We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hotel colonial”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Colonial de Puebla
Ranked #22 of 99 Hotels in Puebla
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“hotel colonial”
Reviewed October 18, 2009

lovely built in the 1400 s is right in middle of puebla next to all the churches . fantastic restaurant w/ mole chicken traditional dishes ,,,unbelievable prices for spacious rooms!!

Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank HalM4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    184
    39
    14
    8
See reviews for
87
117
25
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2009

The Hotel is quite nice. We had asked for a quiet room. At first we were put in a grand room, but realized the traffic below would be a problem. We asked to see another and were shown 2 - one of which was very bottom while the other was nice. The problem was the room/hotel is so quiet - no sound. We spent the following day looking for a fan to put in our room to make noise. We finally found one at - you'll never guess - Walmart. Once we found the fan, everything was great. I must admit this noise thing may just be something my husband and I have a problem with.
Really the hotel was lovely. If noise does not bother you, you could ask for the second floor northwest corner. That was a Grand room !!!
Try Aveno w/leche at the Restaurant for breakfast. Oatmeal with milk. My husband and I ended up sharing this each morning. It was perfect !!
Somewhere in Mexico someone stole some expensive medicine from my suitcase. This is only 1 place out of 4 that we stayed. I can't even imagine someone taking medicine.

Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank LovestoTravela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NSW
Level Contributor
182 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2009

My husband and parents and I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights in September, 2009. We had a great stay! All the staff were so helpful and friendly. I rang and asked to borrow a hairdryer and someone was at our room in about 3 minutes. We enjoyed a nice and reasonably priced breakfast at the hotel, it is beautiful there. We enjoyed playing cards at night time from the balconies, and below in the restaurant they had live music which added to the atmosphere. The rooms were clean, spacious and quiet. Had a great sleep. The bath tub was nice and deep and the water pressure was great. Can't say enough good things about this place! It's also within walking distance of the zocalo, great location.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank WorldTraveller036
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wendover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
248 reviews
143 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2009

Our first visit to Puebla after recently coming to work in Mexico City - but definitely not our last. Can't comment on the food at the hotel as there are just too many other places to eat and we like to get out and about.
However, everything else was great. Allowed to put bags in the room even though we arrived early, staff helpful and friendly. Beautiful old building and rooms have great atmosphere. Great location

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank NomadicTeachers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2009

as a tour operator we have taken groups here for several years. The hotel is unique, charming, just what people look for when the come to Puebla (unless you are in to the cookie-cutter modern hotels). We found out that it is a great place for lunch, but most people agree (locals as well as our group) that for some reaon their dinners are not very good. Cannot understand why. Anyway for our group in December 08 we stayed at the hotel but took our dinners at a nearby restaurant. Other than the dinners, I think the atmosphere of this hotel is truly superb.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tristan1997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warszawa, Polska
Level Contributor
353 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 271 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2009

If you're in Puebla I really suggest to stay in Hotel Colonial to add 25% to the experience you will get from the city. It's hard to decide if the location or the atmosphere of the hotel are its best asset. As for the location, it is not the closest hotel to the Zocalo (still one of the clostest), but for sure the most quiet and picturesquely set. The road in front of the entrance are opening to a nice square next to a church and University with no cars allowed. The hotel really dates back to the colonial times, including one of the oldest elevators in Mexico (serviced by porters only). Rooms are spacious, very clean (the whole hotel too) with nice views over the square (at least room 102). In fact a walk around the hotel is a treat itself, with a must have coffee on the first floor lobby. The breakfasts are ok, nothing too fancy, but you must try the daily lunch special. Loads of delicious food for an amazing price for this class of hotels. The staff was friendly but some of the reception personel could have been more helpful. Summing up, it was one of the best Value hotels we stayed while in Mexico and for the one with the best atmosphere.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Wolszczak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2009

We arrived at the Colonial after a long travel day on planes, bus, and taxi. In spite of having a confirmation number and knowing that they took our credit card number from the travel agent, they had no record of our reservation!!! We were shown four rooms before one was satisfactory--no windows in first and second, --ground floor room right on a major street, third, and finally a nice room with windows facing the cathedral square. The beds and pillows were hard but OK. The restaurant served an excellent mole and the waiter kept the fireplace going to keep us cosy on a cold night. The guide for the trip to Cholula was only so-so. He seemed to want to get it over with and get home with his groceries. We didn't have breakfast in the hotel as there were lots of places around the Zocalo. VIPs had excellent orange juice! and there was a panaderia nearby. I'd probably stay there again just for the good location, but beware. Oh yes, we had to ask for extra blankets because of the cold nights. They were quickly provided. There's an excellent Torta shop around the corner from the hotel. Ana's. They make wonderful chicken tortas with your choice of condiments for 18 pesos. A great and cheap walking lunch while taking in the sights.

Stayed January 2009
Helpful?
5 Thank Automobilist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puebla hotels
0.5 mi away
NH Puebla Centro Historico
0.1 mi away
Meson Sacristia de la Compania
0.0 mi away
Hotel Casa de la Palma
Hotel Casa de la Palma
#39 of 99 in Puebla
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Andante
Hotel Andante
#17 of 99 in Puebla
113 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hotel Puebla Plaza
Hotel Puebla Plaza
#89 of 99 in Puebla
61 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel De Talavera
Hotel De Talavera
#85 of 99 in Puebla
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Colonial de Puebla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Colonial de Puebla

Property: Hotel Colonial de Puebla
Address: Calle 4 Sur # 105, Puebla 72000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Puebla > Puebla
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Puebla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Colonial de Puebla 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Colonial, with a prime location one block from Puebla's main square, dates back to 1668 when it was built as a Jesuit monastery. The building is catalogued as an Historic Monument, because of its magnificent colonial architecture. Its restaurant is known locally for its excellent cuisine, and recomended in almost every foreign tour guide. The "Mole Poblano" served every day in its dining rooms is reputed to be the best in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Colonial de Puebla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colonial Hotel Puebla

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing