We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding!”
Review of Rame Barton

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rame Barton
Ranked #1 of 1 Rame B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Everything said by the last review (Chris W) is echoed and agreed with whole heartedly! Rame Barton was exceptional and gave more than we had ever expected. My partner and I were attending a wedding at nearby Polhawn Fort and this was the perfect place within reach, just 10mins stroll away on foot. Karen and Paul are the two most loveliest people you could ever meet. We had originally booked the B&B but Karen so generously upgraded us to one of their self catering apartments (the Whitsand) which provided more than enough space for two! A wonderful room facing the front but you could still catch a glance of the sea to the left, a large double room made more comfortable by the luxurious bedding and decorated with period white vintage furniture. A twin bedroom also found use for the excess luggage! The lounge was perfect; large and roomy tastefully decorated throughout with lovely handcrafted ornaments and contemporary paintings. Comfortable snug sofas were an added bonus along with a good sized dining table. After exploring the nearby countryside and villages, the large separate bath/shower room provided a much need pampering with a hot bath; perfect end to any evening. The breakfast room was picture perfect, once again tastefully decorated with vintage and retro pieces to make you feel right at home. In addition to various choice of cereal, Karen also catered for any type of breakfast; full english, continental (freshly baked croissants), eggs on toast however you liked them and freshly laid that morning(!) to endless quantities of freshly brewed tea or coffee and delicious cold orange juice. Great on a warm sunny morning, with the option to have it on the veranda if so desired.

The villages of Kingsand-Cawsand were approximately 10-15mins walk away, there is only the one road from Rame Barton leading down to them so little chance of getting lost but great opportunity to take in the magnificent views. Both villages have plenty of choice for food and drink from several traditional pubs/catering inns to beach harbour cafes for the quintessential cornish cream tea!

We absolutely loved our stay, the only drawback our holiday there was too short! Thank you to Karen for your wonderful warm welcome and hospitality and to Paul whose pottery studio is worth a visit and whose knowledge of all things art and design was awe-inspiring!

We will definitely return one day and would encourage others seeking a peaceful getaway to a remote part of Cornwall with breathtaking views of the sea, to look for Rame Barton; it should be at the top of your list for places to stay!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Fateha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (219)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

131 - 137 of 219 reviews

Reviewed May 28, 2013

Friends of ours got married at nearby Palhawn Fort and we wanted to be nearby. We had a lovely week, much of it down to the hospitality of Karen and Paul who are a lovely couple. We were warmly greeted, tea, coffee, milk and cookies awaited us in our lovely flat, the Edgecumbe. They provided a travel cot for our baby daughter and a highchair for the room and the breakfast room. Breakfast was hearty and delicious (loved the warm fresh croissants) - the eggs couldn't have been more fresh. They came from the chickens in the garden! The kitchen area was suitable for adult and baby food preparations, although most of the cooking was done on the barbeque. We had lovely views from our room and the ensuite shower room was sufficient for our needs. Although if you are travelling with a baby, you may want to bring a baby bath.

Paul taught us a lesson in pottery making. He's an excellent teacher, and we are looking forward to receiving our bowls!

Couldn't recommend Rame Barton Farmhouse enough!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LRyberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2013

In a word - fantastic!

My wife and I stayed here for four nights to celebrate a significant birthday. We were made welcome from the outset by Karen and shown to a lovely room (the Cawsand) with a large ensuite bath/shower room, a sea view (looking to the left...) and what turned out to be a VERY comfortable king-size double bed. The property is a huge old farmhouse and a LOT of work has been done on converting it into a terrific place to stay.

Breakfasts were legendary, made with eggs laid by Karen's own chickens. Wow!!

Karen is a fount of knowledge of the area, which is gorgeous. This is a relatively little known part of Cornwall, but can provide everything you could possibly want. Great walks, golf courses, a beautiful local church, stunning views, stately homes and - possibly surprisingly - some brilliant places to eat. The Devonport Inn in Kingsand and The View above Whitsand Bay command special attention (see separate reviews).

Paul Cardew's pottery is well worth a visit, too.

All in all, massively recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2013

This is our second visit to Rame Barton, this time with a dog! The room was lovely, as before. We were welcomed warmly. Breakfast was wonderful, lovely full English and freshly baked croissants. I would gladly recommend this acommodation to anyone wanting a quiet break and lovely walks from the front door!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carron B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2013

We booked into the Rame Barton Farmhouse as we had a wedding nearby at the Fort. The farmhouse is a really lovely lovely place, the hosts were very welcoming and accommodating. We really enjoyed our stay, the food was great and the scenery was so picturesque. Definitely would recommend this place to family and friends.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Craig W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

We needed to find accommodation for a wedding close by and stumbled across the Rame Barton Farmhouse. Well...what an amazing surprise it was. I can honestly say it was one of the nicest places I have stayed. The whole farmhouse had an amazing boutiqe feel and the rooms were lovely and spacious with fantastic views.
Paul and Karen were absolutely brilliant hosts and looked after us so well. We couldn't recommend this place highly enough.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Josh D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2013

If you do nothing else in this area - go to Rame Barton house and have one of their fantastic cream teas! This will be your fantasy cream tea.....everything is perfect from the setting to the food to the beautiful house.
If the weather is nice they have a large and pretty garden which is south facing and sheltered from the wind.
If not, they have a large, warm room for your tea, which comes in pots and you eat your scones which are still warm from the oven on pretty antique china. There are also home made cakes on offer and top quality coffee and hot chocolate.
It's very child/ family friendly - but could be lovely for couples too.
And it's also a beautiful house.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ReedIT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rame
5.0 mi away
Whitsand Bay Hotel
Whitsand Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portwrinkle
622 reviews
18.8 mi away
The Fowey Hotel
The Fowey Hotel
#3 of 3 in Fowey
1,399 reviews
4.4 mi away
Invicta Hotel
Invicta Hotel
#3 of 21 in Plymouth
654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Best Western Duke Of Cornwall Hotel
4.3 mi away
The Grosvenor Plymouth
The Grosvenor Plymouth
#4 of 21 in Plymouth
790 reviews
4.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Plymouth
Crowne Plaza Plymouth
#16 of 21 in Plymouth
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rame Barton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rame Barton

Address: Rame PL10 1LG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Rame
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Rame
Price Range: $125 - $238 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rame Barton 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful house built in 1715, tastefully decorated, wonderful peaceful situation, near beaches and villages. Sea and countryside views. Plenty of free parking. Incredible hospitality with fabulous breakfasts ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Book Direct Rooms, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Rame Barton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing