We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Casona de la China Poblana
Ranked #17 of 100 Hotels in Puebla
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Delightful!”
Reviewed October 19, 2011

There are many reasons this delightful Inn is ranked #1 in Puebla. The location is stellar, in the historic colonial district just a couple of blocks away from both the zocalo and the artisanal market streets. But it is the lovely accommodations and the attentive staff that make this place so magical. The renovated and converted hacienda has the traditional open air patio on the first floor that hosts an excellent restaurant. Upstairs the guest rooms open to a wide balcony. Our room, Talavera, had beautiful unique furniture and a modern bathroom. We loved our stay here!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jphillips327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    25
    6
    1
    3
See reviews for
28
62
10
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fellbach, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2011

The hotel is an antique house with a big patio, full of plants and flowers. My really big room was beatifully decorated with antique furniture. The bathroom and shower were made of marble. Even the location is perfect - in he middle of old Puebla. I felt so good in my room I didn't want to go out.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank isaGermany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2011

I have visited the Casona de la China Poblana on numerous occasions and I think it's probably the best option for sleeping and dining in the city. It's location cannot be beat, the rooms are lovely, the service is truly outstanding and I find that the food is some of the city's best. Forget the Fonda de Santa Clara (the McDonald's of "poblana" cuisine) and head to the lovely interior courtyard of the China Poblana, located in an old building once home to Puebla's famous Catarina de San Juan, also known as the "China Poblana". They have a LA Cetto Cabernet at 180 pesos a bottle and it's wonderful, they have chalupas and other typical fare, but also more elaborated and "modern" moles to choose from. The salads are FANTASTIC -- no iceberg lettuce here! Check it out and you will see -- I know Mexico very well and live and work in the area.

Room Tip: There's a corner room with a lovely little balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peregringo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mfeld33
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 17, 2009

After years of fine dinning and leisurely travel I had thought my expectations were higher than most, however after my experience at La Casona de la China Poblana I now know what “good service” really means. The location couldn’t be beat since it is 2 blocks away from the Zocalo (town square) where the majority of activities take place. The rooms were gorgeous with every article handcrafted and decorated. The beds were considerably more comfortable (night and day versus any other mattress) than the other 3 hotels I had visited and other luxuries; such as AC, cable, and more are included. The service went beyond anything I could imagine including personal tour of the other unique rooms, stories of the China Poblana’s tale, gourmet coffee all day and night (free), and conscientious recommendations. I am planning on returning with my girlfriend to stay in their honeymoon suite that comes with rose pedals, candles, and a Jacuzzi! In addition I want to encourage anyone visiting the Puebla area to stay, eat, or even visit Casona de la China Poblana. The history is rich, service impeccable, and experience unforgettable.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mfeld33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skaneateles
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2009

Not until my third night of Mexican Mattresses did I find Casona de la China Poblana, and what a relief. Location is superb, a block from Central Plaza. Guest rooms are
incredible, this place must have cost a fortune to renovate from scratch.

Guest Services is extremely cordial, friendly. On site restaurant and bar is wonderful, although we often walked a block or so to the "square". They have a Mexican expression for it, but I forgot.

They are part of a collection of small inns that markets the Puebla area. I am sure to go back next visit.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tonicurtis1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puebla hotels
0.5 mi away
NH Puebla Centro Historico
0.3 mi away
EL Sueno Hotel & Spa
EL Sueno Hotel & Spa
#18 of 100 in Puebla
292 reviews
0.4 mi away
Quinta Real Puebla
Quinta Real Puebla
#19 of 100 in Puebla
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Casona Maria
Casona Maria
#6 of 100 in Puebla
176 reviews
0.1 mi away
Meson Sacristia de la Compania
0.1 mi away
Andante Hotel Boutique
Andante Hotel Boutique
#20 of 100 in Puebla
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casona de la China Poblana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casona de la China Poblana

Property: Casona de la China Poblana
Address: Calle 4 Norte # 2, Puebla 72000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Puebla > Puebla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 100 Hotels in Puebla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casona de la China Poblana 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
CASONA DE LA CHINA POBLANA HOTEL BOUTIQUE & RESTAURANT-BAR In this beautiful mansión, original 17th Century, lived and died Doña Catarina de San Juan, who was known in his time as the true China Poblana. The architectural jewel,now converted into a spectacular and unique hotel boutique and restaurant, is located in the heart of the historic centre of Puebla, declared by UNESCO, since 1987, World Heritage site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Casona de la China Poblana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casona De La China Poblana Hotel Puebla

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing