We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely food, great value”

Hotel Colonial Restaurant
Ranked #36 of 967 Restaurants in Puebla
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Reviewed January 22, 2019

Prix fixe lunch at the Hotel Colonial runs to the princely sum of $143 - that gets you 3 appetizers (soup, rice and cauliflower souffle today), followed by an entree and dessert. The entree we had was, of course, pollo con mole poblano - one of the better reasons for visiting Puebla and the dish that put it on the map. Service was friendly and prompt, beer and wine was available - all in all, great food and value.

Date of visit: January 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank GuySeabrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (127)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 127 reviews

Reviewed January 16, 2019 via mobile

Great weekend menus, highly recommended. Local PUEBLA cuisine with traditional presentation and good service. Prices are very affordable and the colonial patio ambiance is both warm and authentic.

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank dianasalazarts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2018 via mobile

We ate a hearty breakfast by an open fire. Interesting dishes in a creative setting with accommodating service. Definitely recommended.

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank bunyipBluegum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2018

Do not be in a rush when you eat here. Enjoy the old-world service, the gorgeous setting and the excellent food. Be sure to walk around the ground floor and see the displays on the history of the hotel.

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank EstherP1882
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2018

This place has a stunning dining area, with a glass dome supported by talavera-encrusted structure above the dining room. It is part of an important historical hotel in Puebla, from which -- in some sense -- the Mexican Revolution began, with a speech out the balcony by Madero. As such, the place is well worth visiting.

The food was good but not great ... we both had the "menu del dia," which included two soups/pastas, a main dish, and dessert. The sopa hungara was a cream of zucchini, which was OK, but not light and lively. The garbanzo soup was one of the highlights, and we enjoyed it quite a bit. The fettucini was OK, but not great. I had the filete (fish) sol ... which was inconsistent ... while the tartar sauce was excellent, and the fish pretty good, the egg battering was too "eggy" for my taste. My wife had the mole poblano ... the mole per se was stunning, and we enjoyed it quite a bit, but the chicken was perhaps overcooked.

The service was good. A true highlight was Edmundo, the waiter, who was engaging and efficient. We greatly enjoyed talking with him, and his service was firstrate. His quote was "we're not the most pretty, but we are the best!" was refreshing ... perhaps the whole restaurant needs more of that attitude!

Overall, good but not great food... hopefully the owners can re-visit their restaurant, and renew this otherwise great place.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank townp2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hotel Colonial Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Hotel Colonial Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing