We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Week!”
Review of La Maison d'Ulysse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
La Maison d'Ulysse
Ranked #1 of 2 Baron B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely Week!”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

This is a beautiful, enchanting boutique hotel! We stayed for a week in early June. The property exceeded our high expectations set from the positive reviews here and the stunning photos of the hotel. Gauthier and his team (shout out to Claire) went out of the way to make us feel welcome, even with our 18 month old son in tow. We stayed in Petite Prince, which has a private, fantastic terrace overlooking the pool. We appreciated the kitchenette that enabled us to prepare and feed our little guy before we set off for lunches and dinner ourselves. The pool is very nice and warm. The daily breakfast was wonderful as was the lovely Saturday night dinner prepared by Gauthier. The area has so much to offer. Armed with great suggestions from Gauthier and a car with a GPS, we toured the countryside and lovely hill towns. In no time, we felt like locals! We really enjoyed Saint Quentin Poterie, Vezenobres, Lussan, the Pont du Gard and, of course, Uzes. We used Maison d’Ulysse as our base and then also did an overnight trip to visit Isle Sur la Sorge for the flea market day followed by a great wine tour with Wine Uncovered of Chateauneuf du Pape and surrounding area. Some logistic tips we learned on the way: Upon arriving from Toronto to Paris, we took the train from the airport into Nimes because it had a shorter commute to Baron. However, many people subsequently recommended that we should have taken the train to Avignon as it is easier to get Uzes/Baron. Baron is a little speck of a town that is easy to miss (and wasn’t found by our GPS from Europcar). My husband recalled reading a review that spoke of the hotel being located near a clock tower in the center of town, which is literally a street with a few buildings. The hotel is not well marked from the road or on the front. However, with this tip, it was easy enough to find. We most definitely hope to return. Another tip: Though we enjoyed our trip with our young son, I don’t want to give the impression that the hotel caters to kids. Many guests were there without their children. So we were mindful not to take over the pool for the day or otherwise let our little guy run wild and take over the place. That said, everyone seemed fine that we had a toddler with us! On so many levels, this is a truly exceptional place that was one of the highlights of our vacation.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    337
    28
    8
    4
    2
See reviews for
63
264
7
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed June 13, 2013

La Maison d'Ulysse: beautiful, elegant, charming, peaceful. Gautier, the host, could not have been more friendly or helpful; armed with local information, leaflets and maps he is a font of knowledge for the local area. His suggestions for restaurants were excellent. The area has lots to do: Roman ruins, medieval towns, wine tasting, walking, beach, fine dining. A car is essential. Uzes, the nearest town, is beautiful.
We'd definitely go back!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hugo F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bale
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 31, 2012

We spent one week in la maison d'Ulysse in summer time and love to remember it, especially now with the cold and nasty weather in Switzerland. The breakfast was an event and we were spoiled by the owners. Everything, the bread, the cheese etc. was presented with love. The owners offer mainly local products. Sometimes in the evening they were cooking for us and the ambient was wonderful. Not only the rooms are very stylish, the guest house itself as well as the garden is from the architectural point of view upper class. All in all we highly recommend this guest house to everyone who looks for the right mixture of privacy and contact, silence - retreat and cultural happenings.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucette O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

La Maison is a perfect place for traveling in the south of France. Located near Uzes, Nimes and Ales, the old house has been carefully restored with all moderns facilities without touching its flavor. All rooms are different and I found very romantic place for lost yourself and go deep into the Provence. One tip; you should travel by car, and stay more than 2 nights there. The owners are very passion about their hotel, and careful look after the comfort of their clients. Every detail is in place, from the decoration of the room to the selected local product displayed on the breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ter736
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Paradise in the South of France. Guy and Gauthier are the perfect hosts making it a very welcoming stay. Gauthier has a particularly wicked sense of humour and kept us amused throughout our stay. We stayed 9 nights in late September 2012 and would not hesitate to recommend it to others. The rooms have been created with much care and attention to detail but remain simple and stylish. The restoration of the property has been done sympathetically and is beautiful. The pool being an added bonus where you can relax with the sweet smell of lavender that surrounds the pool.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KMM2209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2012

La Maison d'Ulysse is a true gem. It is beautifully designed and lovingly cared for by the fantastic owners, who work hard to make your stay super special.

The food is also amazing - from the locally sourced breakfasts in the courtyard to the candle-lit suppers in the evenings (table d'hotel)

Staying with Guy and Gautier is an absolute treat - thanks to them for such a superb stay, we cannot wait to return!

Room Tip: All rooms are beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheLittleOnion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2012

If you are an Architect/Design Professional, Francophile, History Nut and/or Foodie, put Maison d'Ulysse on your Bucket List. And even if you aren't any of these things, you really need to see this place. It's stunningly beautiful. The service is top-notch, and Gautier's food stylings are out of this world.

While the rooms and environment are perfectly suited for a couples' escape (10/10 on the romance scale), it worked nicely for our family trip, which was based around Roman history. The Pont-du-Gard is close by, as are Arles, Nimes, Orange, Vaison-la-Romain, etc. The history of Maison d'Ulysse itself was fascinating, and Guy was kind enough to take us on an extensive tour of the gardens and the house.

Design professionals - please don't miss this place. Guy and Gauthier did an amazing remodel. Fabulous details, eclectic designs -- each room has its own distinct character. A showcase of reclaimed/repurposed materials. Creativity in action.

My only caveat would be to get good directions before coming. It's a little off the main road (which is a good thing), so it can be a tricky to find. Guy can guide you in, though, so just ask.

Enjoy!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lisa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Baron
7.3 mi away
Hotel Entraigues
Hotel Entraigues
#1 of 12 in Uzes
299 reviews
5.6 mi away
Chateau d'Arpaillargues
Chateau d'Arpaillargues
#1 of 1 in Arpaillargues
375 reviews
7.3 mi away
La Maison d'Uzes
La Maison d'Uzes
#4 of 12 in Uzes
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Best Western Uzes Pont Du Gard
14.5 mi away
Le Vieux Castillon
Le Vieux Castillon
#1 of 2 in Castillon-du-Gard
243 reviews
7.5 mi away
Chambres de l'Artemise
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Maison d'Ulysse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Maison d'Ulysse

Property: La Maison d'Ulysse
Address: 20 Place Ulysse Dumas, 30700 Baron, Uzes, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Occitanie > Gard > Uzes > Baron
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Baron
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — La Maison d'Ulysse 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your stay in the South of France, just a stone's throw from Uzes and Pont du Gard... Guy and Gauthier welcome you to the Maison d'Ulysse, located between Avignon and Nimes, at the crossroads between Provence, Languedoc and the Cevennes. This prestige boutique hotel is a real haven of peace, immersing you in a natural, restful setting. A perfect spot for recharging your batteries, in the middle of the garrigue scrubland, between the sea and the region's numerous tourist attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your La Maison d'Ulysse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing