We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Portobello mushroom still the best my wife ever had”

La Casa del Mendrugo
Reserve a Table
2
Wed, 6/26
8:00 PM
Ranked #15 of 1,001 Restaurants in Puebla
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Much more than a restaurant. Experience the fusion of gastronomy, music, art, history and the spontaneous expression of life in the heart of Puebla. Fine dinning Restaurant, Museum, Jazz Club, Coffee Shop, Bar, Pub.
Reviewed February 9, 2019 via mobile

We were here 2 years ago and the Portobello mushroom again received my wife's highest rating the two nights we dined here. I again enjoyed the shrimp with garlic butter and tried the mole poblano chicken breast after Ramon' urging me to test the mole before ordering as I had not cared for it in other cities the past two years. Thank you, Ramon! I now there's one mole I have thoroughly enjoyed. Also, many thanks for the time you spent with us in your marvelous museum. If you have dessert, consider the mocha pastry which we selected both nights.

Date of visit: February 2019
1  Thank tennismaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (340)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 340 reviews

Reviewed January 3, 2019

Very good restaurant ... close to historic center, nice environment, very good food quality and excellent service. It has a little museum inside (upstairs) that is open until late and live music but not noisy. One of the bests I have been in Puebla so far. The only issue we had was that the desserts we ordered were not available.

Date of visit: January 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank megavio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2018

We stumbled on the cafe when when we checked out the Museum shop to the right of the main entrance. We weren't hungry but we did need just to sit and rest for a bit. The main dining area seemed lovely but the more intimate cafe met and exceded our needs. We ordered a really nice glass of tempranillo (75 pesos) and a caesar salad with grilled chicken. The bar menu lists bottles of wine, limited glasses, craft beers, salads and a variety of tapas. We also discovered that the bar offers a three course executive lunch (95 pesos w/o beverage) daily from 1:00 until 6:00.
The ambience in the bar is intimate and very comfortable. There are stairs to a larger second level with additional tables and sofas. It's a terrific place to relax and enjoy a calm snack/tapas or very tasty light lunch.
On a return visit, we tried the sampler of 3 house craft beers (49 pesos) and each was very good. Lunch was a cream of pepper soup, followed by huitlacoche and serrano ham crepes in a divine cheesey cream sauce, and an excellent pastel de maiz. And all of this sitting at a corner wood table by a wrought iron lamp that provided just the right glow on a late and darkening afternoon. Service is very attentive and the bar is uncrowded.
We might eventually try the formal restaurant, too, but right now we prefer the relaxed intimacy of the bar.
The presence of an Ayn Rand quote lettered on the back wall is a little personally disturbing, although if one can just address the architectural sentiment presented (and imagine Gary Cooper) without current political associations, all should be well...

Date of visit: December 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank bmillerOaxaca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2018

Probably our best meal in Puebla. The space is really pretty, and they have a museum upstairs that is worth checking out (probably after dinner) about the house, relics that were found there (including a pre-spanish tomb) and a collection of pre-Colombian artifacts. The service and the food were good, and after 9 pm they have live music. We enjoyed our dinners, which were great flavors for traditional foods, plus some Spanish dishes like Serano Ham and paella. Mole is everywhere in Puebla, but they had a good mole poblano.

Date of visit: November 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank cookpias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2018 via mobile

We came here for a business dinner, and enjoyed a great dinner with great food in an interesting environment that includes a display of an ancient skeleton. Highly recommended.

Date of visit: November 2018
1  Thank Shamirraanan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Casa del Mendrugo also viewed

 
Puebla, Puebla
 

Been to La Casa del Mendrugo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing