We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“perfecto!”
Review of Las Ranas

Las Ranas
Ranked #42 of 648 Restaurants in Puebla
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $10
Cuisines: Mexican, Fast Food, Latin
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Cash Only, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: It is located just around the corner of the street 5 de Mayo in Puebla (the most important walking street) It is 2 restaurants.. one right across the other. They specialize in tacos but they serve a few other dishes too. It is by far the best tacos in the city and I have invited friends from Greece, Norway and all over Mexico and everyone loves them so I can't understand why they aren't listed in tripadvisor yet. They are the best known tacos in the city I am sure
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“perfecto!”
Reviewed July 23, 2012

if you love pork, eat here! even picky American kids will enjoy the savory carne al pastor on a plain flour or corn tortilla, or even better, the warm, pita-like "pan arabe". it's only spicy-hot when you add the amazing red or green salsas.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ALaurenWaits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    34
    14
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1,100 reviews
384 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 469 helpful votes
“Outstanding tacos”
Reviewed February 17, 2012

We came here for dinner and had some of the best tacos we have ever had. Las Ranas is famous for tacos arabes. They are absolutely delicious, but they are pretty big, so 2-3 should be more than enough.

Tacos arabes are large tacos al pastor served in a pita style flour tortilla. They also do arabes gringas (the same but served with melted cheese inside as well).

The service was fast and they will come to you in within five minutes of ordering. It is very popular and has a quick turn-over. If you have to wait a few minutes to be seated it is worth it.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tombillinge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
371 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
“Best tacos so far!”
Reviewed October 30, 2011

I went to Las Ranas 3 times in 3 days, twice on 1 day. Their tacos are all excellent, especially the "El Arabe" and there's some bean soup that was delicious as well. Best tacos I've had in Mexico so far - and I've had a lot!

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank travla67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level Contributor
82 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Try it!”
Reviewed September 11, 2011

Despite being in Puebla for only a week, we visited and revisited this taco joint - Las Ranas - its' name probably explains all the frog figurines in the back. The place was packed almost every time we went, but the service was still good and fast. Their menu is extensive for the type of joint is is, but their main thing is the pastor (marinated pork). You order based on what you want with them: cheese, no cheese, corn tortilla, pita bread, wheat tortilla, etc. Everything we got (except for the beans, which were okay) were excellent. The personal favorite was the arabe which can be ranked with some of the best pastores in Mexico City.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Aryun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aguascalientes, Mexico
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Delicious tacos, you shouldn't miss them!”
Reviewed July 9, 2010

This is a very central taco restaurant, just by the 5 de mayo street and 2nd. This is one of the favorites among locals to have "carne al pastor" style tacos and I really don't know one single person who hasn't loved this food. I have brought my friends from a few countries in Europe over and they all have gotten addicted to this place!

It is an absolute modest space, full of locals and prices are cheap, but the food itself makes worth the visit to the center of Puebla. Beware that on weekends the place will be packed and you will most likely have to wait 10 to 30 minutes for a table and then some, so the busy waiters bring your food that gets prepared in front of the tables, but those tacos are totally worth the wait if you can only be there at a weekend.
You can not miss local favorites such as "gringa arabe", "torta gringa" which have melted cheese and a lot of al pastor meat, or the speciality "Las ranas" (plate to share 2 to 3 people). If you don't like melted cheese, make sure to order "sin queso".
I really don't think the waiters speak english but ordering is easy since they have forms that you fill up just by writing the number of items you want to try, and in any case they are helpful as busy as they might seem.
You can't go wrong here.. so give it a try and make sure you sample as much as local cuisine as you can when you visit Puebla.. it is anything but ordinary!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AnnieBannannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Las Ranas also viewed

 

Been to Las Ranas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing