We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hospitality and food top class”
Review of La Confiance

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Confiance
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Our stay at La Confiance was absolutely brilliant. The hospitality received from Chris and Sue was second to none; the food was super. The local area is wonderful - unspoilt and plenty of places to visit within easy reach. A lovely garden and plenty of space to relax. Our room was extremely comfortable and has been refurbished sympathetically, so many original features but with modern facilities. We have not visited this area previously, although we have been to the Loire Valley before, and it is most certainly somewhere we would revisit. Thank you Chris and Sue for making our stay so memorable.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (73)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 73 reviews

Reviewed September 2, 2013

La Confiance is the perfect place to relax and get a taste of unspoilt France. The gite is a lovely rural location with plenty of natural country side to take advantage of; walks along the local tracks around the gite give beautiful views across fields with the hedgerows filled with various wild fruits for picking giving a true feeling of being away for the stresses and strains of town life - the local bakery van calling outside most mornings with supplies of fresh bread, coissants, pastries, eggs etc., how much more French if get - what more can anyone ask - perfect!!
All this but also not too far from many small towns to buy provisions from along with some lovely markets, chateaux's, Zoo, Lakes and many more activities. All of which Chris & Sue (the owners) where only too pleased and ready to advise us on assisting with directions and recommendations which is always of great value when you are in a Country and area unknown to you.
On top of this Chris & Sue were excellent hosts not only supply us with beautiful prepared food (Creme Brulee out of this world!!) and french wine but they were also truly friendly company - What can we say about the holiday - EXCELLENT!!! Thank you Sue & Chris

Room Tip: All rooms proved ideal
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

As a family of 6 (2 adults and 4 children), 3 weeks in a place we hadn't been to before and an area we'd not explored had some risk attached to it. It's great that this fear was misplaced. Great hosts in Sue and Chris, the gite was perfect with plenty of space in and outside. The kids made great use of the very large garden, including the swings and the badminton net. Plenty to do in the area if you are willing to drive and plenty of space to relax. Lakes with a beach and plenty of shade (kids loved it), Go-Karting, chateau, medieval towns, night light shows, great food (by Chris at the house too), Futuroscope (long day - get there early and stay for the night light show) ..... all round great.

Room Tip: Talk to Sue and Chris in advance and they will advise on best setup for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KMLarkin2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

I have just come back from an all too short 4 day break with Chris and Sue and can thoroughly recommend it to anyone wanting to see an unspoilt part of rural France. I came down with my brother for the wildlife and saw a great selection of birds and dragonflies.

The break was made even better by the way we were looked after and the food in particular was excellent.

Great location, great people, great food, we will be back.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnwats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Just returned from our second visit to stay with Chris & Sue- we enjoyed it so much last year we took 2 friends with us this year. Stayed 7 nights on a full board basis. Rooms very comfortable, food (& drink ) very enjoyable. They are really great hosts. In the 7 days we managed to see 129 species of birds without any great difficulty. Will be posting a trip report on their web site later.
If you want a very relaxing holiday with great birding and very good value for money this is the place to go - .

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

We stayed for four nights, for rest, sunshine, walking and birdwatching en route further south. La Confiance was a great place to stay on all accounts, with excellent recommendations from Chris and Sue for places to explore nearby or further afield. The room was comfortable, the food great and company engaging. We had lovely restful afternoons in the garden, and a nightingale singing at the corner. Great walks from the house. Thoroughly recommend for those passing through or for longer stays.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RuthMT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

This is a lovely rural location and Sue and Chris are welcoming, friendly and helpful hosts. The accommodation is very comfortable and conveniently situated for easy access the Brenne with its abundance of birds, butterflies and wild plants, if you enjoy wildlife this is for you. We stayed full board and the evening meals were something we looked forward to each day, different every day and always excellent, a real treat. A good breakfast and a packed lunch we were looked after so well. In all highly recommended would love to return. Gavin & Pat

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gavin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Confiance? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Confiance

Address: 7 Champ d_Oeuf, 36290 Azay-le-Ferron, France
Location: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Berry > Indre > Azay-le-Ferron
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Azay-le-Ferron
Price Range: $105 - $108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Confiance is a beautifully restored stone cottage in the Brenne Regional Parc a haven for birdwatchers and nature lovers where we offer bed, breakfast and optional dinner, all cooked by resident chef Chris. Or alternatively we offer self catering accommodation in 2 or 3 bedroom cottage. All bedrooms are en suite, and the cottage is sited in 2 acre of private garden. We are close to the new A28 motorway which runs from Northern to Southern France. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your La Confiance reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing