We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So-so”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
San Leonardo Puebla
Ranked #57 of 97 Hotels in Puebla
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
119 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“So-so”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

I stayed at this hotel with a group. It was not our initial choice but as it was a holiday weekend there were only a few options. The lobby is beautiful and gives a very colonial feel. The rooms are very plain, I was somewhat disappointed as I was expecting something with more character given the photos online and the lobby look. The rooms were comfortable and well equipped and other than the fact that everything was white and the view from the window was a cement wall, we were quite comfortable. I found the staff rather rude upon check-in, but the late night staff were quite helpful in booking an early morning taxi for our trip to the airport. The location was great.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsTL_S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    59
    58
    25
    14
See reviews for
58
55
6
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
France
2 reviews
Reviewed September 12, 2012

I got stolen 400 euros plus my wallet containing other currencies, they were both in my luggage and the manager does not even apologizes and says that there is anything to do
since the money and wallet were not reported immediately, please do not trust this hotel, having reported that immediately would mean, to suspect ao an ilegal action, I felt that there was no need of it, I did an early check out to do some errands but unfortunately I letf my luggage thinking that it was a safe place.
The attitude of the manager Mr Segura is really offensive. Do not trust this ;hotel, go somewhere else. I am mexican and I am very sorry to write this terrible review.
Room 1510 Mr and Mrs. Flores

Room Tip: Go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrs F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Puebla hotels

Billings, Montana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2012

We stayed at this hote on a medical mission. the lobby is quite nice, and the Puebla plaza is quite close, as is a lot of other shopping. The rooms are motel 6 at best, with the sandpaper towels, flat pillows, out of date TVs, and very unpredictable plumbing. The breakfast buffet is included, but the food is usually old and cold and it is nearly impossible to get anyone´s attention to get served. We sent a bag of laundry downstairs and received a bill for 1600 pesos, about 130 dollars. The hotel is next to a rave club, and two of the nights during our stay the noise was deafening until three am. When I complained about the laundry bill, the manager, a Mario Sequira Roblas, told me through a translator he had no control over anything. The location is great, but this is just another dumpy ripoff avoided by experienced travelers.

Room Tip: get another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiesbaden, Germany
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2012

The hotel has a great location and staff is helpful.
Be careful what type of room you get....they have some rooms with NO WINDOWS....really feels "boxed in".
NO ramps.....so forget about wheelchair or baby carriage
All and all, if you are alone or with someone else, it´s a good choice.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a window
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZorroPlata67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelsea, Quebec
Level Contributor
50 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2011

The foyer of this hotel near the Zocalo gives the impression you are entering a grand, old colonial hotel. Well, savour the entranceway because that is the best thing about this overpriced hotel. The front desk staff are friendly and volunteer to speak English if your Spanish seems shaky. You then are sent to the world's tiniest elevator, forced to wait for an undue length of time and then sent to an extremely plain room with very low ceilings. (The actual rooms are not in the same colonial structure as the foyer but in a modern building with faux colonial touches).. The doors to the room leave large gaps into the hallway, which means you hear from your bed every footstep taken by others down the corridor. There was television but no English channels, although some of Puebla's much cheaper hotels offer a wide range of English-language channels. There was free wi-fi in the room but that is becoming as standard a feature in Mexican hotels as a bed and bathroom. There was not one thing that was really unpleasant in this hotel. It is just that the price is the most I have ever paid for a hotel in Puebla and it was not worth it.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank pinombre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2011

I booked this hotel based on it's website - it had beautiful photos and seemed to be a lovely hotel. This actually turned out to be the worst place we stayed in a month-long trip throughout Mexico. I don't like writing lots of negative things, but I have to be honest about my experience at San Leonardo.

The building itself is lovely, particularly the lobby, as it is apparently a historical mansion that has been converted into a hotel. It is kept very clean, and in excellent condition. But we were appalled by the attitude of the staff working there. With one exception, the reception staff and the restaurant staff were unhelpful and unfriendly, bordering on disdainful towards us. We thought that this may have been because we were a little travel worn and dusty when we first arrived, (all the other travellers there were particularly well heeled) but this did not improve at all over the 2 nights we stayed there. Even though our spanish was not fantastic, we still attempted to speak it, and could not understand why we were being treated so poorly. We had just come from the Hilton, where we were not treated any differently for being dressed down, so this came as quite a surprise.

If we asked for directions to anything in particular, the female reception staff seemed to smirk at each other, give each other 'looks' and give incredibly vague directions. They behaved more like high school girls with an attitude problem than professional hospitality personnel.

They made us wait for an hour after check in time before our room was ready, and would probably have let us sit in the lobby all evening, had not this one particular staff member seen us waiting and pushed for us to get access to our room.

The room itself was very characterless and bland, with cream coloured, plain furniture and nothing on the walls. The acoustics are particularly bad, so the noise travels to the rooms at all hours.

The room service food was the worst I have ever experienced anywhere, seemed like recycled old food they microwaved and put on a plate. My partner ordered a burger and the meat inside was completely raw.

This hotel was a terrible disappointment, and I would strongly suggest to other travellers to select another of the many hotels in the area (and even on the same street) before choosing this one.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank walkonin09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City
Level Contributor
43 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2011

Very nice hotel with a great friendly staff..an absolute must if you want to stay in the city center area,.Valet parking available. Rooms are comfy with A/C. Fully recommendable,

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MexicoMadness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puebla hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel del Portal
Hotel del Portal
#43 of 97 in Puebla
3.5 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
0.5 mi away
Suites La Concordia
Suites La Concordia
#35 of 97 in Puebla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Andante
Hotel Andante
#15 of 97 in Puebla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
NH Puebla Centro Historico
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casa de la Palma
Hotel Casa de la Palma
#39 of 97 in Puebla
3.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Imperial
Hotel Imperial
#60 of 97 in Puebla
3.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Leonardo Puebla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Leonardo Puebla

Property: San Leonardo Puebla
Address: Av 2 Oriente 211, Puebla 72000, Mexico (Formerly Holiday Inn)
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Puebla > Puebla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 97 Hotels in Puebla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — San Leonardo Puebla 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The City of Puebla, well known as 'Cultural Patrimony of the Humanity',is sorrounded on its historical center area, by many buildings with lots of testimonies of the past, and one of the constructions that conforms this cultural city is justly a beautiful 100 years old french style building, which includes all the confort that business men and tourists requires, also our guests will be able to experience the combianation among modern services and the history of this beautiful building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your San Leonardo Puebla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Leonardo Puebla Hotel Puebla
Holiday Inn Puebla
Puebla Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing