We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay”
Review of Koh Kong Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Koh Kong Resort
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Koh Kong
Reviewed November 22, 2013

We had a very good time at Koh Kong Resort: we enjoyed the great pool and nice beach. The staff is very friendly. They try to be helpful, but only a few speak english. Dollars and Baht are preferred to the Riel, since the Resort is a Casino. The rooms are great and were the cleanest we had in Cambodia. The food in the resort is very good and not expensive. The only disadvantage is the long way into the village: about 7km. Since the resort is a gambling place, they prefer their guests to stay...

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Regina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (44)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

15 - 21 of 44 reviews

Reviewed October 19, 2013

Just first time arrived Koh Kong for sight seeing in area for 1 night before ahead to Sihanoukville .
Hotel is with beautiful decoration together with casino and a duty free. It made me fall in love with Koh Kong. Food was good present as buffet in large area of the restaurant. Room is full facility except Wifi which I can find only at lobby not really convenient.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kris V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

The counter simply refuse to change US$ into Cambodian Riel, even a simple bank note of 1 US$. You can change in Thai Baht but reluctantly! The tax-free shop in the Hotel refuses to change a 100 US$ note into small currency. Clearly Thai owned and Thai managed with a disdain for everything else and with a Thai monopoly for Thai employees... Never anymore. I will look for more friendly service and less inappropriate Thai superiority feeling towards other nationalities.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Service
2  Thank jdezeure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2013

We stayed in Koh Kong for two nights/three days. The drive to Phnom Penh is about 5 hours. The hotel is within 300 yards of the Thai Border which is kind cool. The hotel seems to prefer Thai Baht rather than Cambodian Real or dollars. The beach was clean and peaceful. The room and furnishings were very good and the view from the 5th floor balcony was beautiful. The hotel is large with a number of tourist from Thailand. The hotel does not have internet except for at the coffee shop which was difficult if you want to stay connected. The restaurant was large, and reminded me of a big convention hall, with large tables for 10 - 12 people. The food was average, and the breakfast buffet which was part of the room rate was ok. Also very few people spoke English, most spoke only Khmer and some Thai. I would come back for the beach and the opportunity to be in the Cardoman Mountains.

Room Tip: Get a high room over looking the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank USAMagellan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Rooms very nice, garden view not as described and was disappointed that none of the seaview rooms are twin rooms. Hotel is well presented and a nice hotel nothing to wrong on the looks department. Staff are pleasant and very helpful.

What was striking was the stench of cigarettes when walking in the front door. This is a smoking palace. The gaming machine floor is to the right to the main entrance and this is all smoking. Smoking is allowed in the lobby also. It was so bad I was gagging at the stench. However once out of the lobby it was fine.

Room service menu is limited and over priced for what it is and the food is average. Room service was very unhelpful also, couldnt meet any request to deviate from the "set menu", such as grilled chicken instead of chicken hamburger. Breakfast was included in the room rate (which was expensive for the "garden" view ... consisting of a white wall and dried up grass), just awful selection of breakfast items and all cooked items were cold .... fired eggs were so cold they could have come straight from the freezer, when I asked for hot eggs the chef put my cold eggs back on the hot plate to heat them. Bacon was cold and very hard, sausages very cold also and tasteless. Only went to breakfast once and didnt bother the other days. Only one restaurant to eat at the other options during the day is the coffee shop (mostly cakes) or the small eatery in the gaming area which is fast Asian foods (noodles etc) ... be warned you risk lung cancer just trying to get there.

After 4:00 PM across the street the hotel has the BBQ area open up and this is open air dining. Good selection of food and this is place has great staff and is well run. Food is reasonably priced and worthwhile. Staff were very helpful. Only place I would recommend for this hotel worth eating at is the BBQ.

All said and done this hotel has nice rooms, good staff but it caters mostly for the border traveller interested in gambling which are mostly Thais going on short holidays. There are some sights to see a small beach attached to the hotel and a small village / town about 20 minutes away. Suggest better to head into Koh Kong Village itself to find a hotel and be closer to all the facilities and attractions.

Room Tip: Rooms inside the hotel are very nice, the ocean views are very nice and are all doubles. If you wan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MG22Bangkok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

This place near the border is full of punters of the nearby casino. The staff is quite unfriendly, if not hostile at all. If you are there for gaming, they are all smiles, if you are not they treat you like a peasant. No more. The nearby zoo is awful.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank NagaraVatta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Hotel grounds is nice. Beach is an awful grey, muddy color. The service is horrible! They didn't even clean the milk frothing container for the latte. That had dried up milk from the previous day. The staff seem very unhappy and waiting for guests to leave.

My niece called the day before to check on prices and was told $80 a night. She asked to make a reservation, but was told not necessary. After we arrived the price changed to $90 a night. When asked why we were just told the price changed.

My advice is to stay in a different hotel completely.

Friendly service common in Cambodia is absolutely absent here.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Koh Kong
5.4 mi away
99 Guesthouse
99 Guesthouse
#1 of 3 in Koh Kong
150 reviews
17.2 mi away
Mango Beach Resort
Mango Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in Khlong Yai
220 reviews
0.0 mi away
Long Set Resort
Long Set Resort
#2 of 3 in Koh Rong
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.5 mi away
Ta Tai Resort & Marina
Ta Tai Resort & Marina
#4 of 26 in Koh Kong
24 reviews
17.7 mi away
4 Rivers Floating Lodge
4 Rivers Floating Lodge
#1 of 26 in Koh Kong
579 reviews
0.0 mi away
Apex Koh Kong Resort
Apex Koh Kong Resort
#11 of 26 in Koh Kong
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Koh Kong Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koh Kong Resort

Address: Phum Cham Yeam, Khum Paklong Srok Mondoul Seyma, Koh Kong 09000, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Location: Cambodia > Koh Kong Province > Koh Kong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Koh Kong
Price Range: $101 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Koh Kong Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 500
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Koh Kong Resort in Cambodia. Srok Mondoul Seyma, Koh Kong, Kingdom of Cambodia. Reserve online now and get instant confirmation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Koh Kong Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Koh Kong Hotel Koh Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing