We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“YUM”
Review of The Tea Room

The Tea Room
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“YUM”
Reviewed March 30, 2014

Very nice food, helpful staff, nicely presented. We call in often, also for afternoon tea celebration with family. Always very busy but nothing seems too much trouble. We will be back.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank janjanevans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    190
    74
    30
    15
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fareham, England
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Gluten (and frozen cake) intolerant”
Reviewed March 29, 2014

Nice decor ... I'd really like to make another positive comment but I'm struggling. It took a while for someone to acknowledge me and take my order. The tea was nice, but I eventually had to remind the waitress that I had also ordered cake. When the cake arrived I realised why there was a delay - the heat of it told me that it had been defrosted in the microwave. As someone who is gluten intolerant I was hopeful of finding a nice place for afternoon tea, but hot cake which has the taste of a freezer was really disappointing. Perhaps for people who can eat gluten this place is a gem, sadly those of us who can't, it's a poor offering.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ollieboo24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gosport, United Kingdom
1 review
“Disappointed”
Reviewed March 27, 2014

Our first visit: As we entered, we were warned off the coffee walnut cake as being dry by friends who were leaving; not a good start! For our cream tea the fruit scones were dry and crumbly and the portion of jam was mean. The tea (we opted for loose tea) was barely strong enough. The tea strainer and drip bowl were not a pair. The young waitress had a large hole in her cardigan which had what looked like bleach marks.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mervyn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gosport, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Friendly and helpful”
Reviewed March 24, 2014 via mobile

I visited The Tea Room with my frail mother in law. The staff helped Mum into the restaurant and into a nearby seat, making my job much easier as a result. We had gone in for morning coffee and were amazed at the range of cakes on offer. The staff were very friendly and attentive. The coffee was superb and the coffee and walnut cake was delicious. The portion size was generous and prices were very reasonable. There is an extensive snack menu and the restaurant was bright, cheerful and clean.
A friend recommended The Tea Room to me and I was glad that I was able to park directly outside. This is not always the case, though, but there is a car park close by.
Well worth a visit.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank EveyG_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Below average for afternoon tea”
Reviewed March 19, 2014

Three of us went here for afternoon tea - 2 sandwiches, a scone with jam and cream, a piece of cake and tea each. The sandwiches were fine, full of filling; the carrot cake was very moist, the other cake was very dry and tasteless (it was so impressive I can't even remember what it was); the scones were inedlible. - huge great dry, crumbly things; the tea didn't have enough strength to climb out of the pot. All for the princely sum of £9.95 each. Food being taken to other tables, eg toasted sandwiches, looked lovely, however. But, for us, the first and last time here for afternoon tea.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank spritzerUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Tea Room also viewed

Lee-on-the-Solent, Gosport
Lee-on-the-Solent, Gosport
 
Lee-on-the-Solent, Gosport
Lee-on-the-Solent, Gosport
 
Lee-on-the-Solent, Gosport
Lee-on-the-Solent, Gosport
 

Been to The Tea Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing