We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Puebla Institution”

El Mural de los Poblanos
Ranked #11 of 1,008 Restaurants in Puebla
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $21
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: La 5 & 7 Oriente
Description: In El Mural de los Poblanos we are proud of our origins why rescue and conserve our cuisine its most notable dishes. Our proposal is to offer diners a transport that sensuously to Puebla old unsurpassed dining experience. To achieve this we follow religiously original recipes use ingredients from the region and employ traditional methods of production.
Reviewed June 6, 2019

For ordinary Mexican food, eat on the streets and in the markets. For more complicated dishes like Pipian, this place is great. Expensive by Mexican standards, for the price of one meal, I could eat well on the street for 2 or three days. The murals are fantastic and display famous peoples in history. As I recall, there is a legend that shows who is depicted in the wall paintings. This place is an institution and should not be missed when in Puebla.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JPJr666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
juanjosecue, Propietario at El Mural de los Poblanos, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Joe,

We appreciate a lot your review!

Thanks for visting Puebla and coming to El Mural de los Poblanos.

We hope you return soon in the near future and offer you a 5 star experience.

Very kind regards :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,050)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5 - 9 of 2,050 reviews

Reviewed May 30, 2019

This restaurant is a pretty fancy place but serves traditional preparations of Puebla food. We went for brunch and dinner and both were great. The mole sampler was a fun way to try different preparations of the signature poblano dish. Service was impeccable, and the historic building was beautiful.

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank Ben M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
juanjosecue, Propietario at El Mural de los Poblanos, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2019

Dear Ben,

Thanks for visiting Puebla and coming to El Mural de los Poblanos.

It is great to read that you visited us twice!!

We hope that you return soon.

Very kind regards :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2019

Really fun restaurant in the historic center of Puebla to try the regional poblano and mole dishes. Tried all the different moles (5) and a very nice mezcal. The staff was excellent and took their time to explain who's who on the mural on the wall.

Date of visit: May 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank PhotoInge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
juanjosecue, Propietario at El Mural de los Poblanos, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2019

We thank you very much for visiting us and leaving a so nice review!!

Great you tryed all the options of Mole from Puebla and with a traditional mezcal.

We hope to see you again soon :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2019

We came to this place on a business lunch and we really liked it. The place is around the corner from the Cathedral and it is full of locals and tourist. Food is good, mezcal is great, service it is a bit disorganized, lots of waiters but when you need something you have to raise your hand.

The check was high but it was worht it. Try lechon tacos, are great!

Date of visit: May 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank FdzWillie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
juanjosecue, Propietario at El Mural de los Poblanos, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2019

Dear Willie,

Thanks for visiting Puebla and coming to El Mural de los Poblanos.

Lechon Tacos are one of our favorites!

We appreciate your review and hope that you return soon.

Very kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2019 via mobile

We went early afternoon. The service was perfect, we were treated very well. The food was perfect. I have the Mole sampler, escamoles and a starter that I cant remember. It was all excellent.

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank robpriestman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
juanjosecue, Propietario at El Mural de los Poblanos, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2019

Dear Rob,

Thanks for visiting us and leaving a so nice review!

It is great to hear you had Escamoles (Ant Eggs) and the Mole Sampler.

We hope that you return to Puebla in the near future.

Very kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Mural de los Poblanos also viewed

 
Puebla, Puebla
Puebla, Puebla
 
Puebla, Puebla
 

Been to El Mural de los Poblanos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing