We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Tacos Al Pastor”
Review of Las Ranas

Las Ranas
Ranked #45 of 656 Restaurants in Puebla
Price range: $1 - $10
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast
Description: It is located just around the corner of the street 5 de Mayo in Puebla (the most important walking street) It is 2 restaurants.. one right across the other. They specialize in tacos but they serve a few other dishes too. It is by far the best tacos in the city and I have invited friends from Greece, Norway and all over Mexico and everyone loves them so I can't understand why they aren't listed in tripadvisor yet. They are the best known tacos in the city I am sure
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent Tacos Al Pastor”
Reviewed April 7, 2013

The Tacos Al Pastor were amazing! The hot fresh tortillas were the best tortillas I've ever had--which is saying a lot because I live in Mexico and eat fresh tortillas frequently. They were very inexpensive. This place can't be beat.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MiamiHoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    34
    14
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Susan Weckbaugh
Level Contributor
233 reviews
144 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Always crowded, filled with locals”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

The tacos arabes (typical Poblano fare) served here are cheap, huge (I could only eat one) and full of flavor. The meat is shaved off of a big roast and served in a tortilla with salsas on the side. There are actually 2 restaurants on either side of 2 Ave Poniente, so if the line is too long in one, go to the other. After you're seated, you are given an order form to fill out which is helpful for those who don't speak the language. My only complaint is that I could only eat just one.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Suporto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level Contributor
54 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“The Best food in the World”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Went 3 times to this place when in Puebla. It is easily the best food in the world! Great atmosphere, we were made to feel very welcome each time and it was always busy. Cannot fault this place in a single way. Even 2 years after going there, we still talk about it being the No 1 place we went to while travelling.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CylonKing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Ontario
Level Contributor
625 reviews
373 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 247 helpful votes
“Basic interior but the best tacos EVER”
Reviewed January 5, 2013

The service is gruff and the interior is grubby but these are the best tacos I have ever had (and I've eaten a lot of them in Mexico). The prices are dirt-cheap and the food comes fast. The Arabe taco is amazing.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Weerobbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere”
Reviewed November 22, 2012

Frequented by locals so not at all touristy. Good food, the Al Pastor pork was delicious. Very reasonably priced.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank jilly13_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Las Ranas also viewed

 

Been to Las Ranas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing