We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Negatives outweigh the positives”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Villas Arquelogicas de Cholula
Ranked #14 of 67 Puebla B&B and Inns
Connecticut
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Negatives outweigh the positives”
Reviewed August 25, 2011

This hotel is an easy walk to the pyramid and church, the layout is attractive with rooms around a central pool, and WIFI is available. However, the negatives outweigh the positives. Overall, the hotel needs updating. Our standard second floor room overlooking the pool was small with a double bed and a twin bed. The shower drained slowly, and there was no coffeemaker in the room. The pool was busy and noisy into the night. Morning coffee was only available in the restaurant/patio area with waiter service. We were charged separately for the first cup and each succeeding cup- no free refills here! We stayed two nights. On arrival, front desk staff told us that the rate we would pay for the weekend night was higher than the rate we would pay for the Monday night. However, on checkout, a different front desk person was there and insisted on charging us the same rate for both nights. No manager was available and staff was young and inexperienced.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JuanitaConnecticut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    50
    39
    14
    11
See reviews for
44
37
4
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Guanajuato, Mexico
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2011

I very highly recommend this wonderful, unique, romantic hotel just in front of the Indian ruins. Have your breakfast at the hotel restaurant by the pool under the bougainvilleas and enjoy your dinner wine there as well. The management of the hotel puts a lot of efforts into making sure that their guests have a great experience. We had a little bit of inconvenience the first night with noisy neighbors that the management took care of and compensated us with complimentary breakfast and wine. The hotel is very proud of their very Good Trip Advisor ratings. I loved the decoration of the hotel and the colors

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank franciska77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2011

They are not able to manage situation, some drunk guests begin to do a mess at 4 am and they stopped at 7 am, asking for the manager of the hotel that was unavaible and the act as nothing happend

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gbrocca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights and explored Cholula and Puebla last June. The hotel was a great value for the money in a good location. I liked the room and the bathroom, both clean and cozy. The restaurant was OK, the service was extremely slow. I am usually not in a big hurry and don't expect super speedy service, but here you could sit and wait for 15 minutes before someone even set the table for breakfast. I still think the hotel was worth staying in, but I wish the management would fix this one problem. Otherwise I enjoyed that it was super quiet and I slept really well there, although it was a wedding weekend and the area was loud in general.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank salsaretreat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
286 reviews
172 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2011

Villas Arqueologicas is a red of hotels situated nearby major Mexican pyramids. So far we only visited the one in Cholula. The hotel is big, stylish with a garden, swimming-pool and the building has a feeling of an old "hacienda". It is right below the Cholula pyramid, but a little further from the town center (about 15 minutes walk on a slightly abandoned road...probably the only disadvantage). If you don't mind that, or if you are actually looking for a romantic tranquil evening, go for it. If you book online you can get some amazing deals!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iliveinmexico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunny Southern California
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2011

We stayed here for one night, to visit the pyramid and church. As many others have mentioned, the hotel is a former Club Med, so the rooms are a quite small, but ours was well kept up and clean. Having stayed at two other Villas Arq (Chichen Itza and Coba), we sort of knew what to expect.

We ate dinner and breakfast here, and both were fairly good, but nothing special. Since we were tired, having flown from the US to Mexico City and then driven straight to Cholula, we really appreciated being able to eat dinner on-site.

We enjoyed our lunch the most, which we ate in a street bazaar across from the foot of the main path up to the church.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sufue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guanajuato, Mexico
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 17, 2011

We enjoyed our stay here quite a bit. The rooms were nice, the beds comfortable. The hotel is kept up nicely. The staff is polite enough but very young and a little timid but they gave us enough help when we asked for it. The location is right in front of the pyramid/church and about a 10 minute walk from the zocalo.
I suppose if you are accustomed to luxury hotels, this one might seem meager but we usually stay in budget hotels. Villas Arqueologicas had a $59 special that we took advantage of so it was a pleasant surprise for us.
The only negative was that we had the bad luck to be there the evening of some local political rally and they had an outdoor dance afterwards near the hotel with music blasting through a mega-PA system until well after midnight (on a Tuesday) and it shook the walls of our room.
Any of the other 364 nights of the year I'm sure it's a super quiet place!
After reading some of the other reviews, I think they have done some maintenance recently because our experience was a bit different. The wifi worked fine and everything was well painted and maintained.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank circle110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puebla
0.7 mi away
Casa Calli Hotel & Spa
Casa Calli Hotel & Spa
#5 of 7 in San Pedro Cholula
69 reviews
0.6 mi away
La Quinta Luna
La Quinta Luna
#4 of 7 in San Pedro Cholula
51 reviews
0.5 mi away
Estrella de Belem
Estrella de Belem
#1 of 7 in San Pedro Cholula
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Posada Senorial
Hotel Posada Senorial
#67 of 100 in Puebla
47 reviews
1.1 mi away
Xoxula by Inmense
Xoxula by Inmense
#2 of 7 in San Pedro Cholula
66 reviews
0.5 mi away
Xelhua Hotel Boutique  restaurante
Xelhua Hotel Boutique restauran...
#1 of 12 in San Pedro Cholula
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villas Arquelogicas de Cholula? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villas Arquelogicas de Cholula

Property: Villas Arquelogicas de Cholula
Address: 2 Poniente 601, San Andres Cholula, Puebla 72810, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Puebla > Puebla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 67 B&Bs / Inns in Puebla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Villas Arquelogicas de Cholula 3.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villas Arqueologicas Cholula is located in the city of San Andres Cholula, next to Puebla, Mexico, famous for its 365 churches and various festivities throughout the year, near the archaeological site of Cholula, and just four blocks from the historic city center, located just 30 minutes from the airport of Huejotzingo. Located opposite is the world's largest pyramid in terms of volume. Above the enormous structure, stands the beautiful Nuestra Senora de los Remedios Church. The pyramid has been only partially excavated, contains approximately 4 miles of tunnels where pre-Hispanic murals can be admired. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Villas Arquelogicas de Cholula reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing