We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good budget option if seeking small, historic hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Meson San Sabastian
Ranked #64 of 100 Hotels in Puebla
Reviewed March 15, 2006

Just returned from a 3 day trip in Puebla. It's a fanstastic destination for anyone who appreciates authentic Mexican food (this is where mole, among other things, was invented), Mexican ceramics, and other indigenous arts and crafts. I'd recommend staying in the historic center. We stayed at the San Sebastian, a 16th c. home built with a courtyard and now a small hotel. Situated on the same block as El Sueno Hotel and Spa as well as Meson Sacristia de Capuchinas, it follows them with the same idea of juxtaposing the very new with the very old. I'd say that San Sebastian isn't quite as consistently successful as either of the other two in terms of its aesthetics, and the rooms on the first floor are very dark (there are no windows except the glass doors that open onto the now enclosed courtyard). But the hotel is quieter because the courtyard does not do double-duty as a restaurant and the room rates seem lower and more flexible. The bedding is dingy and the brick floors always seemed dusty, but the exposed brick walls, 20 foot high beamed ceilings and other lovely details provide a lot of historical style. The service professionals were friendly and accommodating (my sense is that they know little English). The lighting in the room is very poor--it's impossible to read. But each room has cable TV and a lovely antique wardrobe. Most of the rooms are outrageously large. My recommendation would be to stay here if they offer you a rate at least $30-$40 U.S. dollars less than their two competitors (Sueno and Sacristia de Capuchinas) down the street. But also note that breakfast is often included in the rates of the latter and it is not offered at San Sabastian. I'd strongly recommend the cafeteria in the art museum on the corner for breakfast. It looks like a very stark cafeteria, but the food is excellent (the usual Mexican breakfast options well done) and it's very inexpensive. We also ate breakfast one morning in the ultra modern breakfast room and bar at El Sueno; it was a more pleasant room but the food didn't compare to the museum. Ask for an upstairs room if you stay here.

13  Thank WaverlySharon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (53)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 53 reviews

Reviewed May 28, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2017, traveled with family
Thank BadiaW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Dailuc1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Es mejor si no llevas coche
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank RosaQuesada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: las habitaciones de la parte superior tienen frigobar ideales para descansar sin ruido ni luz.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Paola C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2016, traveled solo
Thank Allie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2016, traveled on business
2  Thank ManoloAI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puebla hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Senorial
Hotel Senorial
#22 of 100 in Puebla
330 reviews
0.2 mi away
Suites La Concordia
Suites La Concordia
#36 of 100 in Puebla
87 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Imperial
Hotel Imperial
#65 of 100 in Puebla
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
San Leonardo Puebla
San Leonardo Puebla
#58 of 100 in Puebla
203 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hotel Puebla Plaza
Hotel Puebla Plaza
#87 of 100 in Puebla
62 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Casa de Oracion San Jose
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meson San Sabastian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meson San Sabastian

Address: 9 Oriente No 6 | Centro Historico, Puebla 72000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Puebla > Puebla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 100 Hotels in Puebla
Price Range: $40 - $76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Meson San Sabastian 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1580, this 16th-century house has belonged to the same family for seven generations (over 400 years). We are only three blocks away from the town square, and two blocks away from the Cathedral of Puebla. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotwire so you can book your Meson San Sabastian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing