We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Horsetrails

Friendly operators,call prior. Horses well looked after, beautiful surrounds. Caters to all levels... read more

Reviewed December 1, 2018
Elfin10e
My daughter's favourite part of our NZ trip!

My daughter is horse mad and was so thrilled to do a 1.5 hours trail ride. Tessa was so... read more

Reviewed October 7, 2018
Merran T
Read all 41 reviews
  
Reviews (41)
Filter reviews
41 results
Traveler rating
37
2
1
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
37
2
1
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wonderful ride horse trek experienced riders amazing experience wonderful horses beginners farmland bush instructions scenery track nz
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 41 reviews
Reviewed April 3, 2018 via mobile

Took my son aged 9 on a morning ride. It impressed him very much. Wonderful horses, a lovely hour ride. Great views!

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank Jo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tessa111Whitianga, Owner at Rangihau Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2018

It was a pleasure to have you both here and be able to share our small part of the world with you. Thanks for coming

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2018

A lovely, winding ride into the steep hills above Coroglen. Some steep sections which beginners may find intimidating, but the wonderful horses know their way well and will keep you safe, as will the terrific guides. Our experienced 10-year-old daughter was given a horse with more spirit (I had a lovely plodder, to suit my ability!), and she even got a bit of a canter and a jump in, which she loved. A place full of horse-love. Highly recommended.

Date of experience: January 2018
Thank Andrew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tessa111Whitianga, Owner at Rangihau Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2018

Thanks for coming and I'm glad that you had a good time with us. All the best for the rest of your holiday

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2018

We had a wonderful morning riding with Tessa. We were three very inexperienced riders (an adult and two teenagers) but the horses were really calm and very well behaved. The views were amazing and the ride very interesting with Tessa telling us about the farm and the history of the area.

Date of experience: January 2018
Thank Woodhousefamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tessa111Whitianga, Owner at Rangihau Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2018

Thanks so much for coming and I'm glad you had a fun time and enjoyed your time on horse-back. All the best for the rest of your holiday

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2017

We're sort of experienced riders. It's been a while but we've been on a few pony rides. Unfortunately, "trail rides" sometimes becomes lazy, loping slogs in a conga line of slow horses. This is not one of those trips. Rangihau has big beautiful (and sometimes spirited) horses that are treated well. Heck the get to roam a huge padduck on the hill above the ranch. Our ride was just my wife and I and we couldn't have been happier. We took a nice 1 1/2 ride through the lower fields then into the hills above the ranch. Very little of the ride was dead flat and you needed to pay attention. But that was fine with us. We wanted a ride not a Disney trip. The best part was when we went to the highest ridge. The views were amazing the trail was a nice meandering track between the grass and the bush.

Date of experience: December 2017
Thank Daryl C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tessa111Whitianga, Owner at Rangihau Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2017

Thanks so much for coming and really pleased that you had a good ride. Safe travels for the rest of your holiday

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2017 via mobile

Absolutely beautiful scenery and wonderful horses. The guides were brilliant and we had a fabulous time. Would definitely recommend a trip here for some off road adventures and wonderfully hidden scenic spots.

Date of experience: June 2017
1  Thank Alison B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tessa111Whitianga, Owner at Rangihau Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2017

Thankyou, glad you had such an awesome ride...so did we! All the best and safe trip home

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews