We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely romantic”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
4 Rivers Floating Lodge
Ranked #1 of 25 Koh Kong B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 11, 2011

This is our first "glamping" trip and first to Cambodia. The mountainous drive from Phnom Penh to Koh Kong was breathtaking. The tent we stayed in was incredible and the staff was helpful whenever I had a question. The place was clean and you could always call for housekeeping. The floating luxurious tent rocks gently along the quiet river. It was indeed an amazingly blissful and unique experience.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lorinthian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (586)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

428 - 434 of 586 reviews

Reviewed July 5, 2011

One of the best holidays I have been on. The photos on the ecolodge website looked amazing - however it is only when you see it with your own eyes that you really appreciate the tranquility of the area and the plushness of the accommodation. We only stayed for two nights but wish we could have stayed on a couple more. The ecolodge took us away from our hectic lives and gave us time to catch up on some much needed R&R. All the staff were wonderful. Francoise anticipated our needs and Jani, out tour guide to the waterfalls, was fantastic and genuinely happy to show off his country. Our accommodation was beautiful, clean and comfortable. The wooden shower was a nice surprise! We will definitely be going back soon.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Glowy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2011

Very welcoming arrival and the tent rooms are a luxurious delight. An amazing setting which means a great transit experience from the "jetty" at Tatai.
The food and service were great and the opportunities for adventure are numerous. We didn't have the time to experience these but next time we will make time.
My only criticism, as a businessman, was the lack of wifi access in the rooms. Available in public areas but not in each room.

Room Tip: All the rooms are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SJConsulting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2011

We had several nights at the 4 Rivers and could have happily stayed for more, especially if it had been half the price which is all its worth in my view. The location is nice, but building this place to trash the enviroment and calling it a eco-resort is very misleading, we could not see any reason this was an eco-resort and it seems to be trying to muscle in on the eco-dollar by calling itself one, unless generators, speedboats, and allegedly helecopters somehow fit into your vision of ëco"!
That marketing stupidity aside however, the place was wonderful with some of the plushest tents I have seen in my life floating away, though be aware that being tents the noise travells rather too well, as demonstrated by the "amorous" couple in the next tent so efficiently!
If you ignore the Eco-bulls*#t then this is a adequate option.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank happycampers-2-4-78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapawlik, Owner at 4 Rivers Floating Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2011

The tents are truly amazing, with the safari inspired structure and fabrics, matched with the beautiful furniture. Agreeing on that fact, and considering that the whole resort is floating, only accessible by boat, and at an arm-length distance from the Cardamoms - a stunning location, with the true essence of exclusivity matched with a touch of luxury, i am appalled that you remarked we are overpriced.

Religiously checking the reviews posted on Trip advisor, for the purpose of enhancing the future guests' stay with us at 4Rivers, it is worth mentioning that several guests who stayed in April 2O11 posted great reviews about their experience at our floating lodge. Many of them are expats, who have chosen us as their retreat from the busy life in Phnom Penh.

Half of the year, we have salt water in the river, and another half we have fresh water, and with a very humid atmosphere, maintenance of everything at the resort, which are all floating, is extremely high. Moreover, consider the logistics part. During the high season, INCLUSIVE OF BREAKFAST AND BOAT TRANSFERS FOR CHECK IN AND CHECK OUT, our rate is at $159 for double occupancy. And 15% discount on the low season. I take this chance to remark on these things as there are many guests who find our price more than reasonable, surely after having some thought on the logistics and maintenance costs.

The speed boat was PARKED at the resort, for emergency reasons, in case there arises a need to quickly transport a guest or an employee to the nearest hospital. But we have replaced it with a newer boat that consumes less gasoline.
We are committed to doing a minimal number of boat transfers to preserve our surroundings, that is why we have only 2pm and 5pm check in times, and 8am and 12noon check out times.
Replacing the current generators with solar panels have already been planned.
We do not own choppers and we do not suggest using them to get to us. But those expensive helicopter rides were rented by some guests.

We work with the villagers here in Tatai to do the main part of our operations, from being guides on excursions, to renting their boats for our guests' transfers, to buying their fresh produce, all in our efforts to achieve sustainability and convert illegal hunters and loggers.

We fund projects in a school in Koh Sralau to attract the children to attend school and alleviate illiteracy in that community.

Being an icon here in the Kohkong region, the locals especially those in authority take pride in having 4Rivers Floating Lodge on the Tatai river - in their country, and this greatly helps in protecting this beautiful rainforest against illegal logging and mining...and hopefully, sand dredging.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2011

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at 4 Rivers. The "tent" rooms were exotic and very comfortably furnished and our own private deck area looking out over the river was great for relaxing and enjoying the sunsets in the evening. Francois and the staff were very friendly and always helpful. The day trip to the waterfall was fantastic and complimentary use of kayaks was great for little trips around the river. The menus for lunch and dinner offered several delicious choices in large portions. 4 Rivers is the perfect place to relax and enjoy much of Cambodia's natural beauty!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PaulGMcC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2011

We were looking for a relaxing place to spend a long weekend, and we found it. 4 Rivers Floating Lodge was just what we needed. Located on the Tatai River tidal estuary in Koh Kong, surrounded by teeming virgin jungle, it is glamour camping at its best. We pretty much spent our entire time lounging on the deck, reading, watching movies, swimming in the river and …. eating a lot. The food was good and plenty. We also did a little sunset kayaking around the island in whose lee the lodge is tucked, taking in the glorious vistas of river, foliage and sky, and very much enjoyed that part of the float. Francois the manager and his multilingual staff made us feel welcome upon arrival and were very attentive to our needs all the way around. The tent was spacious, well appointed and quite tidy, and the private deck was a nice, cool place to while away the worries of the big city. Sleeping was peaceful, as we drifted off to the mysterious calls of the wild things in the nearby jungle. Craig complained that there were no crocodiles or elephants, but then, crocodiles might have made the water sports a bit too exciting, and elephants would have been a strange sight indeed in what Crescent City alumni would instantly recognize as a bayou. Our only real disappointment was self-inflicted. We should have booked three nights instead of two, but … we will return!

Mychelle and Craig

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank myche_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2011

Just finished up a two day stay at 4-Rivers and want to provide an overall assessment of the experience.

Getting There
You have options. If money is no object, take the private taxi. If you want a more budget approach, you can get a bus from Phnom Penh for $8. Drop off at the 4th bridge of Koh Kong.

A boat from 4 Rivers will pick you up and you have a nice 20 minute ride to get used to the scenery.

Arrival
Greeted off the boat by the manager and a staff member (offering a cool towel and ice cold drink). Very classy. Sit with the manager for a few minutes and receive a nice orientation to the place and activities available.

Your Room
This is gourmet camping kind of so be prepared. The floating yurts are very nicely decorated and extremely comfortable...running water (cold AND hot!)...flush toilet...electricity...phone...TV with DVD player...but be prepared there is no AC. We did not have a problem as were expecting this. You get used to it. They are in the middle of nowhere and I would not expect it so it was ok. Use the fans at night and open the sides of the yurt and things cool off nicely.

The rooms are on a dock that floats and it does move so if you get seasick, be prepared. I do get very seasick but did not have a lot of problems and did ok while I was there.

Meals
Fabulous and plentiful amounts of local healthy food. Nice wine selection. Really enjoyed the fresh salads and being able to eat them without worry per health concerns as other places in Cambodia. Breakfast all you can eat and fixed menu prices for lunch/dinner very reasonable especially for the good portions.

Excursions
Nicely set up and good value for the time and meal included. We did the waterfall one and had a great time.

Overall
If you are looking for a 5-star hotel in New York City, this is NOT it. However, I do not think this hotel pretends to be a 5-star in NYC. Certainly that is not what we were looking for. Visit with the appropriate expectations and you will find the place charming and have a wonderful time. Bring with you a big-city, gotta have the best of everything right away attitude and you may not have as good a time. The choice is really up to you.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dgaudet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Koh Kong hotels
12.2 mi away
99 Guesthouse
99 Guesthouse
#1 of 3 in Koh Kong
155 reviews
0 mi away
Asian Koh Kong Hotel
Asian Koh Kong Hotel
#2 of 3 in Koh Kong
69 reviews
3.6 mi away
Rainbow Lodge
Rainbow Lodge
#1 of 21 in Koh Kong
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Ta Tai Resort & Marina
Ta Tai Resort & Marina
#3 of 25 in Koh Kong
25 reviews
12.6 mi away
Koh Kong City Hotel
Koh Kong City Hotel
#6 of 25 in Koh Kong
46 reviews
17.7 mi away
Koh Kong Resort
Koh Kong Resort
#3 of 3 in Koh Kong
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 4 Rivers Floating Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 4 Rivers Floating Lodge

Address: Koh Andet Island | Tatai Village, Koh Kong 09253, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Koh Kong Province > Koh Kong
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Koh Kong
Price Range: $218 - $289 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — 4 Rivers Floating Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Like a rare butterfly, Cambodia has emerged from a troubled past to show off its beauty. Away from the tourist trail there is another country, a land of unspoilt virgin forest, rare orchids, startling colours and calls of birds of paradise, secretive jungle creatures and a perfumed air of peace and solitude.This ecological miracle deserves an environmentally friendly resort that captures the imagination while offering the luxury of a four-star boutique resort.Peaceful seclusion, privacy, luxury, exclusivity . . .Welcome to 4 Rivers Floating Lodge ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your 4 Rivers Floating Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Rivers Floating Hotel Koh Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing