We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nice friendly hostel in Puebla, Mexico”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hostal Santo Domingo
Ranked #5 of 42 Specialty Lodging in Puebla
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“nice friendly hostel in Puebla, Mexico”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

This is a well run hostel, small, clean and comfortable with very friendly staff. the hostel is located in the heart of old Puebla (about 3 blocks to the Zocalo) provides free breakfast and internet access. The en-suite rooms have very tall ceilings and private bath. it is quiet inside the room, but could get a little noisy if you leave the door open to the covered courtyard which also serves as the breakfast room and the general gathering place. I traveled with 2 sons and stayed in this hostel for 4 nights (in 2 trips) so you can say I like it enough to enjoy the place.

the minor things I don't like while there were (1) only 1 of the 3 desktop computers were working; while the wifi signal inside the room was too weak.; and (2) you are allowed 2 pieces of toast or a bowl of cereal + drinks for breakfast. Not that I need more food, but I don't like the straight rule :-)

Room Tip: most rooms have no windows and the door facing the covered courtyard. it could get noisy, so pick o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amy2k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    45
    24
    7
    5
See reviews for
5
24
28
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

The entire hostel is freezing! I felt like i was in a warehouse, not a warm hostel.
I got a horrible cold and cough from staying a night there. The blankets keep you warm but the cold drafts are horrible. Theres no way to stop you breathing in the cold air all night.

Bad:
Freezing cold building- maybe made from stone? Old hacienda style layout with enormous open area.
Breakfast is 90% sugar- cereal and white toast with jam.

Good:
Wifi worked
Centrally located

Would try the other hostel in Puebla next time.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rosysmith85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

I stayed only one night but I had a nice time. It was very clean, not crowded and very spacious rooms and bathrooms. The breakfast it is good for the price you pay (Coffee, orange juice, toast bread and cereal). The girl at the reception was very helpful giving me tips and maps to get around downtown and at the time I was living she called me a taxi. My only two concerns are that they were only 2 electrical outlets in a room for 12 and one of the guys at the reception was not helpful at all when I asked for things to do or any place to eat.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luisef88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, NY
Level Contributor
52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

I stayed a couple of nights here and it was pleasant. I got a private room on the second floor that overlooked the courtyard cafe. The room was windowless but had really high ceilings, so it didn't feel stuffy. Also, the bathroom had recently been renovated. In fact, they were renovating a number of rooms while I was there. The best part about the hostel was that it was just a few blocks from the Zocalo.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
135 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012 via mobile

Check in staff member was very nice and spoke English which was nice of him. He showed me the rules which I had to sign which included 2 that are unheard of at any hostel. No alcohol or smoking anywhere on the premises! Not a great start. The hostel is very empty and very hard to meet anyone due to the unsociable rules. The rooms are very basic and fairly clean except my bathroom has the remains of someone else's soap and loofah! It's in a decent spot about 2 blocks from the town centre. I wouldn't come back though, I would try somewhere else in Puebla.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stagmouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leuven, Vlaams-Brabant, Belgium
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2012

Spacious rooms, but bathroom could be cleaner. Breakfast was awful. Friendly staff though. Internet was not working the whole time we were there, but there are a lot of internet cafés in town. Puebla itself is lovely.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lien H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas
Level Contributor
291 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2012

First of all, I usually write my reviews of Mexico in Spanish since I am a proud Mexican, but I feel I have to write this one in English to warn others that might not speak the language. Most of the front staff was very nice except for this one dude named Carlos who was exceptionally rude to me. I am not a loud party animal traveller so I really dont know why he disliked me. He was there when I checked in. If I dont show up the first night, Booking.com will charge you for the first nite so I really did not have a choice. I asked for a sheet since there was none on the bed, He said ...NOOO..since all the sheets were counted! Then I asked him about a tour to Cholula, he said I had to give him 50 pesos to reserve a space. Being naive and trusting, I did but then I guess he kept it because when I asked the tour guide, Raul if he received it, he said No..so I guess it is safe to say, that he stole it!..The place was dark and cold, and I got sick there because of this. Also, since I go to bed early, the young drinking clientele kept me awake! On the plus side, I got good service on my laundry and breakfast had fresh squeezed orange jiuce!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Marta E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Puebla hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puebla hotels
0.3 mi away
El Hotelito
El Hotelito
#57 of 96 in Puebla
4.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
2.5 mi away
City Express Junior Puebla FINSA
0.2 mi away
NH Puebla Centro Historico
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
City Express Puebla FINSA
6.4 mi away
Hotel One Puebla FINSA
Hotel One Puebla FINSA
#26 of 96 in Puebla
4.0 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Central
Hotel Central
#84 of 96 in Puebla
3.0 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Santo Domingo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Santo Domingo

Property: Hostal Santo Domingo
Address: Avenida 4 Poniente 312, Puebla 72000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Puebla > Puebla
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 42 Specialty Lodging in Puebla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostal Santo Domingo 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostal Santo Domingo is located in Puebla, just 1 block from Santo Domingo Church and Victoria Shopping Centre. It offers a 24-hour reception and rooms with a bathroom. The Santo Domingo has a central courtyard with a snack bar where you can enjoy some food in a light, open space. Staff at reception can provide information about what to see and do in Puebla. You can drive to Puebla's Interactive Museum in 10 minutes from Hostal Santo Domingo. Puebla Airport is a 35-minute drive away. Puebla Centro is a great choice for travelers interested in architecture, museums and cathedrals. This is our guests' favorite part of Puebla, according to independent reviews. This property is also rated for the best value in Puebla! Guests are getting more for their money when compared to other properties in this city. We speak your language! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Hostal Santo Domingo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing