipped. There is a bar which could do with an area just to sit and not eat food as all seating areas taken by families eating so could not just sit and watch the olympics on the TV. People seem to have an annoyance with the large crows waking them up early each morning, if you do not want country sounds and smells why go in a tent? Overall a great week with plenty to do, will be back again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MatUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rainham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2012

We stayed on this park for 2 nights camping with the family 30th/31st July and had a great time. Harry's is great for food and the camp shop is the most reasonable we have come across. The showers and toilets are very well maintained. We camped in the wooded area which was lovely and peaceful. Mind where you park the car though because the birds like to poo! It is very well situated for visiting the surrounding area. We just wanted a rest after Camp Bestival.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GillingamJill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Lulworth
8.1 mi away
Riviera Hotel
Riviera Hotel
#20 of 22 in Weymouth
1,009 reviews
5.9 mi away
Springfield Country Hotel
0.9 mi away
Limestone Hotel
Limestone Hotel
#1 of 2 in West Lulworth
442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
Best Western Weymouth Hotel Rembrandt
7.8 mi away
Mortons House Hotel
Mortons House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Corfe Castle
919 reviews
12.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Poole
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Durdle Door Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Durdle Door Holiday Park

Property: Durdle Door Holiday Park
Address: Lulworth Cove | Wareham, East Lulworth BH20 5PU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > East Lulworth
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in East Lulworth
Hotel Class:4 star — Durdle Door Holiday Park 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the dramatic world Heritage Jurassic Coast and surrounded by glorious rolling countryside, Durdle Door Holiday Park is in a unique location. Here you will find modern day amenities in an uncommercialised environment. Our camping and touring pitches are spacious, our holiday homes luxurious and our wooden camping pods - cosy. For walkers the South West Coast Path is here on the doorstep, for those who love the outdoors you're right there.Durdle Door has a total of 108 camping and touring pitches, some with uninterrupted sea views, 60 holiday homes for hire, a well stocked shop, laundrette, fully serviced pitches, modern toilet block, bar and restaurant. We look forward to seeing you at Durdle Door. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Durdle Door Holiday Park Hotel East Lulworth
Durdle Door Holiday Park East Lulworth, UK - England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing