We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel close to downtown”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Puebla
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Posada Cuetzalan
Ranked #61 of 100 Hotels in Puebla
Reviewed September 20, 2013

It's very nice hotel, clean and warm. They are building a new section close to the pool and it seems a very good option when they'll be ready.

The restaurant has a small menu but the taste is very good.

Not very flexible when you need a late check out with no cost but nothing you will complain.

The pool would be nicer with a little bit more maintenance overall a good option to stay in Cuetzalan.

They have a parking lot enough for all guests

Room Tip: I believe by year end new rooms will be available and they will be a good option
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lalo_estebanes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (38)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 8 of 38 reviews

Reviewed April 28, 2013

it good hotel .Clean room wiyh helpul staff but ony one thing i do not like is mettress is not soft so hard for me to sleep.one more thing its not close to center .i decided stay there one night!

Over:its good palce to stay.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank glanda b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2013 via mobile

The rooms are clean and well kept. There is no AC but when I was here none was needed. The bed is very hard and didn't help my back. They have a nice cafe restaurant attached to the front of the hotel which faces the street. Also are internal squares with cafe tables to relax at. The hotel is centrally located in the very picturesque town which I believe may be its greatest benefit.

Visit this town regardless if you stay in this hotel. It's literally in the middle or nowhere but the architecture of tight white buildings, the central square with its old and beautiful church. A tight knit community and local indigenous people in traditional clothes. Women in traditional white blouses with flowery embroidery. And the men in white shirts, white cowboy hats and machetes!

Not to be missed!


  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Daveded
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

The hotel is in a favorable location for walking around Cuetzalan, enjoying the town's atmosphere, and being close to shops and stores. The interior patios are relaxing and colorful. My room was comfortable though I had to hunt for an electrical outlet and unplug something to use it when I finally found one. It had the amenities one expects these days except for a hair dryer. The wifi was sporadic; it is better to use it outside your room in one of the nice courtyards. At night, the courtyard near the bar can be loud, so you may wish for a room in one of the others.The Saturday night show with the voladores was great entertainment.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Overlooker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

For my third trip to Cuetzalan, I decided to give Hotel Posada Cuetzalan a try. We looked at a couple of rooms before deciding on one overlooking the street. It was probably the loudest area of the hotel, but the other rooms smelled too musty. It was very humid and rained a lot.

The location was great. We only took advantage of the free breakfast one morning and it was good.

The only downsides were that even though there is a Visa logo at the check-in area, they won't take an American visa card. I had to pay cash. The beds were rock hard (no surprise) and the bedspreads always felt damp due to the high humidity. I was hoping for a ceiling fan, but there was only an upright fan.

I'm undecided if I'll choose this hotel the next time I'm in Cuetzaan, or if I'll go back to Casa De Piedra, but you could do a lot worse. Just bring cash if you're not Mexican.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Spiney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2012

This hotel has a great location and rooms 36 and 37 in the back have a great view of the pool and the "clay jar church" (iglesia de los jarritos) There's parking on-site. It's two blocks from
the main square but still quiet enough at night that you can sleep. Saturday nights there's a dance presentation by indigenous people (voladores) that is quite nice. (Tip them!) The hotel's food is good and VERY reasonably priced and our waiters were extremely attentive. The front desk can set you up for whatever tour you want to take. The hotel is a block from the Pena Los Jarritos that has voladores on Saturday night and live folk music. Very nice! Hotel Posada Cuetzalan is a small hotel in the mountains....not a 4 star city hotel....so the furnishings, amenities and decor are minimal but for a price under $70 for two with breakfast included, it's a great deal!!!

Room Tip: Rooms in the back....36 and 37.... are newer and further away from street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MStege
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2011

I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights while visiting this mysterious town where time seems to have stopped in the early 20th century. The hotel has a lot of potential, but the rooms are shabby, the bathrooms are falling apart, they don't have grounded outlets, bad linens, etc. The restaurant was so-so and I really woulnd't recommend this hotel to a friend. However, there are slim pickings in this town, but we saw one called "1810" that looked much, much better.

Room Tip: Stay away from the new wing they are currently building!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Peregringo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puebla hotels
80.5 mi away
Gente de Mas Hostel
Gente de Mas Hostel
#4 of 52 in Puebla
78 reviews
80.5 mi away
NH Puebla Centro Historico
80.6 mi away
City Express Puebla FINSA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
80.3 mi away
Casareyna Hotel
Casareyna Hotel
#1 of 100 in Puebla
793 reviews
82.9 mi away
City Express Junior Puebla FINSA
81.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Puebla La Noria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Posada Cuetzalan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Posada Cuetzalan

Address: Zaragoza 12 | Cuetzalan, Puebla, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Puebla > Puebla
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 100 Hotels in Puebla
Number of rooms: 36

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing