We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Historic Heaven” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Colonial de Puebla

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Colonial de Puebla to your Saves list
Hotel Colonial de Puebla
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle 4 Sur # 105, Puebla 72000, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 93 Hotels in Puebla
Gibsons, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Historic Heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

The Colonial Hotel was recommended by friends and they were spot on! Beautiful old hotel, carefully maintained, very friendly and helpful staff, perfect location just off the Zocalo and good food in the restaurant. Only one block off the Zocalo on a quiet corner we had a room overlooking a plaza which always seemed to have something interesting going on. Built in 1668, I think, the hotel has kept it's character so you feel like you are stepping back in time as you wander the hallways. Comfortable spacious rooms with a big bathtub, which is really appreciated after a day of walking around the centro historico. I travel a lot for business and this is one of the few hotels that I would unreservably recommend for a holiday or business. Good WiFi connection if you feel like working.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the plaza between the hotel and the university
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Ron-Woodcreek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    165
    35
    12
    7
See reviews for
72
110
23
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Riihimaki, Finland
Level Contributor
91 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

We visited this hotel one night with a group of 30 tourists from Finland. As we all were at the age between 40 and 80 years, we felt in love with this old-fashioned hotel from the Old Good Colonial times! The furniture was nice and the dining hall charming. The breakfast was relatively modest.
However, some modern improvements should be done in this hotel. The pressure of the water is very weak. Where to keep (on the floor or in your hand?) your soap or shampoo while having your very weak shower. To get your hair dry, you have to go to reception to get a hair dryer. Especially the toilette facilities are on a low level which is not acceptable nowadays.
However, we can recommend this hotel for grown-up worldly travellers!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank PerttiHar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

We arrived in DF on a red eye and caught the bus to Puebla from the airport. We arrived at the hotel around noon, which was too early to check in. Two gracious women behind the front desk took care of our bags and had our room ready for us by 1:30. What a welcome surprise! We stayed for six days and had breakfast in the restaurant every morning. When we travel, we usually like to mix up our dining experiences, but the Colonial restaurant was so delicious, friendly and efficient, we had breakfast there every day. We enjoyed spending time in the open spaces the hotel provides at the end of our busy days. We definitely will return soon.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 4adancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lincs UK
Level Contributor
363 reviews
186 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 365 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

Our spacious room was on the first floor with a window that opened over the road, we had no problem with noise & enjoyed the sun in the early part of the day; visiting in Febtuary the room was somewhat colder later in the day

Breakfast was fine - although the scrambled egg took sometime to arrive - it gave us time to admire the lovely dinning room

Sadly, the one thing that we will remember about this hotel is the receptionist - a female (as a result of her attitude/ non action, I can only call her an older female as opposed to a lady). On duty at both our check in (lunch time) & check out (mid morning), she never spoke to us in any language - no greeting/ nothing - how can anyone be so ignorant? When it came to the filling in of a form - she grunted as she handed it to us! Enough said

Fortunately the young porter who took us up to our room in their lift was so very pleasant

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank kaw118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelOwnerManager, Owner at Hotel Colonial de Puebla, responded to this review, March 22, 2014
This fine lady has attended the front desk six mornings a week for over twenty years and usually is very friendly and professional, as you can tell by the review previous to yours. As most people, from time to time she has a few bad days and looks like you stayed in one of such periods. I sincerely apologize.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
u.s.a.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

just stayed here with a friend, two 70-something women, for over 10 days. the hotel is very old, colonial with spacious rooms with huge windows which can be opened to the outside, located a couple blocks from the zocalo. the staff is very friendly and so helpful. we were checked in the first night by ricardo who realized how tired we were and got us quickly settled. all the other men and women on the reception desk were equally excellent in their help to us. the bathroom was very adequate for two people.
the breakfast is not part of the price , but is the best price of any that we saw at other places while there, for so many choices of very good, either mexican or american breakfasts we ate every morning. and, the restaurant staff was led by a couple of men whose service was excellent.
the only reason i don't have 5 stars is that the plaza outside was often noisy and also in our room on floor 2 (the third floor) we heard the indoor echos up the stairways. the windows can be closed with shutters and as we always use earplugs, it was not a problem most of the time. although there is no air conditioning the city cools down always in the evening so none was needed.
this was a good place to return to each evening after a full day of walking and taking in so much of the rest of the city. we walked down the lovely staircase in the morning and took the elevator (manned by friendly personnel) back up after a long day.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ivyU_s_a_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

This was our 4th or 5th stay here and each time we are more impressed with the quality of the staff and service. A big thanks to Laura at the front desk for her professionalism and her never ending smile. To Hector and Rolando in the restaurant for excellent, personable service. Whoever makes the personnel decisions at all levels in this hotel deserves a big thumbs up. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

The hotel is two blocks from Puebla's downtown (this is the best of the hotel), but the room had old furniture (an old tv, a few channels, little beds, no closet, no carpet. The restaurants is the best of the hotel. I would not become to the hotel, but I would eat many times at the restaurant.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank leoreynosoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puebla hotels
0.6 mi away
El Hotelito
El Hotelito
#32 of 93 in Puebla
4.0 of 5 stars 183 reviews
0.0 mi away
Casona de la China Poblana
0.5 mi away
NH Puebla
NH Puebla
#4 of 93 in Puebla
4.0 of 5 stars 770 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Meson Sacristia de la Compania
0.2 mi away
EL Sueno Hotel & Spa
EL Sueno Hotel & Spa
#10 of 93 in Puebla
4.5 of 5 stars 233 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quinta Real Puebla
Quinta Real Puebla
#15 of 93 in Puebla
4.0 of 5 stars 237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Colonial de Puebla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Colonial de Puebla

Property: Hotel Colonial de Puebla
Address: Calle 4 Sur # 105, Puebla 72000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Puebla > Puebla
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Puebla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Colonial de Puebla 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Colonial, with a prime location one block from Puebla's main square, dates back to 1668 when it was built as a Jesuit monastery. The building is catalogued as an Historic Monument, because of its magnificent colonial architecture. Its restaurant is known locally for its excellent cuisine, and recomended in almost every foreign tour guide. The "Mole Poblano" served every day in its dining rooms is reputed to be the best in the world. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Colonial Hotel Puebla

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing