We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (74)
Filter reviews
74 results
Traveler rating
62
12
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
62
12
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat hostsup to datechrisgitechateauxdoorstep
Filter
Updating list...
30 - 35 of 74 reviews
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Thanks to Chris and Sue the start to our holiday couldn't have been better. We were running behind time but a quick phone call put us at ease. Arrive when you can we were told.
Dinner was superb and, though we were late it was all freshly prepared for us and Chris and Sue joingbus over coffee to bring us up to date, point out the places of interest and have a general chat really set us at ease and ready forms good nights sleep in a really comfortable room.
Breakfast was another shared affair and when we had done a little exploring our lunch was packed up for usnusing the local things that we had bought before we shared a final cup of coffee and set off on our travels.
Thanks so much. Be sure we'll see you both again
David and Alison

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alison A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Our family stayed with Chris and Sue whilst travellig down to the South of France. To be received with a great welcome and then presented with a lovely meal was just perfect. Both Chris and Sue were great hosts and the breakfast was by far the best we have had! We would definately stay with them again.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
Thank Jane O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

We had a lovely relaxing holiday here, but there was plenty to see and do. We stayed with our four children, aged from 5-15 (and they all shared the bigger L'Azay bedroom very comfortably for a fortnight)
Sue and Chris were wonderful hosts, as they had the perfect balance of friendliness and advice, without intruding on our relaxation. There were eggs, milk, bread, and some lovely home-made plum jam waiting for us on arrival (as well as a bottle of lovely red wine)
We had a mixture of lazy days in the garden on the sun loungers interspersed with a spot of badminton and days when we went further afield to explore.
Sue and Chris gave what may be described as the expected tourist advice, but then went further by suggesting things to amuse our range of ages and providing books/toys/games/videos in the gite. Sue even let me use her ipad to check out a few websites, and Chris was a dab hand at devising treasure hunts in the garden.
Our 15 year old daughter had her birthday while we were there and we had a fabulous barbecue cooked by Chris. They also decorated with bunting, gave her a card and Sue made the most amazing cake I have ever tasted!
We would definitely consider returning and maybe taking the third bedroom, as it would be perfect if a grandparent wanted to come along too.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
Thank Pamela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

We stayed here previously (see September 2010) and returned for a week (s/c) in June 2012, now with a very active toddler aged 3. This time, we let the train take the strain. Leaving Leeds at 06:15hrs, we arrived in Poitiers via London St Pancras and Lille Europe to pick up our hire car and were starting our fabulous home-cooked meal with black redstarts and hoopoes on the lawn by 7pm that evening - an 11 hr journey door to door of stress free travel. Nothing has changed in the intervening period. The garden remains idyllic and Niamh could use the two swings in the trees (which was according to her, the best bit) and mum and dad could relax(ish) in the garden.
Away from La Confiance, easy access to La Brenne NP, various rural French villages and a reasonable playground in Martizay (follow signs for the campervan/ RV campsite).

We'll definitely be back for a 3rd...4th...visit; with another baby/ toddler so just as well there are two swings in La Confiance's garden. And Chris is great at turning a tarpaulin sheet in to a toddler tent where "no adults are allowed!".

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Minsmere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2012

Our first visit to La Brenne and our 8 days at La Confiance will not be our last. In order to spend as much time as possible "in the field", we arranged to stay "full board", which consisted of a substantial breakfast, an excellent packed lunch, and a beautifully prepared and delicious evening meal. Special mention should be made of the evening meal, which is taken with Chris and Sue - two charming hosts who are very knowledgable of this magnificent wildlife area of France. You will find it very hard to see birds, flowers and butterflies at their best in such a compact area, and a stay at La Confiance will only add great pleasure to the experience. A big thank you to Chris and Sue for a very comfortable stay and for their great hospitality - we can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Xifa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews