We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A wonderul experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of El Mural de los Poblanos

El Mural de los Poblanos
Reserve with OpenTable
El Mural de los Poblanos is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4 of 625 Restaurants in Puebla
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $40
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: La 5 & 7 Oriente
Description: In El Mural de los Poblanos we are proud of our origins why rescue and conserve our cuisine its most notable dishes. Our proposal is to offer diners a transport that sensuously to Puebla old unsurpassed dining experience. To achieve this we follow religiously original recipes use ingredients from the region and employ traditional methods of production.
Palm Springs, Ca
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A wonderul experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

Wow! Outstanding restaurant. I loved everything about this restaurant. A little expensive for Puebla but well worth it.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank PalmSprings21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,148 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    690
    324
    78
    32
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
La Paz, Bolivia
Level Contributor
539 reviews
225 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 347 helpful votes
“Eating with history”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

Of course you can eat very well in many places in Puebla, because Puebla is almost a synonym of sophisticated cuisine in México, however this restaurant is unique because of the murals representing well-known characters and historical figures from Puebla, many of them of national importance. The mural is interesting, but not an outstanding piece of art, actually a bit clumsy in terms of its artistic value. So let's get back to the food, which is very good. I usually enjoy the "manchamanteles" sauce on enchiladas. Service is good and the restaurant has a lot of daylight because it 's tables are in the main patio of an old house just in front of la Casa del Dean, which you may visit before or after, to appreciate really good old but recently restaurated murals.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Gumucio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
45 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Chile en Nogada!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

Their Chile en nogada is with no doubt one of the best dishes in mexican cuisine I've tried!

We wanted to try this restaurant, as part of the LP guide restaurant recommendations, and try Mole Poblano. At the beginning we had ordered 1 mole sampler each, but after our waiter's suggestion to get the Chile en nogada, we switched 1 sampler.

It was indeed a good choice, otherwise I've had given this place a 3 star (we have had a fantastic mole poblano a couple of days before at El Cardenal in Mexico City.

The colonial decor and soffisticated ambiance, also come with an expensive price tag.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank QCO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“ok place but not worthy for the $”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

ok place, but food wasn't very good we tried the chalupa with cemita, and some insects.
Mole wasn't very good.
Service was good since only 2 tables at restaurant.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Runningboston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Delicious but expensive”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

This place has great food. I had the 3 moles enchiladas and they were delicious, honestly the best enchiladas I have tried in my life so far. The restaurant has a very interesting and colorful decor. I had a nice experience but I think that $70 US Dollars for 3 enchiladas, 1 Chile relleno, a small appetizer and water was too much for my budget.

I still recommend the place if you have some extra cash to spend.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ReneGlez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Mural de los Poblanos also viewed

 
Puebla, Puebla
Puebla, Puebla
 

Been to El Mural de los Poblanos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing