We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Tent vacation possible” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of 4 Rivers Floating Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
4 Rivers Floating Lodge
Ranked #1 of 24 Koh Kong B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best Tent vacation possible”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2012

Everything about this lodge is beyond expectation. It is THE location in Cambodia that will win your heart. The 'tents' are a perfect hybrid of modest housing and having all amenities you will need to forget from where you came at the best possible location. The tranquility, view, air, water and nature are a unique experience that you will regret if you won't stay at least 3 nights for those on a rush. Besides this, each person of the team under the guidance of François LaMontagne does the utmost to make your stay memorable. Not so much by excelling in sophisticated 5* services à la Mandarin Oriental, but in authentic kindness and genuine friendliness. The attention of this young team to their guests and their humble attitude are a great blend that will make you enjoy this place. Although this is a remote location and you can't escape for lunch or dinner, prices for a full menu are below 20 USD pp and the quality served is outstanding. If you are looking for the ONE stop to do besides Angkor and off the beaten tracks, this is it. A unique experience! Congratulation Valentin and François. We will come back to this luxury Robinson Crusoe lodge.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UdoHamm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

542 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    406
    99
    24
    7
    6
See reviews for
77
329
25
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2012

We stayed two nights at the 4 Rivers Lodge over the New Year 2011/12.

We were looking for “nothing to do” for a few nights, having just spent 5 nights in Siem Ream and 2 nights in Phnom Penh, so this fitted our bill perfectly. We didn’t do any of the organised activities (apart from the 10 minute night time cruise to see the fireflies, which you MUST do), so we can’t comment on the excursions offered. However, our two days were spent chilling, reading, swimming, a little bit of “messing about on the water”, and not a lot else.

Over the New Year the Lodge was inclusive of all meals, so we can’t comment on prices as per other reviews. However, the quality of the food was excellent. Drinks were priced as per other 4/5 star hotels we stayed in.

Staff deserve a special mention – what lovely, friendly, smiling, helpful people. Nothing too much trouble, unobtrusive yet always at hand if needed.

The lodges are fine – it’s not a 5 star hotel, but it’s spacious, clean, well-equipped, and you can dive out of your bathroom into the river if you want! You can’t do that in many other places!

Each lodge has its own private deck area with sun-loungers and seating, and this is where we spent most of our time. We were located in the lodge nearest the communal areas, but weren’t interrupted by noise or movement of other guests.

A wonderful experience and one we would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2012

Stayed at 4rivers in October and had a great time ,staff were always going out of their way to ensure you had a great time ,the food was first class as was the rooms. Special mention must go to francois , vantay ,thyrim nem and wee . We love the people and the culture my favorite place in the world .
Please stop the dredging by China , Vietnam and Thailand
Shane and Debbie
Melbourne Australia

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deborah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2012

We traveled to Four Rivers as a family of five. I was concerned on a number of fronts, mainly that i was again trusting trip advisors' reviews as my only source of information to take this trip into the unknown. There is so much to say... but essentially... it is very remote, it is very very peaceful, it is very well run and it is so worth the effort of getting there. By email we organised to be picked up from Sihanoukville in a van and driven to the boat collection which is under a bridge on the Tatai river. Though the driver had very limited english, he was so nice and patient and we were impressed when he passed the phone to us and an english speaking employee of the 4 rivers lodge explained the ins and outs of our drive and how it would work. We were transfered by boat to the floating lodge and i was so so pleased to see it was what i expected... something extraordinary. Staff met us as we got off the boat and a cold towel and drink welcomed us and the efficient and delightful manager, Francios, explained the set up to us. The only negatives i had picked up on reading trip advisor were that some people felt it was a money trap, as you are so remote there is really no option of popping out for a cheap dinner. Whilst it is true you have no options, it is ridiculous to expect the costs of food and drinks to be any more reasonable. With well trained attentive service and top quality food and drinks, the pricing was far more reasonable than i expected. A three course dinner menu that was quite amazing cost $US19 per head. if that is too expensive in your book - dont go. But if like us you recognize that this is incredibly good value, you will be very satisfied. The only issue that may be a problem for some is that there is no air-conditioning. I am a bit soft when it comes to heat, so i was worried, but in fact the cool refreshing water is a few steps from the room, and i had no problem being comfortable. The evenings were stunning. The outings are well planned and a total joy. Sitting under a fresh water waterfall was just the most awesome and awe inspiring thing to do. I felt quite overwhelmed with the purity and pleasure that I felt in this wonderful place. If you are lucky enough to do this trip... enjoy!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FPerman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lithuania
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2011

Traveling around Cambodia we have stayed in several hotels, but this place was really the best one. We could highly recommend “4 Rivers Floating Lodge” for other travellers. Relaxed atmosphere and the place, surrounded by the beautiful nature. Tent was very clean and good maintained with comfy bed and beautiful bathroom. Right from the terrace of the tent you can reach your “own pool” – the Tatai river. The strength in the river is not high, so you can relax, make some exercise in the water or take a kayak from the hotel to look around (near the hotel there is a small waterfall with very clear and very refreshing water reachable by kayak in 10-15 min). All the meals we had there were very delicious and nicely served. The service was perfect all the time from picking up, staying at hotel, going out for a day trips till leaving the hotel by ordered taxi. In spite of how many guests are in, the hotel team makes you feel like you are the one and only guest here. During our stay we have met Anna, she owns this hotel with her husband. She is so great – very friendly, always in good mood and caring of all the guests they have. What they are doing being away from all the facilities what other hotels built in towns have, is a huge and perfectly done job and a good value for money.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DLSea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2011

Very isolated place, beautiful scenery. Great staff and manager, Francois, who is very attentive. Do not miss the visit to a Khmer village in the region. remember it costs more than the room - the dinner is a set menu for 20$ and the daily activities, which you have to do if you do not want to sit in your tent all day, cost 10 to 30 $.

Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank bert061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2011

My girlfriend and I visited the floating eco-lodge for 2 nights and we found it wonderful. It was a bit of a splurge for us but we were celebrating a special occasion. The staff we're wonderful and Francois the manager is on site and also wonderful. The food was good and reasonably priced but lacked a bit of variety. The lodge was small and very personal which made us feel welcomed and cared for. Overall, this was one of the more unique experiences we have had while living in Cambodia.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bvmandell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Koh Kong hotels
12.2 mi away
99 Guesthouse
99 Guesthouse
#1 of 4 in Koh Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
0.0 mi away
Asian Koh Kong Hotel
Asian Koh Kong Hotel
#2 of 4 in Koh Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
3.6 mi away
Rainbow Lodge
Rainbow Lodge
#1 of 16 in Koh Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Ta Tai Resort & Marina
Ta Tai Resort & Marina
#5 of 24 in Koh Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
3.5 mi away
Neptune River Bungalows
Neptune River Bungalows
#2 of 16 in Koh Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
12.6 mi away
Koh Kong Bay Hotel
Koh Kong Bay Hotel
#16 of 24 in Koh Kong
3.0 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 4 Rivers Floating Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 4 Rivers Floating Lodge

Property: 4 Rivers Floating Lodge
Address: Koh Andet Island, Tatai Village, Koh Kong 09253, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Koh Kong Province > Koh Kong
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Koh Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — 4 Rivers Floating Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Like a rare butterfly, Cambodia has emerged from a troubled past to show off its beauty. Away from the tourist trail there is another country, a land of unspoilt virgin forest, rare orchids, startling colours and calls of birds of paradise, secretive jungle creatures and a perfumed air of peace and solitude.This ecological miracle deserves an environmentally friendly resort that captures the imagination while offering the luxury of a four-star boutique resort.Peaceful seclusion, privacy, luxury, exclusivity . . .Welcome to 4 Rivers Floating Lodge ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your 4 Rivers Floating Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Rivers Floating Hotel Koh Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing