We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ear plugs included, does that say enough?”
Review of La Purificadora

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Purificadora
Ranked #27 of 100 Hotels in Puebla
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 15, 2012

We were quite disappointed with La Purificadore.

Yes, it is a design hotel and there are some interesting aspects about the hotel. However, rooms are very noisy. The hotel is situated in a regenerated area of the city with a museum, park and congress centre, which means that it can be loud. Moreover, the bedroom window is actually a glass door which let's a lot of noise through. The hotel must be aware of the noise issues as they give you earplugs when you check in... A bit strange for a hotel, no?

Also, dinner was very average.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FergieBrussels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francisco D, Gerente at La Purificadora, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2013

Dear Fergie Brussels
Thank you so much for your review on La Purificadora. We always appreciate our guests comments on their experience here. Please accept my apologies for the minor issues you experienced during your stay. I hope you can give us another opportunity soon.
We look forward to your return!
Sincerely,
Francisco De La Hoz Foglia.
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (348)
There are newer reviews for La Purificadora
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

104 - 110 of 348 reviews

Reviewed July 30, 2012

off and not in the historic centre overlooking a small manicured park like all in Mexico with luminous verdants. Elevated structure with 26 rooms. Public space equipped with 'memorial' staircase with some translucent steps. However ill equipped in terms of total facilities (technical and catering wise). Located opposite |across the historic centre overlooking a park, parking facility in the street- good service. Very self-aware trendy spot.

Room Tip: higher up overlooking the park
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bardangas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
An EasyToBook.com traveler
Puebla
1
Reviewed July 7, 2012

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank An EasyToBook.com traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed July 2, 2012

This place is a joke: they are located right in front of a concert hall and the staff doesn't even bother to inform their guests when there is a concert that lasts until 3 am. This is what happened to us and we had the impression the orchestra was in our room! It was so loud in the entire hotel (which is entirely open to the outside) that we had to change hotel at 1 am. The staff did not even apologize and refused to take any responsibility for not having informed us before.
This is outrageous for a USD 200 room.
Just don't go!

Stayed: May 2012
1  Thank MatthewMarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francisco D, Gerente at La Purificadora, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2013

Hello Matthew Marie,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on La Purificadora. We always appreciate our guests feedback.
Please accept our sincerest apologies for the noise that you hear in your room.
This feedback is helpful for us as it will give the opportunity for our team to listen to what our guests are saying. We hope you will return to La Purificadora in the future.
Sincerely,
Francisco De La Hoz Foglia.
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2012

I had the worst impression of design hotels: noisy, unconfortable, and overrated. Not the case here. La Purificadora is just the place to be in Puebla if you really want an unforgettable experience in the city. Its beautiful and worth the hype.

First of all, room (letter G, 1st floor, facing beautiful Paseo de San Francisco) was silent enough to get a good sleep and the beds (two double) were perfecty confortable. I actually was there in weekdays in low season, hotel was empty and so was the town. Maybe it helped a bit. Two stories up theres a bar, empty the 2 nights I was there, so no noise at all - only churche's bell.

If I had one complaint it would be room's bathroom little lack of privacy, since glass doors are charming but not very protective.

Location: Puebla's Centro Historico is beautiful but can be a bit messy, and La Purificadora is a few blocks away from the Centro - not that close to the Zócalo, but its a pleasant walk and you can always take a cab too (unexpensive). I really wouldnt choose Zócalo over beautiful Paseo de San Francisco and breathtaking views of the Iglesia de San Francisco from the hotel and surroundings. Also there's a cafe, a bar and a restaurant nearby if you dont want to walk to the Centro.

Hotel lobby is so beautiful you just want to stay there reading or using the wifi, also avaiable in-room but with a lousy connection (free though).

Loved it and would recommend to everyone.

Room Tip: Corner suites may be more silent and with great views
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pereira01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2012

So next on my stop after Monterrey was Puebla. Decided to stay with the same Grupo Habita hotels to see what all the buzz was about, and now I get it... These guys definitely have the experience and boutique hotel thing down pat...

The hotel is stunning and that's a lot for a guy to say... It makes business travel seem like a vacation. Why stay at cookie-cutter shoe box plain hotels when you can stay in top design hotels for great prices? For those of you non-savy architecty types, La Purificadora was built by iconic Mexican architect Ricardo Legorreta in what used to be an old water treatment facilty - there's your history right there, a mix of old and new fused with unbeatable hospitality.

Rooms are comfortable and unique, perfect balance between comfort and luxury. Very clean. Being the sound sleeper that I am, I can't comment about the noise, but I'm sure those other reviewers complaining about the noise have trouble sleeping anywhere. Food is delish, you get your local fare and interesting creations but also have standard hotel meals (just like they had in Monterrey).

Service is unbeatable for sure, staff goes out of their way to make you feel comfortable and to meet your every need (speaks of great Management for sure!!!). Everyone was helpful and attentive without being stuffy and annoying.

Great stay if you're looking for a little oasis in the midst of business travel in Mexico. Grupo Habita did it again and I would definitely recommend La Purificadora.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GustavoAc77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2012

Just stayed at the La Purificadora Hotel in the city of Puebla. With beautiful architecture, this small hotel is very comfortable although a bit out of the way. Food was excellent and service unbeatable, however, some services were lacking such as an adequate gym. Even though the pool on the top floor is quite spectacular, the gym only had three pieces of equipment, far from what I had expected.
If you do not mind not having a gym and you prefer ambience, great architecture and good food, this is the place to stay for a weekend in Puebla

Room Tip: Rooms with a balcony overlooking the park are the best, a bit noisy but much nicer
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aphillips61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puebla hotels
0.6 mi away
Quinta Real Puebla
Quinta Real Puebla
#24 of 100 in Puebla
337 reviews
0.6 mi away
EL Sueno Hotel & Spa
EL Sueno Hotel & Spa
#23 of 100 in Puebla
298 reviews
4.3 mi away
Marriott Puebla Hotel Meson del Angel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Casona Maria
Casona Maria
#5 of 100 in Puebla
186 reviews
0.3 mi away
Meson Sacristia de la Compania
2.3 mi away
Presidente InterContinental Puebla
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Purificadora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Purificadora

Address: Callejon de la 10 Norte 802 | Paseo de San Francisco, Barrio el Alto, Puebla 72000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Puebla > Puebla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Puebla
#11 Luxury Hotel in Puebla
Price Range: $116 - $308 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — La Purificadora 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Purificadora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Purificadora Puebla
La Purificadora Hotel Puebla

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing